We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Alaska!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Denali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cantwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adventure Denali
GreenLeadersGold level
Threerivers
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Real Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Four women travelers, we all had a great time in Maggie’s cabin, it's rustic and cozy a true Alaskan experience perhaps the most authentic we had in our whole 12 day trip, we all really hated to leave. A truly outstanding place there in Cantwell, we all agreed that we would all be back to stay. But if your looking for a 5 star hotel this is not for you, my friends and I were looking for an outdoor, last of the wild frontier type of experience and we found it here at Adventure Denali.

What a beautiful place, the colors were spectacular the weather was perfect, crystal clean air, your mountain was mesmerizing. A totally magical stay at your Adventure Denali. The floating sauna was wonderful and your sons cabin across the ponds well it was enchanting. We had an awesome campfire! Absolutely beautiful, And a what a gracious host. Thank you for your hospitality Kirk, a stay I will never forget. I hope to see you next season, or during the Iditarod race, how lovely would that be!

Room Tip: Maggies cabin is sweet and rustic and if you have more than four there is an attached room that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riverwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had the best time at the Beach Cabin. Kirk informed me of the size before and I was expecting much smaller. It was wonderful and I couldn't have been happier. We stayed in August, and still needed the wood burning stove, he kept stocked for us. We had two stay in a tent and all four of us used the shower, and I was thrilled that it stayed hot for all of us.
His place is full of peace, it is quiet and the lake is wonderful. It is beautiful, the mountains, fog, rainbows, wildlife, colors, lake... I can go on forever, and have exquisit photo to prove it. The floating sauna is something to experience and enjoy. I did many times over again.
I wish I could have stayed a month, twelve days is not enough to see all of Denali and Kirks place.
Thank you Kirk for sharing your home, your knowledge, your family and your dog Diamond with us. I came home feeling relaxed for the first time in years. It was the best vacation I have ever been on. Best of all... I want to come back to Alaska.
The lake is clear, and as for fitness, you can walk around the lake, or up the mountain, there is always something to do at his place...
I didn't want five star when I chose Kirks place. I wanted clean and room to move and not be on top of other tourists. I got that at Kirks place and we recieved five star treatment from Kirk and his family. They are truly wonderful.
Thank you Kiirk!

Room Tip: Maggie's Place is bigger, but the Beach Front is perfect for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

"Maggie's Place" is a fabulous cabin, perfect for a large family traveling in Alaska. It has great energy and the lake is incredibly beautiful there, especially with all of the wildflowers blooming around it. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a real Alaskan retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKAS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed late July, rented both cabins plus the extra room. Kirk was great, shared his garden, fishing was a blast, and lots to do right there without driving to the park. Did not want to stay at the "touristy" places up the road with Tuff Shed cabins. Can't wait to go back, would like to see it in March. If you want to stay away from the crowds, this is it. Thanks Kirk and Tanner for a great stay for our family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have mixed feelings about my stay at Adventure Denali. I emailed Kirk a few weeks before I was planning to come up to Denali and he was very quick to respond, which was great.

I checked out the room for $75 and it was much smaller than I anticipated. After spending the day up near Denali National Park, I drove down south (about 25 min drive) to Adventure Denali and stayed in the Beach Cabin. It's pretty rustic and simple, for sure. The Beach Cabin has satellite TV, wi-fi and a small kitchen. It's small (probably 400 sq feet or so) and its got some years on it! The bed, pillows, sheets....need to be replaced -- they are all worn pretty hard. Also, some blackout curtains would be great (mini blinds don't cut it in Alaska - especially in the summer!).

There were some major issues w/ the place -- not sure if it was just a fluke, but, there were some problems. The toilet plugged up on us right away. I tried to unclog it, but to no avail. I had to have the owner come and unplug it. Pretty frustrating. The last issue that kinda made me lose my cool was when the hot water went out in the shower in the middle of a shower. Twice! The owner stated that it was a fluke -- things were going out, but two strikes was not cool. At the end of the day, I ended up getting a discount on my stay, which I thought was appropriate.

It's a shame, because the owner is super cool and I dig his totally Alaskan vibe and he seems very helpful and friendly. I just wish our experience would have been a little bit more enjoyable here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Kirk was great. Had to change dates, no problem. Had a welcome note on the front of Maggie's place for us Kids loved the cabin. Views were incredible from the living room. Kirk is a true Alaskan who will make you feel at home. We will be back in the summer to enjoy his hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kturney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Within hours of arriving in Anchorage we settled in at Maggies Place. It was more of a self contained resort, rather than a cabin to spend the night. We hiked, fished, went for a run, kids played in a boat, swam (brrrrr) used the wood fired sauna, chopped wood, roasted marshmallows round the fire, picked fresh greens from the owners garden, and really enjoyed the opportunity to learn about the area from the owner. And to think we'd planned to just spend the night before visiting Denali. Our only complaint was that our schedule didn't allow us to stay longer. Do yourself a favor and spend some time at Adventure Denali. It's a true Alaskan outdoor adventure and you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadinOutTheDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantwell
20.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
20.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
21.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
8.2 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
17.2 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#12 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Denali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Denali

Property: Adventure Denali
Address: Milepost 214.5 Parks Highway, P.O. Box 6, Denali Park, Ak 99755, Cantwell, AK 99729
Location: United States > Alaska > Cantwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cantwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park's exclusive fishing lodge and guide service. Stay with us in a "Alaskan Cabin of your Dreams", fish private Chavey Lakes and our wild streams, while enjoying all of the parks activities. Quiet, peaceful full modern, SatTV, Internet, best views in the area and just a 30 minute incredibly beautiful commute to the park entrance,and all activities, bus trips. Open all year. Cabin Rentals to all inclusive fishing and adventure tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adventure Denali Cantwell, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing