We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place, Limited Service”
Review of Airport Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airport Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Barrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Nice, clean, quiet place run by a nice, clean, quiet, couple. Minimal, but adequate breakfast. Only problem was that they consider the weekend to be their time. This does not always work well for the traveler. Don't mind making my own coffee but there was none to be found on Sunday morning and no hosts to be found either. Other than that, our stay was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BasicBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Airport Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

The staff is so kind and friendly. When I called to make reservations we talked for quite some time. Nancy gave me a reference for a superb guide around BArrow, Mike Shults, who was very generous and helpful. He and his wife, a world class photographer, took us around for hours and showed us ALL of Barrow.
Then when my travel partner and I were on the streets after dining and looking for a little shop; Nancy was out walking. She made a point of coming over to visit just as friends would when she could have kept going and not acknowledged us at all.
The hotel itself is cozy, comfortable and has all the things you'd expect and more.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

From start to finish we loved our time at the AIrport Inn! We are a family of 2 adults & 2 teens and since no hotel in Barrow can accomodate more than 3 guests, we needed a hotel with 2 rooms. The two rooms at the Airport Inn cost the same as one room at Top Of the World Hotel! The staff at the Airport Inn was so friendly and helpful -- we felt like we made friends there and it was hard to leave. The breakfasts were fine and the rooms were perfect for us. We were within walking distance of everything except BASC and the Point, but had tourguides/taxis help us with those sites. We were lucky enough to be there during the Nalukataq (spring whaling festival) which was fascinating. We loved every minute in Barrow -- even the snow on June 27 -- and are already hoping we can head back again one day. If we do, we'll definitely be staying at the Airport Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank myfamilystravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We are actually staying at the Barrow Airport Inn as i write this review. We will be staying for 2 nights on this trip. This is our first trip to Barrow and this hotel is outstanding. It is extremely close to the airport. It is within walking distance and this is what we did. It is around the corner practically.

The hotel is very clean, newly remodeled, clean bathrooms, clean sheets and with free internet, cable tv, microwave and a refrigerator. The owner was very helpful when we checked-in and personally called the 4X4 tour driver to tell him that we were interested in taking a 4X4 tour out of the city limits to get to Point Barrow and see the "jurassic park" of bowhead whale carcasses.

The hotel's breakfast is very simple, but very nice. Very clean eating area. Barrow is not a touristy town (yet) and so accommodations are very limited here. But, this hotel is definitely a great value for this area. The room is not very large but is adequate. The owner had set-up a roll-away when she knew that there were three of us in the room

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sdpgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Clean, quiet room with cable, microwave, fridge, wireless internet and breakfast included. A hundred bucks less per night than the King Eider. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dutchray60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Clean
friendly
Caring place! 5 stars for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AzDave2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We travelled independently to Barrow to experience the Arctic Spring and chose the Airport Inn for our two nights there as an alternative to the tour group hotels. We were not disappointed. Our room was basic but comfortable, clean and warm with everything we needed. The continental breakfast was very convenient and perfectly adequate and the hotel is located within reasonable walking distance of Barrow's few restaurants, the excellent Inupiat Heritage Centre and, of course, the airport itself. The hotel seems popular with business travellers, who made us Brits very welcome, and the owners, who have been there for many years now, could not have been more helpful, allowing us use of the room until our early evening flight to Fairbanks. Our 4-hour ride out to frozen Point Barrow and onto the snow-covered tundra with Sam of Arctic Adventure tours was a wonderful experience, and we were unlucky not to see polar bears out on the Point where they regularly feed off old whale bones - just their footprints this time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisShirleyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn

Address: 1815 Momegana Street, Box 933, Barrow, AK 99723-0933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Barrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Barrow
Price Range: $160 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1983 the Airport Inn has been a home away from home for tourists and business travelers who visit Barrow. We are conveniently located two blocks (3-5 minute walk) from the Barrow Airport terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrow Airport Hotel Barrow
Airport Inn Barrow, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing