We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REMOTE AND COMFORTABLE”
Review of Alpine Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Creek Lodge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
McGraw, New York, United States
2 reviews
“REMOTE AND COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The lodge is also the home of the Bondy family and we enjoyed our 2 night stay with them. They are friendly folks that welcomed us and showed us how beautifully remote their piece of the world is. We became part of their family for 2 days, meeting some of their friends and being well fed by Chrissy and also Jennifer when we were out on the ATVs. Claude is very knowledgeable about his home state and we are better educated about Alaska after having stayed there. The bedroom was comfortable. However, it would of been nice if the window coverings were able to blackout the never-setting sun. LOL I would highly recommend this lodge and I hope we have the opportunity to have a return stay!!

Room Tip: pets are in the home so that should be a consideration for individuals with allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
20
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I feel kind of embarrassed writing this review since the staff of that lodge was kind and I don’t want to hurt their feelings. The reason that challenged me to write this review is the 40 “5 stars” reviews that led me to stay at this place.
This is not a place you want to stop and stay for a night if you have other options. Most of the house-guests there are actually highway workers (students) that stay there along the season.
I can guess that all, or most, of the “5 stars” reviews were written by those guys.
Actually it look like a lodge but used as a hostel for workers, and from this situation derives everything. The room was okay, but did not include basic and standard items, like a clock for example.
The bathroom was separated (despite of what we’ve ordered) and was used by other guests during our stay despite of the notice on door about privet bathroom. When we enter first into the bathroom we found the trashcan full garbage from previous guests etc. etc. Not clean around is understatement.
The food was terrible and served as a workers restaurant.
Since the location of that lodge in at nowhere and nothing to do or visit around we found ourselves stuck in the room until we left.
Sorry. But it was the worst lodge we ever visit while it was the most expensive one. And we are travelling a lot.
Not far from there (2 hours driving) we found the best B&B ever visited and paid almost half price.
English is not my mother tongue. Sorry about that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dfried97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineCreekLodge, Owner at Alpine Creek Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are sorry your stay didn't meet your standards. We strive to make sure all of our guests are comfortable. It is disappointing that you assumed we had "Highway Workers" do the reviews. They were an archeological staff doing work out here. No reviews on here were posted by them, and it was a rare occurrence for us to have them here. We do not solicit reviews for trip advisor or any other site. Not sure what happened on the food. We've not had any complaints. The bathroom has always been separate, and even ordering one connected to the room will not make that happen. Obviously a misunderstanding. There was one piece of trash in the can that was missed. To say it was full is untrue. Either way, it should have been empty. As far as nothing to do, our guests either book a tour with us, or go hiking and enjoy the remote wilderness we are surrounded by. If your disappointment was mentioned while you were here, we would have made it right. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Alaska! Jennifer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Jennifer, Claude, and Bob for 4 nights at the end of July, and loved it. We could not have imagined a more homey and friendly atmosphere. Jennifer, Claude, Bob, Chrissie and Mark did everything they could to make our stay a real success.

The lodge is located about 2 hours from Denali National Park, but the landscapes surrounding it are some of the most majestic we have seen in Alaska. It is very quiet and comfortable. Claude, Bob and Craig were amazing guides. They took us on gorgeous hikes and an evening photoshoot where we saw ton of wild life.

Chrissie's food was family style and tasty, and always included fruits and veggies, which I found surprising so far from everything. Chrissie and Jennifer also went out of their ways to make sure I would get gluten-free food. Chrissie even cooked separate meals for me --wow!!--. I have no idea why someone complained about her food in an older review, because frankly this is what I call topnotch service.

All in all, the Alpine Creek Lodge surprised us over and over again. We were treated like family members, with kindness and great attention. When we left I knew our stay would be the highlight of our vacation. And it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Buddy and I went up and stayed at the Alpine Creek Lodge this last weekend for our first caribou hunt. The staff was wonderful! Great food, super knowledgeable abouit the land and where to hunt. Ended up getting two caribou in two days! I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We rented the trappers cabin, it was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKRYAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is one of these unassuming places that is just special. Jennifer, Claude, Bob and extended family are just great hosts, the kind of people you feel like you've known forever from the first time you meet. The Lodge is very nice...homey rather than fancy. We stayed upstairs in the two suites. Actually only booked one but they knew we needed more room so they let us spread out for no extra charge. Food is served family style. Again nothing fancy but good. And the other guests all were like extended family as well (a group of biologists, etc. working on a project). Everyone was just happy...the place just has that aura.

The lodge is almost exactly half way on the Denali Highway (a must take drive!!!) on land originally owned by the guy who designed the road, given to him as part of his pay as I understood it. All meals are included because...well, there's nothing else out here! Which is what makes it so special. At night, everyone just sort of migrated out to the picnic tables and soaked it all in. Our kids made fast friends with Bob and had a blast running around the compound. We just chilled outside watching the changing light on the mountains. Our only regret is that we didn't stay an extra night and take a backcountry ATV trip.

Needless to say, I highly recommend a trip on the Denali Highway and a stop at the Alpine Creek Lodge...and tell them we said hey!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Alpine Creek lodge is in a beautiful setting. The staff were kind and the food was decent, but the accommodations were terrible. We stayed in the Trapper cabin which was separate from the main lodge. The main lodge rooms looked like a much better option. Our cabin had all the windows sealed shut and there was so much dust and dirt inside it was hard to breathe. It was horrible because we all would have been better off sleeping outside in tents because it would have been cleaner. Problem was there were so many mosquitoes outside, even sleeping in the car wasn't an option. We managed to get 2 windows open inside the cabin, but the screens were torn so badly that mosquitoes came in all night and every one of us was up all night covered in bug bites. There was so much garbage and dirt inside the cabin it was one of those places where you felt dirty if you touched anything. There were sinks in an old kitchen full of god knows what kind of bacteria and debris. We did not take showers because there was only one for males and one for females and there was a ring of dirt and grime around the tub, so one look was enough to skip the shower. The cabin could be really nice if dusted and cleaned with new screens and mattress covers. We understand this is Alaska and far from civilization but even a bucket of water and a scrub brush would do nicely or some windex and febreeze. Could not wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge, it looked cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Alpine Creek Lodge in July, 2013. This is a cozy, friendly hide-a-way roughly halfway between Cantwell and Paxson AK on the Denali Highway. Claude, Jennifer and Bob are a great owner family and do a superb job of making you feel right at home. Chrissy is an excellent cook, and the meals are hearty and delicious. Best of all are the rates! For $75/night you get a two person lodge room AND all meals ... an unbeatable deal. Run, don't walk, to this place ..... you'll love it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor are the least expensive .... suites are available on the second floor at a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrs074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Creek Lodge

Property: Alpine Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 68 Denali Highway, PO Box 121, Cantwell, AK 99729
Location: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cantwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a wilderness lodge in remote Alaska. We are open year round, every day. Alpine Creek Lodge is on the Denali Highway, so travelers can get there in the summer via a gravel road. 68 miles West of Paxson Alaska, and 67 miles East of Cantwell, Alaska. In the summer, we offer hiking tours, photography tours, wildlife viewing tours, gold panning tours, fishing tours and much more! Fully guided, or you can do it yourself! In the winter, the road is not plowed from October 15th to May 15th. During this period, snow machine, dog mushing, skiing, etc are the only way to get to us. Drop off and pick up are available in Cantwell, Alaska via snow machine or tracked vehicle. We are on the South side of the Alaska Range, in the Clearwater Mountains, and this is where you will find real Alaska! Jennifer Bondy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Creek Lodge Cantwell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing