We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tobacco Caye
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
13
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boards snorkel gear price includes fish small island dining hall fried jacks volleyball court refried beans deck chairs meals included perfect paradise a wonderful stay little slice of heaven took great care gracious hosts tabacco caye
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 115 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had originally reserved a room in Lanas, another hotel in Tabacco Caye, but did not like the room and as Blue Dolphin had cabins available we were able to switch. It was much nicer being in our own little beach cabin with its terrace with deckchair and hammock, to a cramped room in Lanas. The cabin is basic but cosy....and as they are near the water, there is a nice breeze at night. The cost was US80 (USD40) each with 3 meals included....the food was ok but the portions were quite small, for breakfast we got 1/3 of an apple and banana and some small bread rolls. But the staff are friendly and there was generally a good atmopshere in the dining room. They also have a bar where prices are cheaper than in the islands main beach bar. The cabins near the waters edge are definitley the nicest! I don't think they have a website yet so the number to call to make a reservation is +501 6659837

Room tip: Cabins near the waters edge.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azurduyvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife Joy and I stayed at Blue Dolphin (formerly Gaviota but under now run by a couple that we thought were great!) for 4 nights in mid-October, 2012. The owners are in the process of making improvements to the grounds, but nothing about the food needed improving! They fed us plenty of wonderful home-cooked Belizean meals and were very accomodating. The porch from our cabin had a beautiful view of the sunrise, and it was amazing sitting out after dark in the breeze, listening to the waves crash on the reef. The porch overhung a calm spot of water and we even caught some small fish from our porch and saw small barracuda and big sting rays cruising past.

Overall, our four days at Blue Dolphin were among the best of our lives, and we've both done a fair amount of travel! We can only hope to return!

Room tip: The cabins closest to the water have the best view, if available!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and left early, reluctantly got a refund for the fourth night. BED BUGS!
Got eaten alive. They tried to say it was mosquito bites but obviously bed bugs. They gave a partial refund for the fourth night, deducted breakfast. Not sure what the reasoning was as we paid full price for the first night even though we arrived at 2pm and did not eat breakfast or lunch! They even deducted another $20 for who knows what, we were just glad to be able to leave. We have stayed at Tobacco Caye twice previously( at Tobacco Caye Lodge) and had a great time. No surprises about the accommodations but not impressed with the bed bugs.

Room tip: Try Lana's which is very clean and the food is the best on the island.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LOL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I cant understand some of the other reviews that this place is getting....we are fairly seasoned backpackers and found this place terrible.....and we've seen alot around the world. The toilets are filthy, the food is inedible and the mozzies are evil......and then there the staff - I don't know who gave the manager her job, but she is destroying te place.......Dont even consider staying there guys. Soured an alternatively good stay on this Caye.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Killter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our time at this hostel was very enjoyable and relaxing. We recieved friendly service, help arranging outings and equipment, and good meals.
The hostel is under new management and was above our expectation considering the price. It was on par with other places that were twice as expensive.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rauny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews