We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic annual trip!”
Review of Alpine Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Creek Lodge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Archer, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic annual trip!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

For the past 3 years in March a group of our friends from Valdez, AK have traveled together to the Alpine Creek Lodge by snowmobile. We park in Paxson and make a day of riding to the lodge along the Denali Highway, spend two nights and then take another day for the return trip. Each year we have such a great time!
The rooms are exactly what we all had pictured for a comfy lodge environment. There is a big wood burning stove in the main room downstairs, with a communal dining table just beyond it. The outside walls are lined with rooms that either have bunk beds or a queen size bed. They don't have private baths, but that was never a problem for our group since we were renting most of the lodge each time. The rooms and bathrooms were always clean.
The food was hearty and plentiful. Coming in to a nice pot of beans warming on the wood burning stove in the living room was a treat, and helped warm you up after a long ride. Claude and Jennifer and their son Bob always make you feel like family, and sitting down to dinner or breakfast around the big dining table was truly sharing a meal with family and friends.

Room Tip: The Queen rooms on the second floor are our favorite since only those rooms share the 2 bathrooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGXterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
20
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I rode our snowmachines out to Alpine Creek Lodge for a night and it was one of the best rides ever! From the time we unloaded our sleds the scenery was amazing and with every mile became more beautiful and that was just the beginning of our trip. The lodge was warm, comfortable and you feel right at home. We had a warm lunch and headed right back out to ride until dinnertime. By far the best snow I've ever rode in and Jake was an excellent guide showing us places and pointing out interesting things to us. We are looking forward to visiting again and would highly recommend Alpine Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My snow machine trip was into some of the most amazing area I have ever been in! The owners/staff made sure that I felt at home with the family atmisphier and that I wanted for nothing. I highly recommend ALpine Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Our stay at the Alpine Creek lodge was everything from thrilling, fun-filled snow adventures to relaxing, and enjoying good food and pure interior Alaskan hospitality. A three day stay was not enough to soak in all that the area and gracious hosts have to offer. We'll certainly return to experience more of both. The home-like feeling of the lodge set in some of the most beautiful Alaskan landscapes and will make you want to stay well past your checkout date. The family run crew make you feel comfortable and relaxed from the minute you meet them, not to mention their motivation to share what the area has to offer in the way of scenery, adventures, and flat out fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmcclurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

After all the other raving reviews that have been passed on I had no doubts ACL was the place. My gal and I wanted to get off the beaten path and spend a lot of time ridin. We planned 4 days in Denali staying with Claude and Jen and the experience was amazing.

The lodge itself is top notch and felt like home. Jens home cookin was amazing. Anything we needed was readily available.

Claudes expertise in the surrounding area was second to none as far as navigating a good snowmobile ride each day.

We are already planning a return for 2013!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstrbdxpAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, AK
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Alpine Creek Lodge hosted a long weekend snowmachine ride that was fantastic.
There were 25-30 people through out the long weekend and Claude, Jennifer and the rest of the staff treated the whole group as if we were part of the family.
The riding was by far the best I had all winter.
Definently going back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A stay at ACL (Alpine Creek Lodge) is like staying with family. We have been there twice and will return again and again. The family atmosphere is the greatest. Claude, Jennifer, Bob and Chrissy are the most generous hosts and make everyone feel at home. This is a remote lodge, but has all the comforts of home without the hotel feel. Set deep in the Alaska wilderness surrounded by miles and miles of true adventure. A day trip out of the lodge by snowmachine is filled with wonder and amazement. The beauty of the mountains and the wide open spaces is, simply, INSPIRING. Wildlife is ever present. Every visit brings a new experience. Meeting new people as well as old friends (everyone leaves as a friend).

Room Tip: Book early for large rooms, but every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Creek Lodge

Property: Alpine Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 68 Denali Highway, PO Box 121, Cantwell, AK 99729
Location: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cantwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a wilderness lodge in remote Alaska. We are open year round, every day. Alpine Creek Lodge is on the Denali Highway, so travelers can get there in the summer via a gravel road. 68 miles West of Paxson Alaska, and 67 miles East of Cantwell, Alaska. In the summer, we offer hiking tours, photography tours, wildlife viewing tours, gold panning tours, fishing tours and much more! Fully guided, or you can do it yourself! In the winter, the road is not plowed from October 15th to May 15th. During this period, snow machine, dog mushing, skiing, etc are the only way to get to us. Drop off and pick up are available in Cantwell, Alaska via snow machine or tracked vehicle. We are on the South side of the Alaska Range, in the Clearwater Mountains, and this is where you will find real Alaska! Jennifer Bondy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Creek Lodge Cantwell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing