We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tobacco Caye
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boards snorkel gear price includes fish small island dining hall fried jacks volleyball court refried beans deck chairs meals included perfect paradise a wonderful stay little slice of heaven took great care gracious hosts tabacco caye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 115 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Based on decent reviews and cheap price, we booked two nights at Gaviotas. I was expecting minimal (a bed in a shack) but it was dark and stuffy and icky. The people were fine and the food was decent, but as the only guests at Gaviotas that day the dining hall was lonely. The old sheets were mismatched, worn thin and dingy. The fan didnt work. The shared bath was as to be expected and we didnt brave the shower. Some white paint and white sheets would go a long way to making the room seem breezier and cleaner. I also was thankful I got a tetanus shot before the vacation as I cut myself on the rusty slide bolt used to lock the door.

The hammock circle was nice and offered a breezy place to read and talk, but the ocean shore at Gaviotas was full of garbage. There also seemed to be a lack of breeze that flowed into the room.

Luckily, we only had to stay there one night. The Tobacco Caye Paradise Lodge had an opening for the second night and we also extended to a third night. For the same price, TC Paradise is worlds better. We had wanted to stay at Paradise originally but couldnt find a phone number for them and booked Gaviotas just to have a sure thing. The only thing sure about it is that I was sure glad to get over to TC Paradise. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with Gaviotas, we were just much happier and more comfortable over at Paradise for the same price.

There is absolutely nothing to do on Tobacco Caye, which is awesome for relaxation./reading/sunbathing, if that is your wish. We ended up getting certified to scuba dive in just two days.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

arrived on Tobacco Caye and headed for Gaviota, they do have a boat transfer service which is excellent if you book ahead- but we just took the one at the dock as it was unplanned. We had a great hut at Gaviotas with a double and a bunkbed which was fine for two girls sharing.

The island is a pure relaxational place, which is good for anyone, just to appreciate the beautiful surroundings. How anyone could complain is beyond me! Swim, snorkle, bathe, dive -non of these are outstanding -but the fact that there are no shops is a dream and you would find it hard to not be happy on this peaceful laid back island! If you are a couple you'd be pushed to find anywhere more romantic to just lie in the hammack, sand or waters undisturbed.

Furman - the owner of Gaviota is very nice, and Mercedes the lady who makes all the delicious meals -is a gem! The lobster dish we had on our first night was fabulous, as were all her home-cooked meals! She seemed to have a great sense of what we needed at different times of day. For example a light taco lunch and fresh fruit one day, and tuna sandwiches with chips another day. Her home baked pancakes and cakes were great!

TC is not for families because there is no contrived activities (other than diving), but then I dont think Belize is really for families. Caye Caulker has no beach, and is full of drugged up old men. I also think it has a lot has to do with what experience you are looking for. We made some great friends at Gaviota, and enjoyed going out with them in Dangriga etc. Dangriga is a great town if you want to get to know the REAL Belize. (Cultural Sunday takes place every week and you can see some real belizian entertainment!!)

Date of stay: August 2006
17  Thank Lauralev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

I have to disagree with the other opinion. We, a family of five with three teenagers traveled all around Belize and also went to Tikal. After we left Gaviotas we went to San Pedro and were all wishing we could snap our fingers and be back at Tobacco. If you are looking for fancy food and lots of entertainment than this is not the place for you but if you are looking for peace and quite and relaxing in hammocks until the meal bell rings, this is your place. It was cheap and safe and we LOVED it. To walk to the beach that you can snorkel off of was a minute or two at most.
We could let the kids fend for themselves and they met a local who showed them baby turtles and hermit crabs at night and we played volleyball everyday with palm trees and beach surrounding us. It was so relaxing.
Mari

Date of stay: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mariChico_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

We stayed at Gaviota's out on Tobacco Caye in early January, and my best advice would be...don't bother. The island in general is very small and crowded. There is lots of garbage and none of the accomodations are very nice. The price you're paying is probably mostly for the meals that are included, because almost all the accomodations on the island are shacks. They need to clean up all the garbage on this island, but I can't see that happening any time soon. The claim to fame for Tobacco Caye is that you can snorkel right off the island, which is true, but it's nothing special. We tried many different spots and couldn't find anything great.
Gaviotas was decent in that the owner was friendly, and the meals were O.K. but again nothing special, and if you don't like what they're serving that night, tough luck because there's no restaurants or convinience stores out there.
By the time you've paid for you're boat rides out and back and the accomodations and meal plan, you're better off just going to Caye Caulker and paying to go on the Hol Chan tours for snorkelling or diving.

The nail in the coffin for Tobacco Caye would have to be that you will most likely leave from Dangriga, and Dangriga should be avoided like the plague, read my other review on Dangriga for info.

Date of stay: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Classvisuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews