We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tobacco Caye
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boards snorkel gear price includes fish small island dining hall fried jacks volleyball court refried beans deck chairs meals included perfect paradise a wonderful stay little slice of heaven took great care gracious hosts tabacco caye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 115 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place is perfect for the price, it's on the quiet side of the island and the hosts are very loving and caring. There are no actual resorts on Tobacco Caye, but this is as good as you get on the island. It is by far the freshest food on the island and the best staff as well. Don't have high expectations for the rooms, they are meant for sleeping - that's it. They're clean and safe and located on the quiet side of the island.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the water, you can watch the sun rise from the hammock on your deck!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amross2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

You dont go to Tobacco Caye thinking of it as a resort. You go there to get away from resorts. Its tiny and the cabins tend to funky. We were there over 10 years ago, but what i would say is the cabin we were in was tolerable, the setting is beautiful, but dont look at the garbage or the broken bottles they mix in with the conch shells as an erosion barrier. The food when we were there was fried and very salty, but definitely fresh and edible. The lady running then was nice by Belizean standards, which means don't expect fake McDonalds/Starbucks smiles. The guy who met our boat had a naked woman with an AK 47 Tatoo across his chest. But he was quite chill. The main thing was the snorkeling, which was fantastic and amazing. I will never forget it, and could care less about the trash. Go to some sterile resort and be happy there, this is not what its about. And it was cheap.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanadukathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and the family was out here for two days, although the rooms was OK, and my time out there incredibly awesome, i gotta comment about the food, it was off the chain!!!! the cook personality was outstanding and the dishes she prepared was exceptional, anybody that appreciate good food, go to Gaviota Coral Reef Resort!!!! I promise you an unbelizable time you will never forget!!!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had originally reserved a room in Lanas, another hotel in Tabacco Caye, but did not like the room and as Blue Dolphin had cabins available we were able to switch. It was much nicer being in our own little beach cabin with its terrace with deckchair and hammock, to a cramped room in Lanas. The cabin is basic but cosy....and as they are near the water, there is a nice breeze at night. The cost was US80 (USD40) each with 3 meals included....the food was ok but the portions were quite small, for breakfast we got 1/3 of an apple and banana and some small bread rolls. But the staff are friendly and there was generally a good atmopshere in the dining room. They also have a bar where prices are cheaper than in the islands main beach bar. The cabins near the waters edge are definitley the nicest! I don't think they have a website yet so the number to call to make a reservation is +501 6659837

Room tip: Cabins near the waters edge.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azurduyvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife Joy and I stayed at Blue Dolphin (formerly Gaviota but under now run by a couple that we thought were great!) for 4 nights in mid-October, 2012. The owners are in the process of making improvements to the grounds, but nothing about the food needed improving! They fed us plenty of wonderful home-cooked Belizean meals and were very accomodating. The porch from our cabin had a beautiful view of the sunrise, and it was amazing sitting out after dark in the breeze, listening to the waves crash on the reef. The porch overhung a calm spot of water and we even caught some small fish from our porch and saw small barracuda and big sting rays cruising past.

Overall, our four days at Blue Dolphin were among the best of our lives, and we've both done a fair amount of travel! We can only hope to return!

Room tip: The cabins closest to the water have the best view, if available!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews