We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views are better than the museum”

Paul Gauguin Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.17*
and up
Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens
Ranked #60 of 64 things to do in Tahiti
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum features the original works and reproductions of the great French artist.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The views are better than the museum”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

As others have said, this museum is disappointing, as it contains no Gauguin paintings. The best thing about it is probably the view of Tahiti-iti from the beach.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    26
    13
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Be aware: This museum contains no real Gauguin paintings”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was really excited to go to this museum but really let down to not only see no Gauguin paintings, but the museum it's self is pretty depressing & not like a real museum at all.
My husband & I decided to do a cruise on Princess, which was nice but not what we'd hoped for. The 1st shore excursion was the Gauguin Museum + a drive to a botanical garden & a blow hole. If you plan to go to Tahiti please, please take some dry dog treats, the reason being: there are start dogs all over the Tahitian Islands. While on this tour we saw starving dogs with ribs sticking out. Chasing the tour buses in hopes of finding something to eat. At the blow hole stop there were dogs I longed to help but hue only thing for sale was soda & some nasty mango powder. The dogs were so desperate Huey were eating poisonous fruit on the beach. You see in Tahiti dogs were brought originally over for breading as food & sadly the Tahitians still treat them mostly with little care or concern & they are everywhere!

So please, if you go there, take some dry treats you can give the dogs. I wish someone would start a shelter & somehow convince the Tahitians to spay & neuter their dogs (some are pets it seems) & stop this horrible situation of starving animals desperate for food once & for all. The beauty of the place was marred forever in knowing the Tahitians don't care about these poor animals!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank married&inlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An OK attraction”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

On most of the island tours a stop is scheduled for the museum. Its worth and hour or so there and it is interesting but no more then an hour is required. Its a bit of a pain if your on a large coach trip so try and use a small tour company. The museum is in a nice location but the restaurant attached was very expenisve

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank barryfryus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gaugin Museum Tahiti”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

If you are expecting to see Gauguin's colourful pictures then this is not for you. I did not expect to see originals but what was there are prints which have mostly faded to a blueish colour and need replacing. I was very disappointed.
Nice gardens and super photo opportunities on shoreline.
Interesting Gauguin restaurant just along road. Dining room overlooks lake with fish cages. Waitresses scrape leftovers into the water and there follows a few seconds of turmoil as the fish go for the titbits. Walk out on board walks into lake to see more fish. Lovely views. Interesting food. Bit chaotic.

Helpful?
2 Thank MGSRochdaleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One Nice Remainder for the World of Arts”
Reviewed November 17, 2006

I am an U.S. citizen born in Japan grew up in Tokyo.
Ever since I saw the real paintings in New York and here in Chicago, my desire to come visit the Tahiti was revivded.
Fortunately working for the airline made this dream possible.
This musuem was a must item.
And I was shocked to see all the artests in this era including Paul Gauguin did not have a happy life in common value.
More over, he was inspired with the Ukioe, the ecthing of Shogun era Japan, which was owned by Van Gough and his followers in France.
I carefully read all the English explanation board on the wall and also the digest version in Japanese.
Because his sytle and talent, he suffered.
Majority of his famous paitings are elsewhere in the world, but this musuem you got a see!
Prepare for the mosquite spry, in early afternoon, my wife and I got bitten more than 20 each. They are quick and quiet - you can not smash and kill them.
The itch lasted for 10 days. If you drink some alcohol, that itch gets worse, I mean a lot worse.
Enjoy!

Helpful?
13 Thank 588947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Gauguin Museum also viewed

 

Been to Paul Gauguin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing