We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top of the World Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent stay! I want to start off by saying how clean the rooms are. I wish every hotel had this work ethic and dedication. Beautiful view of the ocean and a very friendly staff makes this place a must. I spent several weeks here on business and will definitely return to this hotel. I felt welcome from the moment i arrived to the day i left. Great location puts you seconds from walking the beach and enjoying good food from several reasturants. There is also a coffee shop on the same block which was very convenient .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kowboysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 191 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at "The Top of the World" hotel for 1 night. The staff is very friendly and try to be helpful. We had a lot of confusion around our room, and it seemed like several other customers also had difficulties. We booked the room at the beginning of FEB. for an end of JUNE stay. We reserved a queen bed, ocean-view room. We got the key, went up, and yep- 2 double beds, city view. Hhhmmmm. Back down and got the only ocean-view left, which was 2 doubles. Oh, well. We were awakened from a nap by a group of people entering our room- apparently they had given this room to someone else. These and multiple not-working keys were making me slightly annoyed. The ocean-view room was bright and clean; the bed was comfortable. Do NOT get the city-view rooms; the "city" is NOT much to look at, and those rooms seemed to be quite gloomy.

Places to eat: Mexican place attached to the hotel- very bland. Arctic pizza- pretty good, pricey but flavorful; the dough is a little chewy. Northern Lights restaurant- good, basic foods.

There is very little to do in Barrow. I would strongly recommend flying into Barrow in the morning, taking the tour around Barrow (about 6hrs) and then flying back out the same day. We flew into Barrow in the morning and left the following evening- too long. Really, there is nothing much to do here. We walked the town several times, but it is kind of sad and delapidated. I must stress, however, the folks that live there are wonderfully warm and friendly. Luckily, there happened to be a community celebration on our second day there, or I have no idea what we would have done. Try a dip in the Arctic Ocean- it was a lot of fun. Yes, it was cold.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean-view room! It is worth the extra $10, I promise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Best Hotel in Barrow, very clean and friendly staff. A must is the Tour with Sam the Native Tour guide who can tell you a lot about the history of Barrow. But the Tour takes up to 6hrs so don't plan anything else, or be short on taking a flight back out. And if you;re looking for nightlife you won't find it there. However the most wonderful place to experience the midnight sun. You can't go any further than this!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jungos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed one night as part of a tour up Dalton Highway to Prudoe and then over to Barrow
Hotel comprises of prefabricated units which have been joined. However inside it is just like any hotel with en-suite roomswith toileteries, hairdrier and coffee maker etc. Most things within Barrow are within walking distance so it is well positioned
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
Considering that most things have are flown into Barrow it was a high standard. Of course it costs more to stay here than further south in USA but that only is to be expected.
The hotel has no breakfast facilites but there is Pepes next door to eat at.
A onenight stay in Barrow allowed us to see everything we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I know the locations of the other hotels, but morning breakfast is easiest if not the best here. This is Barrow. It gets slack.

Room Tip: Take any you can get (ocean view or inland view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugenemiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late with tour. William at the front desk went out of his way to help me make the most of my short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlinbucknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Rooms are large and cimfortable with private bathrooms. Although more costly than other Barrow Hotels, two nearby restaurants are within walking distance. I equate this hotel to that of a good Day's Inn in the 48 contiguous states. I did not expect to pay $250/night and then find a toilet seat that was only attached on one side and with missing baseboards in the bathroom. Having said that, the room was large, clean and comfortable. Little toiletries are provided as is facial tissue. Polar bear tours can be arranged, but are expensive--as is everything in Barrow. Please consider that all supplies must be flown in, which means that everything in Barrow must cost more. Hotel is better than many used by bird watchers.

Room Tip: Request sea view rather than street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top of the World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the World Hotel

Address: Box 189, 3060 Eben Hopson, Barrow, AK 99723-0189
Location: United States > Alaska > Barrow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrow
Price Range: $190 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Top of the World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Top of the World Hotel is at 3060 Eben Hopson Street. It is well known for authentic Inupiat Eskimo Hospitality. We invite you to come to the Top of the World Hotel overlooking the Arctic Ocean where, from your guest room window, you can experience the land of the midnight sun, watch a whale migrate, a polar bear wander, or the northern lights dance across the polar night sky. It is an adventure you are not likely to forget. The new Top of the World Hotel has 70 state of the art rooms with free Wi-Fi, cable, flat screen TVs, direct dial phones and features modern services and amenities: 24 hour front desk attendant, hotel restaurant, exercise room, gift shop, guest launderette and full kitchens for guest use. It is conveniently located near the heritage center, tourist attractions and local stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Top of the World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top World Hotel
Hotel Top Of The World
Top Of The World Hotel Barrow, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing