We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
Review of Backwoods Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backwoods Lodge
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you have to be stuck in Cantwell, it's nice to know that there's the Backwoods Lodge. Very roomy and clean, and very comfortable. Bring your own food to grill, there's really no where to eat in Cantwell!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmrchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night for one night. I believe this is the only place to stay in Cantwell during the winter. Wasn't sure what to expect but it was a very nice (basic), clean hotel. Mike, who we dealt with at the front desk was a very nice and interesting gentleman. The room was large and had a small frig and microwave. The bed was average. For $110 in Cantwell it was a very nice place to stay. I would stay again. This is far from fancy but the cleanliness was much appreciated. Recommended if you need lodging in Cantwell.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKPROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennallen, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

There aren't many places to stay in Cantwell, but this is a great place to stay if you are ever there. The rooms are clean, lots of space and easy to get to. They have a small refridgerator, microwave, hot pot, coffee pot, hot cocoa, popcorn and paper plates there for you to use. Which I thought was very convenient. We had 2 queen size beds in our room that were average in comfort, but all in all was impressed with the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asjas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is awesome. We live in Alaska and enjoy traveling around the state. We stay in small family run lodging 2-3 times a year usually just weekend trips. This is the nicest place we have stayed in years. Probably my favorite for several reasons. The location is great, in Cantwell on the Denali highway and close to the park. The area is just beautiful with snowmachining in winter and atv trails for summer. The lodge is small with only 10-12 rooms, parking is good and will accomodate a trailer with atv's or snowmachines. Rooms are large and ours had 2 queen and a twin bed. The layout is also good with the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom and a long counter opposite with a microwave and a coffee pot. They have several very nice grills available also. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The owners were friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitkalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As we wanted a change from Denali cabins I booked here because of closer to the jetboat tour.Well this place was great,NICE PEOPLE,VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE.The downside is not close to anything else thats good,need to go about 10 mile to decent food,and definetly don't do jetboat.But this place I would highly recommend to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McArthur, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

There is almost nothing in Cantwell. However, this motel-style lodge provides an excellent alternative to the industrial strength tourist facilities near the Denali NP entrance. The units are set back off the Denali Hwy. (NOT the Parks Hwy.) so they are very quiet (there's almost no traffic on the Denali Hwy. anyway). The rooms are large, clean, well-equipped (fridge, microwave, etc.), and comfortable. One could not ask for anything more, and in interior AK you can often get a whole lot less. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. There are barbeque grills are with each room and the owners even have some food items available for sale. There is one small cafe in Cantwell that will keep you alive, but not too much more, and essentially no other services. It is only about 25 miles to the Denali NP entrance area, however.

The Denali Hwy. goes eastward from here for about 136 miles to Paxson (where the Denali Highway Cabins are an excellent place to stay) on the Richardson Hwy. The Denali runs for miles across beautiful alpine tundra and through boreal forest that abounds with wildlife. It is well worth a look if you have the time.

For a meal that is really exceptional by any standards, don't miss the restaurant named 229 Parks (at that milepost on the Parks Hwy. between Cantwell and the park entrance. It is not cheap, but the food is imaginative and superbly prepared using lots of local ingredients.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The owners were delightful even though we showed up after 8:30 with no reservation! The room is very large and very clean. Our room has a refrigerator and microwave too which is handy. You know what i mean if you know the area at all. We're even staying a second night. It's outside of Denali, about 27 miles. But Denali is easily accessible from here. There is also local companies that do tours, flight seeing and jeeps so you don't have to navigate the craziness of Denali to do them. Great cafe only one minute away too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantwell
25.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,075 reviews
24.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
783 reviews
24.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
369 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
221 reviews
12.5 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwoods Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwoods Lodge

Property: Backwoods Lodge
Address: Denali Highway (Rt. 8), Cantwell, AK 99729
Location: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cantwell
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Backwoods Lodge is a 10 room motel with 2 cabins. We are known for our impeccably clean rooms. We are located in a quiet wooded area, only 27 miles south of the entrance to Denali National Park. We are located on the Denali Highway, the second most scenic highway in Alaska. We have views of Mt. McKinley from the property and we are surrounded by mountains. We are pet friendly and offer pet sitting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backwoods Lodge Cantwell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing