We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, rustic place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chitina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitina Guest Cabins
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New, rustic place”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed in the bunkhouse since it was just a quick overnight trip on our way to McCarthy. Mike was extremely nice and made us feel at home. The bunkhouse had no running water buy Mike had plenty of containers filled up for us to use. The bunkhouse had a quartz heater that just barely kept it on the chilly side on our cold July night. The outhouse is an experience in this day in time. Watch our for the moose!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outbackpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a bit freaked out when we saw how rustic the cabin is- no running water/toilet etc. But once we checked it out is is FANTASTIC! Very clean, artfully decorated, absolutely beautiful. Mike and Kris are terrific hosts, the first night they brought us a delicious plate of smoked salmon and salmon spread. The next night Mike took us to his fishwhill on the Cooper River to show us how it operates. He pulled a live Sockeye out of the river and filleted it and cooked it for our dinner! Breakfasts were equally awesome. They do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. YOU HAVE TO EXPERIENCE THIS!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We happened upon this wonderful gem after an unfortunate circumstance. We were planning on camping in Chitina but our vehicle broke down. The owners Mike and Crissy took us in and made us feel right at home. The guest cabins are nicely appointed and very clean. The food is amazing and very Alaskan! They treat their guests as part of their family and make sure they are very well taken care of during their entire stay in Alaska.

Room Tip: There are only two guest cabins and they are both adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EERLCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Michael and Kris were wonderful hosts during our stay. We booked the bunk house (I traveled with my mom and my mom's friend on this trip, and the bunkhouse can house maybe up to 10 persons), and since we were their first spring/summer guests, we had the whole bunk house by ourselves. It had a stove, fridge, towels, and coffee. Michael had plenty of water prepared in bottles for us to use. He offered to show us his own fish mill after our trip the next day, and our tour was late, so Michael made two trips to the mill just to show us. Michael would have made us a fresh salmon if he caught any. Michael and Kris and Michael prepared a nice platter of their own smoked salmons for us. Michael showed us his crafts and artwork, and even picked a stone right off his yard for my mom (who loves rocks). Kris and Michael gave us some little rocks as souviners. Michael showed us where animals usually show up, and even found us some mushrooms and cooked for us. He even tried to show my mom how he could catch the greyline just by hand. I absolutely loved their dogs, especially the husky. The husky stayed outside the house and protected us for the night. It was such a delightful stay and we would have thought Chitina is the place for a vacation until we stayed at the guest cabin. We had a lovely stream outside the bunkhouse, and saw a blackbear, goats up on the mountains in the morning. It was great! However, please note that my mom and I did not require much for housing, so if you are looking for a bathroom/shower inside the bunkhouse, you may be disappointed. There is a outhouse outside the bunkhouse, and Michael is building a shower (which will be done in 2 months according to Michael). If you are okay with spending a little more time to use the shower away from the bunkhouse, then you will be fine. Definitely beats the Kennicott lodge or the hotel/motel in chitina.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KD_a_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Mike and Kris have a destination with a difference in Chitina....tucked away in the prisitine forest ,hand hewn log cabins built by Mike himself, and a delight to stay in. .....and the salmon sampler comes as a bonus. Do yourself a favour and spend some time here experiencing real Alaskan hospitality without all the frills of suburbia.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

On the way to Kennicott we stopped in Chitna for the night. We were lucky enough to come across the Chitina Guest Cabins and booked a cabin sight unseen. We were a little surprised when the owner took us away from the house down a brookside trail and then up a steep hill to the cabin we rented. Immediately we decided we would not take all our luggage up to the cabin. The cabin we stayed in is a single room with a large double bed high off the floor with warm flannel sheets and plenty of blankets and quilts. There is no running water but the owners gone out of the way to make it very comfortable. They have a gas stove, a washing basin with plenty of water stored in the cabin, and an electric heater. The outhouse is just a few steps away and also very nicely stocked. We were glad we didn't bring up our luggage...as it felt more like a romantic getaway cabin bringing only a few items up that we would need for the night. Showers are available by arrangement with the owners in a separate location. One of the things that won us over with this stay was the salmon appetizer that the owners sent up to the cabin in a basket shortly after we arrived. They smoke their own Copper River Salmon ( caught nearby ) and make a sampler of smoked salmon with crackers. Breakfast is provided and is also brought to you at the cabin for a romantic breakfast in bed feel.

While we were there a large moose and her two young were frequent visitors to the narrow valley corridor where this B&B is situated. The town center of Chitina is only another mile or two down the road as is the start of the 60+ mile gravel road leading out to Mcarthy/Kennicott. This B&B made a nice stopover before driving that long road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lunamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chitina Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitina Guest Cabins

Property: Chitina Guest Cabins
Address: Mile 32.2 Edgerton Hwy, Chitina, AK 99566
Location: United States > Alaska > Chitina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chitina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and experience the natural beauty of Alaska.....Located in Chitina, at the gateway to Wrangell St. Elias National Park, our "Alaskan First Class Log Cabins" were built by the owners with local spruce logs including the log furniture.To begin your Real Alaskan Adventure in Chitina, our cabins are a beautiful hike from the parking area. During the short walk we may encounter grayling or an otter in our stream, perhaps an eagle soaring overhead and if we are lucky, a sheep peering down from the hillside or mountain above. From our walk to the cabins, the cabins themselves, to the outdoor plumbing, a visit with us is like stepping back into time and history for a true taste of the "Last Frontier". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing