We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snack Mahana

Snack Mahana
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The locals told us about this place, and the food was excellent, and a great value, considering the prices at the regular restaurants.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Go to snack Mahana.

You may wait some time before being served, but the food is delicious. An Excellent snack.

Authentic Tahitian family :) The restaurant is in their garden's house.

Not expensive. We went there 3 times during our stay in this wonderful island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    185
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is about a 20 minute walk from our hotel Intercontinental Moorea. Unfortunately they only serve lunch but is very tasty. They have several good dishes, but her grilled Mahi Mahi was spectacular. They are also very famous for their poisson crue. It is located right on the beach with a beautiful view. It is not a restaurant but it is the best lunch on the island with large portions for a very modest price. I only wish we could have gone their more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmtingey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Almost certainly my favorite meal on Moorea. If you are driving around the island, you should without a doubt plan a stop. Not a fancy restaurant, but a very popular snack shack on the water. We were fortunate to be about the first customers in just after 11:30 on a Tuesday. The place was packed 30 minutes later. We had the grilled mahi and the Poisson Cru with a couple Hinanos and I was in heaven. Extremely fresh and tasty. Loved sitting in the shade of the trees by the water and watching the combination of locals and tourists.
Easiest recommendation - don't miss the Snack Mahana

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coastaleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good snack food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is a snack restaurant, but the food is very good and original, but don't expect a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunisparisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a restaurant run by a few women. It is situated by the shoreline overlooking fish swimming by. The tables are strategically set around the shrubs so you aren't crowded over by other patrons. Although it was quite windy on the day we were there, but the great food made it worth while. We particularly enjoyed the grilled Mahi Mahi. It was juicy and very tasty. Must try! Only downside for this restaurant is no pick-up. We went on the day we rented a car for 4 hrs. for sightseeing around the island. Reservation recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamam201305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack Mahana also viewed

 
Maharepa, Moorea
 

Been to Snack Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing