We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahitis Best Kept Secret”
Review of Hiti Moana Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hiti Moana Villa
Ranked #4 of 24 Tahiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tahitis Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We loved our 3 nights at the Hiti Moana Villa.
The grounds are immaculate and the bungalows way above expectation.
The lagoon is so accessible from the little pontoon and suited to my wife who is very scared in the sea as there were nice shallow parts for her to wade in .It also suited my grown up kids who swam and dived most the day loving the live tropical fish aquarium scenario.
I am a long distance swimmer and loved swimming about 600 meters and back to a jetty a little further down the lagoon in the deeper and very clear water.the water was so warm like a nice bath and the sunsets beyond imagination.
This part of tahitit is the true feel also.We spent time surfing just a little way down the road at Papara and just hanging on the beach.The locals were real friendly and welcomed us to their wave!
The golf course is close by and is in mint condition.I suggest bring some golf balls and tees from home as everything is so expensive to buy or hire.
We got on really well with Steve and henrietta.Some of the reviews have been a bit negative but we found them wonderfull people.I think you get back what you put out anyway.
the only thing i would recomend travellers to watch is the road noise can be a little annoying as tahitit comes alive at fist light.I use ear plugs and slept in every morning,otherwise just get up a bit earlier and enjoy the sunrise!
i would actually stay here in preference to any of the expensive resorts .

  • Liked — lagoon swimming,tidy accomadation,awesome location,close surfing and golf,friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank peteNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Negative points:
- We booked an airport transfer but were forgotten at the airport and had to phone the owners and wait for at least 45 minutes.
- Many mosquitos but they provide mosquito spirals which are very effective.
- The owners were a bit strange and not that helpful. So they didn't tell us that the bus stop is a few hundred meters away and you have better chances to catch a bus there than just at the road opposite the hotel.

Positive points:
- Good breakfast
- Lovely garden and lagoon
- Reasonably priced for Tahiti standards
- Clean

  • Liked — lagoon and breakfast
  • Disliked — mosquitos and being forgotten at the airport
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelgirlHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I'll start with the airport transfer! I arrived at just after midnight and had booked a transfer. He wasn't there!! I called (and woke them up) and he arrived at 2.25am and i didn't even get an apology. I was on my own as my friend wasn't arriving until the next day and a man at the airport told me it was dangerous at night for a woman on their own, so that was a great start.

To save time i'll just list the things that were wrong with the bungalow:
- thick with dust
-door didn't lock
-windows didn't close
-no mosquito nets so i had 32 bites within 24 hours
-mouse droppings on bedroom floor and next to bathroom sink
-rat in roof that was reported but they never did anything about it

However the biggest problem we had was when it came to paying. Their website states "We gladly accept Credit cards".....THIS COULD NOT BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH. A couple of days before we left the owner's son asked if we could pay in cash and we said no we were going to use or credit cards. When we left the owners REFUSED to let us pay by credit cards, we tried to explain that their website says that we can and we had already told their son but the would not listen and were yelling at us. They actually blocked the gate with the van so we could not leave, at one point while i was trying to argue my point with the man he raised his arm as if he was going to hit me and in the end the situation got so frightening that we agreed to go to the cash point just so we could get out of there. The woman drove us which was incrediably intimidating. They had even charged us for the transfer....! but at that point we just wanted to leave. Nobody we came across could believe it because everyone else is so friendly but we definitley met the most awful people on the island. Our new hotel told us that really hiti moana is only good for local people. I would seriously suggest that you do not stay here!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PeeteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We booked two nights at this property prior to a one week cruise. We rented a car at the airport as we wanted to have the freedom to move around the island. Since we were arriving quite late, we were promised a light would be on and the key left on the door. However, as with the Aussies who reviewed on 28 April 2007, they forgot to do this. Fortunately the sliding glass door was open so we entered the bungalow and settled in for the night. The next morning Henriette came by and kind of apologised for having forgotten.

We found that the bungalow (Tipanie) met our expectations. I would suggest not keeping any doors open as, while sleeping, we were both biten many times by something(s).

We did not eat at any of the restaurants in the area. We did drive to a small market about 3 km down the road and bought a nice bagette and some other bits for about US$18. This served us well for two mornings of breakfast.

All in all, we would stay there again

One last bit...with the exception of the central marketplace, there is nothing in Papeete worth seeing. It's a dump. Also, use credit cards whenever possible, the bank commission to change currency is outrageous. About 14%!!

  • Liked — The reasonable (by French Polynesian standards) price.
  • Disliked — The lack of interest by the owners.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboytack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We booked and stayed 3 nights after reading some good reviews on this guest house. We know how far this place is but was looking forward to some nice snorkling.

Yes, there are fishes around the coral just off the deck of the guest house. BUT ... we snorkle pass two large (? sewage) pipe that led from the guest house to the sea right where the corals are. That put us off so much that we did not try for the second time.

Though we were expecting the privacy of having a bungalow with lagoon and kitchen view, it was NOT a bungalow. It was just a terraced unit with the view. Neighbours have to walk through each other's terrace to get around. There are other individual bungalows just not ours.

The unit was basic but adequate. The doors cannot be locked and we suspected someone have entered while we were out. We took everything valuable with us. The unit was not cleaned and garbagged not cleared throughout our stay.

We spotted a 10% discount coupon on the internet for this guest house but the owner did not seem please to honour the voucher.

If we knew about the sewage pipes, we would not have come this far. Luckily the guest house is closer to the longest white sand beach in Taihiti than Papeete, we use the beach instead.

  • Liked — manicured garden
  • Disliked — lots of mosquito because of the pond
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Gosh, there are different views on this place. Maybe depends on what one expects/wants. I was staying there alone and booked it as I wanted to lounge by the lagoon for a few days. I was thankful not to be in Papeete.

This place is not expensive, specially when compared to others on the islands. There are bungalow type cabins - and yes, they are basic, but a reasonable size. I had one right on the "front" overlooking the lagoon which was the best situation.

The pick up from the airport is pricey - but less than a cab would be. Also don't have their breakfast - cold eggs for $10. There are no shops close by, or restaurants - I did walk down the road to a shop but with the traffic it is life threatening. However the bus to and from the town will stop outside - just ask the driver to stop and he does. Personally I didn't much like Tahiti.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

This hotel was just what a family or couple would want.
I stayed there for 3 days and it was just perfect with nice rooms and gardens with a kind lady to help us.
With warm water in the lagoon, try jumping off the jetty also they have kayaks you can borrow which you can explore the endless reef with.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tahiti hotels
11.5 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pension Te Miti
Pension Te Miti
#3 of 6 in Punaauia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taharuu Surf Lodge
Taharuu Surf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Papara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
7.4 mi away
Relais Fenua
Relais Fenua
#1 of 6 in Punaauia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiti Moana Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiti Moana Villa

Property: Hiti Moana Villa
Address: P.K. 32, 98712, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tahiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hiti Moana Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hiti Moana Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiti Moana Villa Hotel Tahiti
Hiti Moana Villa Tahiti, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing