We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Villa”
Review of Hiti Moana Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hiti Moana Villa
Ranked #6 of 27 Tahiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hiti Moana Villa became our haven in Tahiti after our first booking didn't turn out at all as we expected. Our first pension was nice enough but was up a hill in Faa'a and seemed to be in the middle of the ghetto - big iron gates on every house and big dogs behind the gates! Not the idyllic paradise we were expecting! We called Steve at Hiti Moana and asked him if he had space and he not only gave us a beautiful villa at 10% off the original price, he also picked us up from our original pension and stopped at a supermarket so we could buy some food after explaining that it was a public holiday and this was the only one open today.

We got to the hotel and couldn't believe our eyes - it was paradise compared to the last place! We got a beautiful lagoon and pool view apartment which had a kitchen and slept four of us quite comfortably. Not only did they have their own pool, there was also a jetty which you could snorkel from with an outdoor shower and picnic tables to eat on and watch the sunset from. Snorkel equipment was free, as were the kayaks and there was amazing underwater life right on our doorstep.

Steve was really helpful, helping us hire a car from a local place which was much cheaper than the ones at the airport and just generally being a great host. After looking at some of the other reviews, I find the negative ones hard to believe - Steve and his Mum were amazingly nice to us, there was no problem paying by credit card and wireless internet was available for a very low price - something that is not offered at a lot of places.

The location is not very close the city, which we loved as Pape'ete is big and not very tourist friendly (except the roulottes at night!) and once we had the car it was easy to get to any point on the island. Hiti Moana was a great place to come home to each night and all four of us greatly enjoyed our stay there. The only negative we had was the airport transfer was a little pricey, but saying that Steve was more than happy to get up at 5am to bring us to the airport - a time when there are no buses. Thanks Steve!

Room Tip: Ask for the lagoon view - it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KirstyHofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hiti Moana has no beach but a beautiful pool and a pier from which you can swim in the sea. There is coral and lots of fishes to see. The apartment was spacious and well-quipped and had a sea view. The gardens and the area around the accommodation was lovely, and there was a shared BBQ. The owners were friendly and helpful. We found it a perfect place to explore Tahitit from, but you do need a car.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avenabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The first impression when arriving in Tahiti is that you are in a ghetto, or some very poor third world country. EVERYTHING is covered in grafitti!.Signs, buildings, walls. Everywhere there is a space it has graffitti scawled across. what a shame considering it is a lovely island and has so much to offer. As you drive away from the city of Pape'ete , there is less and less of the graffiti and the island takes on a whole new propective. We stayed one week at Hiti Moana Villa even tho the reviews were very mixed. Some were good but more were negative and rated the villa as terrible. We did not find this to be the case, Steve and Henrietta were friendly, helpful and lovely hosts. We spend our first night in a side cottage but asked if one facing the pool and lagoon was available. yes, no problem, we could move in the morning... Our new unit was located overlooking the pool and the lovely lagoon. The cottage had cooking facilities and a guest barbecue was provided.. We spent our days shopping along the road ways at the numerous outdoor tables of local people offering a variety of fresh vegetables and and array of fruits (often exotic) A real treat. The fishers hang their morning catches by the side of the road and are open for business. The local super market located in Papara offers anything you would need in the way of food plus an extensive selection of wines, (not as expensive as in Australia and New Zealand) and of course, we came home with freshly baked bagettes.... We has breakfast at the pool side and dined there at night. We met some lovely fellow guests and shared our travel experiences.
We took the ferry for a day trip to Mo'orea, rented a car there and traveled that island for a day.. just delightful.
We strongly suggest renting a car at the airport for your time in Tahiti, this way you can really explore the island it is an easy drive around and you can stop and enjoy the lovely scenery and places of interest.
We found Hiti Moana Villa very affordable, the accommodation comfortable and our hosts both charming and friendly. so please do not believe everything negative that is written, you may lose out on a great experience. To the Tahiti Tourism Dept... start cleaning up the graffiti! Charge huge amounts of money for spray paints and anyone caught spraying being made to clean it up! .

Room Tip: if possible, reserve a front cottage facing the pool and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We met a lot of fellow travellers who paid three times the money and were jealous about our accommodation at Hiti Moana Village. Nice, clean, can't be more oceanfront, nice pool, friendly hosts and not far away from Papeete with public transfer or rental car. We would recommend that to anybody who does his own cooking and wants to rent abeautiful private facility far away from screaming kids which we found populating most of the First Class Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was another stroke of luck for us. Hiti Moana is located about 25 km south of Papeete in the town of Paparaa. We had an awesome bungalow with a full kitchen. It was located on a pier so you had that "over water" feel. The pool was great and there was good snorkeling at the end of the pier. The place was close to shops and was perfectly located away from the hustle and bustle of Papeete, but close enough to the various other island attractions.
Internet was good, but a bit pricey at 1000 CFP for an hour.
Accept credit cards. Rental car recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Let me start this review by saying that there was a very particular reason for us to choose to stay here and that we had no other choice whatsoever. We stayed here for 5 nights.

Hiti Moana Villa is located 3 km west of Papara village at PK32 (PK is Point Kilometrique - basically the amount of kilometers away from the capital Papeete).

The bungalows: we stayed in the "Nape" bungalow which has a kitchen. The bungalows reminded me of the bungalows I used to stay in when on holidays in the south of France with my parents in the late 1980s and early 1990s. They are quite old and not particularly clean: we found cockroach poo in the cupboards, and the cutlery and crockery were quite dirty at first. The bungalows are pretty hot (there's no air conditioning since electricity in Tahiti is the most expensive in the world!) and the ceiling fans are quite noisy. Having said that, for the price you pay, you cannot expect luxury. We adjusted pretty quickly though: we washed all the cutlery and the crockery, cleaned out the cupboards, got used to the heat after about 2 nights, and managed quite well after that.

There's a large fridge and freezer in the bungalow which was quite helpful. The stove + oven looked ok although we didn't really use it that much.

Bedding: this was again quite old. The bungalow we stayed in had 1 bedroom with a double bed. It was quite comfortable but the sheets felt quite old and used. The other two "beds" doubled up as a couch in the main room. I slept there and I have to say that it was not uncomfortable - yet not particularly great either. Some of the sheets and pillows were quite stained - a bit unclean.

The bathroom was ok. Quite basic, but the shower worked, the hot water was always working, and it was clean.

Hiti Moana Villa is set right on the lagoon and has the most beautiful view on the ocean/lagoon. There's a jetty which you can jump off to go snorkelling. Although the snorkelling wasn't as great as in Moorea and other islands, it certainly wasn't bad: we saw a stack of beautiful fish. The gardens surrounding the bungalows are maintained by the owners and are just stunning with beautiful bougainvilleas and other plants all around the place.

The place also has a beautiful pool which is cleaned daily and couldn't be nicer.

The owners were fairly friendly to us: you will mostly deal with the son (Steve) and his mother, who are both quite helpful. Steve's father didn't speak to us at all despite our many efforts to talk to him (even in French!). He's rude and ignores you completely. He even slammed the door right in my face once or twice - I don't know what is wrong with that man, but I have never seen anyone so rude. The customer service is a bit interesting: the owners seem to appear out of nowhere and come into your bungalow unannounced to come and fix things, hand you information, and more. In the end, they are just trying to be helpful, but have a bit to learn about privacy.

A positive is that you can book the bungalow and you don't have to pay anything upfront. It's really nice that they are so trustworthy. It also has a small amount of offstreet parking, which is quite handy, and it's approx. 4km away from the nearest reasonably sized supermarket (in Papara village) which is really well stocked.

Overall, a mixed experience. If the owners would put a bit of effort into replacing all the old cutlery and crockery, clean the floors and cupboards a bit more regularly, and replace their linen with new sheets and towels, I think this place would actually be perfect for budget conscious people, despite there not being air conditioning. In the end, all we wanted was clean accommodation. It was the cleanliness (or lack thereoff) that scored this review an "average" rating. With some elbow grease, this could easily change to "very good". It is a bit strange, because the bungalows are a bit unkempt, yet the gardens and the pool are so incredibly beautiful and clean.

It must be said that this place is approx. 35km from Papeete and located in the Papara, in the south of the island. There is nothing to see or do in Papara, it's just a residential suburb and approx. 45 minutes driving from Papeete.

Value for money? Certainly. Just needs a bit of work to clean the place up.

Room Tip: We had a kitchen bungalow. Upon departure I requested to see a bungalow without kitchen. If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P6681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

having seen the area around the airport twice on my way in and out to easter island and the on the Aranui to the marquesas, I booked this to see something else of the island.

Its an awful lot further than you think it is and although buses do run out here it is quite hard to work out which ones... therefore transfer is the way to go or expensive taxi!

when you get there it is a quiet little group of bungalows on the coast, no beach, with a wooden pier area and some fish pools, with a small swimming pool and boat access. There's not a lot nearby, I walked quiet a long way up the road before I found somewhere to get supplies on a saturday afternoon, but would be better with a car. Warning, the traffic on this road seems to travel very fast!

my bungalow had a veranda, a separate bathroom and bedroom area with some basic facilites, not a place where you could cater for yourself.

Its very quiet and secluded, so long as that is what you are looking for. For one guy I met who goes every year for the surfing that is exactly what he wants. If not, you could be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_crunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tahiti hotels
11.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
10.4 mi away
Relais de la Maroto
Relais de la Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
26 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Punatea Village
Punatea Village
#5 of 7 in Papeete
30 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pension de la Plage Tahiti
7.2 mi away
Pension Te Miti
Pension Te Miti
#3 of 6 in Punaauia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiti Moana Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiti Moana Villa

Address: 32 P.k., 98712, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tahiti
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hiti Moana Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiti Moana Villa Hotel Tahiti
Hiti Moana Villa Tahiti, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing