We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Tahiti Airport Hotel NOT Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Lodge

Tahiti Airport Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tahiti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahiti Airport Lodge
Save
You added Tahiti Airport Lodge to your Saves list
B.P. 2580, 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Tahiti
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stay at Tahiti Airport Hotel NOT Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

If you want to walk from airport for overnight and want to end trip positive note and can pay about $137 total than stay here.
If you arrive at night you can see the lit up hotel from the plane. You have to walk up about 10 steep steps, then cross a street, then 10 more steep steps, then cross the streetthen about 1/2 block on a paved road with gravel rocks off to the side. Then enter hotel on left then about 15 more steep steps then you reach reception. We did it with a duffle bag, 2 backpacks and a suitcase with wheels. At airport right behind the building where the ladies sell necklaces is a place where you can pay to check your bags if you want to just take an overnight bag up the hill. Also, right there is the the white painted steps that you take to reach the hotel. There will be a sign at the base of the paved road. You will also see the bus stop at the top of the first set of stairs. Here we encountered a local who appeared to be set up for the night. He had a prime spot for trying to sell drugs, I suppose. He kept trying to get us to talk to him but he never got out of his seat and I never felt in any danger. Also, when a couple got off the bus and headed toward the hotel a boy on a bike followed them and again, probably drugs. Ignore them and they don't bother you. NOTE: THEY DO NOT TURN ON THE AC until you actually check in. It took over an hour for the room to feel cool. The refigerator is also turned off. The bed was very comfortable and the 4 pillows were really, really quality pillows. Try calling hotel as soon as you land and asking receptionist to go to your room and turn on AC and that you will be right over.
Also, look for loose luggage carts to use to roll your bags through parking lot. Also, hotel does not have elevator so ask for first floor which still may require a few steps. We did not hear jets in the middle of the night and we were not awakened by the sound of roosters. The windows appeared to be thick enough to muffle noise.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank neilpeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We stayed the last night of our vacation here. I was not going to post until I saw Fishman's post confusing the Tahiti Airport MOTEL with the Tahiti Airport LODGE. Other travellers at the airport made this mistake thinking they were going to the motel when we were picked up. Not the same quality.
And yes, it is in his basement. Above ground but still the basement of his house. I did a tour of the place in the morning while looking for Charlie and checked it out.
When we made reserves over the phone Charlie confirmed full breakfast included, airport transfers and air con in room. Reality check when we arrived late. No air con working in any of the rooms. Room was tiny with a small window overlooking the "lobby". With the lights out the room was almost dark. The heat and humidity in the room was stifling. The fan was so loud and sqeaking it kept us awake and looked like it was going to come off the ceiling at any moment. Throw in the airport noise from jet traffic to top it off.
The rooms were homemade, no dressers or closets. Plywood shelving and a bar with 3 hangers. The bathroom was mediocre. The bed was like a futon you see on the curb at the end of the month. Full breakfast was pieces of French bread and instant coffee.
Why I nickeled and dimed myself on our last night ??? Good grief it was depressing.
And the cherry on top. He wanted 1500 for the return trip to the airport. No thanks . We just walked down the hill 5 minutes to the terminal.
Charlie himself was most unwelcoming. Not a curmudgeon, but more like we were intruding and he tolerated us for the money. Of course he could have been uncomfortable over the deviousness of the air con, breakfast and transfers.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor value for money
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Will151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tahiti hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed at the Tahiti Airport Hotel before our TP cruise in August 2006. It had only been opened for 1 week. Yes it is right across the street from the airport BUT it is up a STEEP hill. We did walk up to it with our luggage. There is some confusion about what street to go up but since it was dark, 8:30 pm, we chose one and started the trek up. I would not suggest walking there, take a cab! It is a gravel private driveway that wasn't user friendly with luggage and we were greeted by a pack of dogs Luckily there was an employee of the motel watching us crazy travelers and he came unlocked a gate and helped us The hotel itself was brand-new, clean, reasonably priced $120 a night but was sparsly furnished. It was just fine for the night and the next morning we took a cab into Papeete, $20.

  • Liked — was brand new, clean and inexpensive according to Tahiti standars
  • Disliked — the steep hill we walked up to get to it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

The only reason one should stay at this hotel is for an overnight stay before catching a plane out the next day. We did not expect anything other than a bed and in that regard, we were not disappointed. It's not exactly a charming spot (and it is not in a basement as mentioned in an earlier post) but it is the most reasonable place to stay close to the airport if you're not picky and want to save some money. Charles is hard to reach by phone, but you can fax him as I did, and he called me right back to confirm our pick-up from the airport. He was prompt and was equally prompt in getting us to the airport the following morning. By the way, the breakfast that is included is a typical French continental breakfast: a baguette (and it was very fresh) with butter and jam, coffee or tea.

If you go with reasonable expectations you will not be disappointed and can save your money for more desirable accommodations. In fact, staying here will actually make you appreciate other choices you make!

  • Liked — Proximity to airport, reasonable price
  • Disliked — it was exactly what we expected
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldcitizen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

My fiancee and I planned a trip to Tahiti for three weeks to get away from the stress of planning our wedding. We decided to go this route of staying at family pensions and some hotels to make our trip affordable. Unfortunately our hotel on Moorea, our first stop on a 5 island tour would not be ready until the 13th of March so we had to stay at the Airport Lodge for 2 nights. All we can say that it was probably one of the most affordable places on Papeete, however it was the worst experience of our whole trip. Again, Charles was not there, he was not at church, it was Saturday night at 7:30p.m. He just forgot. We know that as travelers there is such a thing as "island time" however watching all the other weary travelers being greeted with smiles and flower leis made us feel a little unwelcomed. My fiancee had to purchase a $15 phone card to call Charles and ask him to pick us up. It was about 2 minutes away. Our transfers were $22 each. We could have taken a cab for a 1/4 of that. Lets put it this way our transfers to the Novatel Bora Bora were $10 each. We were so bummed out when we saw this locked prison gate across the lodge it just didn't give us a feeling of island hospitality. Our room was adequate, however, We had an air conditioner that didn't work, an obnoxious poster of a monkey going to bathroom , and a menacing looking ceiling fan that threatened to come off the ceiling. We were so tired that we decided to go to bed and make the most of spending some time in Papeete. In the morning we asked Charles how to get into downtown Papeete. It was Sunday, a definite day of rest and reflection for most Tahitians. Therefore, nothing was open except the Supermarket. Thank goodness because the Lodges idea of breakfast was instant coffee and bread with peanut butter and jelly. Still we were remaing positve. We got some wonderful pates, cheese and bread and decided to back back to the lodge, have some drinks (we brought a bottle with us) and make the most of it. As we were sitting outside our depressing room in the courtyard I noticed a pool with a gate reading "Private Keep Out" well it was hot and I thought we would go for a swim. Little did I know that Private meant no admittance for paying guests. We asked permission and Charles's wife just looked at my fiancee and in broken English said "Pool no for you" . I just got so mad. We had had enough at this point . I am in the hospitatlity business and have never felt so insulted. I realize that this forum can sometimes have petty reviews and you can take it for what it is. I will say that when we return because our trip was amazing, we will never, ever return to the Airport Lodge. I would rather spend a little more money and even be in downtown Papeete than stay at this Lodge. This place does great business because its cheap at $105 a night but when I tell you that $100 a night will give you waterfront views on Moorea with the most wonderful people there is no comparison. All in all we paid $277 for 2 nights including Tranfers and for that you could be on Moorea or anywhere else and your experience would be a 100% BETTER.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

We stayed at Tahiti Airport Lodge for just one night as a stopover before heading to Club Med in Bora Bora (great place). We made reservations via fax with TAL 3 months prior to our stay. This was our HONEYMOON. Upon arrival to the Papeete, Tahiti Airport, our shuttle was not there. No big deal, we had the information/courtesy desk phone them. But no answer on either the main line or the mobile number. We waited....and waited. We had them call back again.....and again. Left messages...no reply. After an hour we gave up & called another hotel. At the exact time the other hotel shuttle arrived, the TAL shuttle arrived. A lady exited the truck, seeming almost hysterical, speaking in French and we couldn't understand. A good samaritan from Tahiti Tours Travel Agency informed us that she was Marguerite from TAL and she was explaining that she & her husband had been at church. We felt bad - we felt that we should have given a follow-up phone call a few days prior to "remind" them. But with all the wedding planning it slipped our minds. We decided to get in the truck with Marguerite & Charles of Tahiti Airport Lodge. They had been at church after all. It was a Sunday and we, as Christians, understood. So we get into the truck and there's just silence. Charles & Marguerite were not friendly and not apologetic. We wondered if it was their "culture." We were tired. It was dark outside. We went up a steep hill directly across from the airport and went through a gate and pulled into a driveway...of a house. Charles assisted a little with our bags and showed us to our room. It was the basement of their house. At least each room had its own outside entrance, but we were not expecting to stay in someone's basement. Not too major - it was just one night after all. Well, he opens the door for us, mumbles something about the shower, then turns around and leaves. After we get all our bags inside the room we realize that we are tired, hungry and thirsty. After a very long flight and a very long wait on our ride from the airport we felt miserable. Our "hosts" at the TAL had abandoned us in our rooms with no food, no water and way to get any. There were no refrigerators, vending machines, and nothing within walking distance. I suppose we could have gone upstairs inside their home and raided their fridge, but we decided just to make ourselves go to sleep instead. There appeared to be an air conditioner in the room, but the knobs were removed and even though one of us is an Air Conditioning Technician, we couldn't get the AC on. It simply didn't work without those knobs or the remote, which was also missing. The one good thing we can say about this place is that Charles was prompt in taking us to the airport the next morning. But this place was supposed to provide breakfast. Guess what Charles told us? You can get breakfast at the airport. Tahiti Airport Lodge is NOT a "hotel" we'd recommend or EVER even consider returning to. Nevertheless, our 2 week stay at Club Med in Bora Bora was magical. We just regret giving our $100 to TAL.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
42 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tahiti hotels
0.0 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.0 mi away
Relais de la Maroto
Relais de la Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Lodge

Address: B.P. 2580, 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Tahiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Tahiti
Tahiti Airport Lodge South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing