We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Moorea
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lunches Only; Great seafood o”
Review of Snack Mahana

Snack Mahana
Ranked #9 of 92 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The locals told us about this place, and the food was excellent, and a great value, considering the prices at the regular restaurants.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fun location with engaged staff. Not a creatively unusual or broad menu, but everything we had there was fresh, tasty, and enjoyable. Deserves its high ratings.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank BobLakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Note this is not a restaurant, this is a little business in a kinda house. It can be very busy during lunch so i suggest you book as walk in can be difficult to get a table, they have nice little hut on their garden with beach view too.
Their raw fish is really nice, big portion.
A must visit when you are in Moorea, very local style !

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popular spot -- I arrived around 11:15 on a Wednesday and there was no one else here, but by the time I left it was almost completely full. Poisson Cru was yummy, a huge portion and a slightly different flavor than any other one I had in French Polynesia (I think they marinate the tuna in ginger?) Would definitely come back, although it's not so special that I'd suffer an hour-long wait during peak times as other reviewers have noted.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mlcreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

It was pouring rain, so we stopped in for lunch to kill time.
The place was crowded because they lost all of the outdoor seating due to the weather. I had the grilled tuna. It was so delicious and the rice was cooked perfectly. The staff was very friendly. The prices were a little higher than you expect by the looks of the place, but the food was outstanding. We're gonna go back again!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JoanneKenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

We happened to be driving by, decided to come in for lunch. They asked if we had reservation, wow, an indicator of its popularity. They managed to give us a table by the road, service was friendly and fast. We ordered pineapple juice, hamburger and garlic shrimp. The coconut pie with vanilla ice cream was yummy too. All very good. Price was a bit lower but not much cheaper than resorts. Backyard beach setting was pretty

All in all, a nice lunch spot

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Peru201193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Mahana also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Snack Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing