We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caverns”

Cathedral Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Woodville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful cave system features unique rock formations and ancient relics.
Hazel Green, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Caverns”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cathedral Caverns was a great family experience. The cave is easily accessible via a lighted walking path with handrails. The tour guide, Guy, was very knowledgeable and provided some humor throughout the trail. The price of $15 per person was a fair price for the amount of work done to create a walking path in the cavern. Without that path, we would have never had the privilege to see these magnificent sights.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidandjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    62
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Accessible Walking Path”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First of all, not all caverns are the same; each has its own character and history, and it's up to the tour guide to really bring these out. We had an excellent guide named Guy who explores caves as a pro when he's not working here. His wit and insight kept us entertained throughout our long trip. The walking path is the BEST I've experienced in the several caves I've visited- no tight squeezes! It is wide and very accessible for people in wheelchairs and parents with strollers; however, you WILL get a workout just walking on the trail as there are plenty of "hills" and it takes quite awhile to get to the end of the public part of the cave. Guy even took one wheel-chair-bound young man and his family on a utility vehicle for the tour! I loved that he let us return to the entrance at our own pace so we could stop and enjoy the caverns and take more pics.

The cave itself is HUGE and holds many world records for commercial caves, including the largest opening, the largest formation ("Goliath"), the largest "frozen waterfall," and a huge stalagmite "forest." Even a couple of movies were filmed in the cave. Geological fans and history buffs alike will really enjoy this tour.

Now to being picky: Unlike most caverns, there was not a really comfortable place to cool off. There was a large covered area that functioned as a nice gift shop, waiting area, and snack bar; however, it was not air-conditioned, and summertime in Alabama can be very hot and humid. The good news is that cave tours leave every hour and the cave inside felt fantastic! Also, I agree with another reviewer that a small playground would be a great idea for children while they wait for the tour to begin.

We were very impressed with this cavern experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One BIG Cave”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yesterday we decided to drive over to Cathedral caverns and take a tour of the Cave. We have tours other Caves in Tennessee, Germany and Ireland so we knew what to expect. The tours during summer take place every hour so we did not have to wait long after paying $15.00 each for the tour. We met our tour guide at the entrance and he proceeded to walk us through telling us the history of the Cave as well as educating us about the formations around us. The Cave is one way in/out so the tour ends at the deepest point. Afterwards, everyone is expected to reverse course and walk out on their own. The entire route is well lighted and the walkway is at least 6 feet wide at all points. Largest cave that we have seen and worth the trip. One note: This Cave is part of the Alabama State Park system and we expected some type of Military discount. It was not offered here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cathedral Caverns”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Debated on visiting with 3 teenagers. "Little Man" our guide made sure both young and old visitors were well informed about the history of the cave as well as entertained. He walked at a comfortable pace and made enough Stops for all to take plenty of pictures. We were all impressed with how large and how beautiful the cave is. You could actually spend more time just looking at all the formations once the tour was complete and you were walking back to the entrance. I'm glad we made the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting history, but a cavern is a cavern.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A little pricey. Overall, it was pretty standard walk through however I enjoyed the history of the cavern. I'll never need to go back again. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the Cavern, but overall was not very good. She was rather young and immature and at one point she ran over to another tour guide to show her a picture of someone on her phone. She also made some comments that I thought were inappropriate for the age of some of the children. Avoid Shelby as your tour guide if you can.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing