We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkelling”
Review of Lagoonarium

Lagoonarium
Ranked #2 of 56 things to do in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great snorkelling”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Definitely worth renting a car and driving here to go snorkelling. The reef is colourful with lots of sea life including sharks and rays. I'm not a great swimmer so was particularly pleased to find out that you are required to explore the reef by keeping along the rope path. The rope not only ensures tourists don't stray and damage the reef but it also ensures that swimmers aren't swept away by the strong current.

If you hate taking a snorkelling tour with a bunch of tourists than this is a must do. We packed a lunch (consider packing a soft cooler bag with you from home) and arrived at 8am when the place opened. We securred a nice hut to store our stuff and keep us shaded and surprisingly we had the lagooarium all to ourselves for hours before another tourist arrived.

Shark and ray feeding was at 11am and 2pm so we stayed for the first feeding and then departed at around 1:30. Even with the car rental, lunch and entrance fee it was FAR cheaper than the snorkelling tour prices. The best part is that you can decide when you arrive and leave and if you arrive early you don't have the share the experience with other tourists.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    127
    26
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Down Home, Laid Back, Whimsical & A Total Blast”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It doesn't look like much from the road. A hand made sign, a dirt parking lot and funky little ticket cabin by the side of Moorea's lagoon, but the Lagoonarium experience belies its humble gateway. This starts with the very warm and friendly folks who sign you up and get you on your way.

The Lagoonaroum itself is on a private island (motu) about a mile offshore surrounded by gin clear turquoise water and a lively reef. You are transported there from the reception area pretty much any time you arrive by a motorized pirogue (outrigger) and disembarked almost into another world. The island is loaded with with whimsical objects d'art and furniture made of shells and local wood. There are also a number of thatched roof Polynesian style huts with each one assigned to a guest upon arrival (NOTE: The huts go quickly so it is best to arrive in the morning to insure you get one). The huts are great for depositing your gear (bring snorkels, towels, picnic lunch, etc) or for just sitting in front of in the comfortable chairs provided.

At the Lagoonaroum, you can do absolutely nothing all day but relax and take in the beautiful scenery, or you can participate in the several stingray and fish feedings that take place during the day. You can also snorkel along the nearby reef and see dozens of different species of fish.

The Lagoonarium also offers free kayaks to explore the area around the island, including a crystalline mini lagoon between it and an adjacent private island. Tea, coffee, cocoa and water are also provided gratis and there are very clean bathroom facilities available as well.

My expectations were fairly high for the Lagoonarium because of all the positive reviews it has received on TripAdvisor, but my and my wife's were well exceeded. In fact, several times during the day we were there we just looked at each other, shook our heads and said "I can't believe how cool this place is."

If you go to Moorea, go to he Lagoonarium.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the most beautiful little Motu”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

MUST GOOOOO !!! You would not find any place like Lagoonarium in anywhere else in the world. They have a certain for the feeds. It's better if you can experience the feeds. You will not regret it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymoon0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very unique and fun”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After reading the reviews, this was a definite must on our trip.

We as well had to manage our own transportation from the Hilton and planned out an around the island trip. Took about 30 minutes to get here from our hotel. Upon arrival we paid for our ticket and no waited no more then 10 minutes until the boat man came. Very friendly man.

He directed us around his tiny little island with bungalows, water shoes are provided(we brought our own), snorkel gear can be rented.

As far as crowding We didn't have the issues that some had with crowding as there was only 3 couples there, but i'm sure it does get pretty busy. So I would recommend coming early.

After settling we jumped right in the water, stay on the rope and feel very secure especially against the strong currents. We even played in the currents and felt like we were flying. We followed the line out pretty far out then came back for the stingray feeding. This was the coolest part where he fed all the stingrays, and we got to touch them. The sharks came around but they are big wimps and just away.

The reefs are 50x better then any of the coral you see at any of the resorts. Definitely felt surreal being in those coral with the huge diversity of fish.

I highly recommend checking this place out on your visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Spooner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best of Moorea!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in Moorea for 6 days and spent 2 days at the Lagoonarium. Wish we could’ve spent even more time there. The Lagoonarium is a little motu sit in the middle of the ocean, there is no net keeping the fishes in or out. The reef surrounding the motu although small it is packed with marine life, the water is so clear it’s like snorkeling in an aquarium. One of the best snorkeling places we have been to by far and we have done quite a few.

If you’re someone who doesn’t like snorkeling you would still find this place to be wonderful. There is an area with shallow water for you to go down to pet the stingrays and feed the fishes, safe and fun for people of all ages. You can also view the sharks feeding without getting into the water. Bring a collapsible cooler with drinks and snacks and relax by the water. If you’re not getting in the water it can get hot so bring a hat and a chill attitude.

Thanks to Wilfred, my son and I got to ride the stingrays during feeding time, it was an experience we will never forget. My husband was concerned at first, the motu were surrounded by black tip sharks. After talking to Wilfred he assured us it was safe, we got into the water as soon as we went under all concerns were gone. We quickly learned the sharks has no interest in us, we actually chased after them and got some of the best footage on our Gopro camera.

After our outing to the Lagoonarium we also did the jet ski tour, the tour took us to an area outside of the Intercontinental Hotel to swim with the stingrays and black tip sharks. This was the highlight for most people but to our family it was nothing special, we found this part of the tour to be boring comparing to what we did at the Lagoonarium.

If you’re planning to come here it is best to rent a car and come before 10AM, stay for the first feeding at noon. After that you can decide to stay for the second feeding at 2PM or leave to drive yourself to Belvedere Lookout or into town for lunch.

Things you need to bring with you for this outing: cash for tickets, towel, hat, sun screen, a small collapsible cooler with ice, drinks, snack or lunch, underwater camera, snorkeling gears and water shoe will be lent out if you don’t have one but best to bring your own. Come with a laid back attitude and enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank h2oseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoonarium also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Lagoonarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing