We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meal with a view - interesting place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Belvedere - CLOSED

Le Belvedere
Cuisines: French, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Meal with a view - interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Decent value, about $100 including pick-up/drop-off for a bottle of wine, salad bar, bread and two main courses. Exciting trip getting up there too. While other posters complain about this I think it's kind of fun, adding to the experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Prettiest Part of Papeete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Get in the restaurant’s shuttle van at your hotel, go up the steep hill, hang-on as your vehicle speeds around countless twists and turns, pray for the pedestrians and bicyclists along the way, and then breath a sign of relief when you arrive at Le Belvedere.

The view from the restaurant is spectacular. Even Papeete, which is not a pretty city by any means, looks nice and clean from half a mile up. Our server was friendly and spoke decent English, which was helpful since the menus were in French. She invited us to go out on the patio to look at the view. There were a few couples in the van and we all chatted and took each other’s pictures in front of the sunset.

They have a prix fixe menu and a la carte selections. Both selections are fairly limited, but we ordered the beef fondue which was very good. About half the sauces were very tasty, the others, including ketchup, were OK. There is a small salad buffet that is included with the prix fixe meal, as well as a carafe of wine, and desert. We also opted to order Onion Soup and Lobster Bisque, both of which were excellent. The service was at typical Tahitian speed which is what I call “relaxed”.

Specifically based on our experience of the food and atmosphere I rate Le Belvedere 4 out of 5. However, I would be remiss in not mentioned the experience of the couple at the table next to us who were not as fond of their experience. None of the 3 or 4 prix fixe menu options appealed to them, so they ordered a pizza a la carte. For reasons we don’t fully understand, the pizza came with fish on it…No anchovies, just a white fish that they were not expecting. Needless to say they did not enjoy their food. On top of that the transportation that is supposedly complimentary, is only free if you order off the prix fixe menu which is about $70 U.S./person. Since the other couple ordered a la carte they were “gifted” with a $20 charge for the shuttle. No one at their hotel, our hotel, or the restaurant had mentioned that part…Just that the shuttle was “free”.

We did have an issue using our Visa card, which the other patrons experienced as well. This wasn’t specific to Le Belvedere since the same issue happened a few days earlier on Moorea. There may have been an problem processing Visa cards throughout French Polynesia for a few days. We ended up having our hotel pay the shuttle driver for the meal, and putting the cash advance on our hotel bill.

If you are expecting truly excellent food, then Le Belvedere is probably not the place to go. However, we enjoyed the total experience including the view. If not for the view and the adventure of getting to Le Belvedere my rating would probably be 3 out of 5.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were recommended by our hotel reception to try Le Belvedere (Le Meridien Papeete). They told us the food is beautiful and the view is spectacular. Well, we agree the view is stunning after a long ride up the mountain. Pick up and drop off was free of charge. The food is just simply not up to a restaurant standard! My husband and I ordered an entree each and the meat fondue for our main. The meat foundue costs 6000 CFX per person and all you get is the cut up beef and 6 dipping sauces! When the entree came out, we realised two meat fondues were too much food for us, so I quickly asked the staff if it is okay to have only one meat fondue. She agreed and when she brought out our meat fondue, she explicitly said it was one. However, when the bill came, they charged us two meat fondues even though we only received one. So we asked them nicely to review their bill but they refused to take 6000 CFX off our bill. They even tried to sneak the drinks, supposingly part of the meat fondue meal course, to our bill which they agreed to take off afterwards. We didn't want to argue further about the bill, because we still needed a ride to our hotel afterwards. We will not recommend the restaurant to anyone. It is very expensive for the quality of their food and service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleFoodie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view ... pity I can't wax lyrical about the food ... or the cost ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

With the usual problem faced by travellers the world over ... limited time ... I opted to take the sunset option on a Sunday night in Papeete ... our chauffeur driven vehicle collected two Swiss tourists from another hotel and then myself and four Americans from the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort (including two who couldn't even be bothered to arrive on time). An interesting drive up the mountain to say the least ... the view was spectacular with the sun setting over Moorea. The food, alas, was ordinary. It's presentation was less so. The decor of the restaurant was dated and shabby. The cost ... XPF6,000 ... value for money ... not a chance!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EV0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting Place to Dine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were a group of 10. Most of us were experienced travelers and up for a bit of adventure. The bus ride up the mountain certainly provided that! Let's be clear, the bus is not a luxury vehicle, but it was safe, the driver was careful, and it was free.

We understood, up front, that there was a set menu, so that was not an issue. When we arrived at the restaurant, 8pm on a weekday, we were the only guests there, so the service was great. Lots of attention! The "salad bar" was delicious and fresh. It was set out in regular serving bowls on a small table just like you might do at home, and the bowls were refilled as needed. Half of the group had the meat fondue and half had fish. I had the fish and it was just great! My husband had the fondue. He raved about it. The meat looked like an excellent cut of beef and everyone liked the sauces. Dessert was a homemade cake with a scoop of ice cream that everyone loved.

It was already dark when we arrived at the restaurant, so the view was of the lights of Papeete.

I will agree that this restaurant seems expensive, but factor in the free transport and the fact EVERYTHING is expensive in Tahiti, and I think that it might not be as expensive as some others.

We all had a good time and good food and went home happy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Belvedere also viewed

 
Papeete, Tahiti
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing