We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place I Know”
Review of Tobacco Caye Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobacco Caye Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Arrived on Tobacco Caye the day after Valentines, stayed at Tobacco Caye Lodge! The place is rustic with rain water showers and hard wood floors, a comfortable bed, and three great meals a day! Wonderful staff, wifi , and able to pay with credit cards! People from around the world find this 5 acre island and sit at the Tobacco Bar and share their stories of travel and life, it is a wonderful simplistic Paradise, a touch of true Belizean hospitality! Garifunian drumming one night a week for entertainment. A wonderful spot to see untouched by our hurried lives!

Room Tip: All rooms awake to a beautiful sunrise on the Caribbean reef!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, it is an absolute must to stay at the lodge. The meals are amazing and included in your fee. The view from the lodge is amazing! Cold showers - not a big deal.
I'm so glad I 'splurged' at $50 USD/night because, to be honest, the other places on the island look like dumps that are about to fall over.

Tobacco Paradise looks nice, but the Lodge has much better views.

Book a tour with the local, A.C. and lobster fish with Jorge.

The Marine Station and Nolan's at Reefs End has wifi. Marine Station also rents snorkel gear for $7 USD/day

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Afavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this resort for four days and three nights. The staff were very helpful and nice to be around. The food was amazing, every lunch and dinner there was fresh food. The water is perfect for swimming and snorkaling.

Room Tip: Get the blue house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AdamHodges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On a recent sea-kayaking trip island hopping between the Central Cayes of Belize and camping on the beaches, we almost didn't go to Tobacco Caye having heard that we would be squeezed in between the various lodge buildings but it ended up being our favorite caye! We camped at Tobacco Caye Lodge in a great setting amongst palm trees right on the water's front in front of their cabins but far away enough not to be an issue. We ate several meals at the lodge, all good Belizean food, and having the bar there was great. Lots to see on the island both from the docks and underwater snorkeling, and everyone there was very friendly. Not sure if we just got lucky in that there weren't many people around it being towards the end of the season but we enjoyed it so much we spent 3 nights there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandpeterCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked for 4 days in Feb 2013 but left after 2 days. This island is a paradise but completely ruined by people. There's garbage everywhere including all over the coral reef. The bartender has a scratchy little boom box that he cranks at full volume from 9pm until late. One of the nights a party boat landed with 20 people who camped just outside our cabin and squealed and screamed all night. The 3 meals/day are mostly canned food (including Kraft dinner) and almost inedible. Expect the worst of everything if you plan to visit here and maybe it'll be ok? The snorkeling is easy (and free), but other than that there are better places to see.

Room Tip: Paradise lodge might be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank torontoeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The best thing about this spot is that it runs the only store and bar so you can include all you purchases on your room account and pay at the end. Good food, great staff and nice accommodation make this lodge one of the best!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethorn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Accommodation was slightly above backpacker grade. Tobacco Caye Paradise seems to be nicer location, but a kayak tour company (island adventures) seems to have booked all rooms and we were not able to see them. The food was simple, slightly weird(bologna bacon?) but good. If you go fishing, they'll cook your fish/ lobster for you.

It is a very peaceful island- if you want to read or just relax in the hammock, then this is the perfect spot.

We had the best day of snorkeling ever just the other (east?) side of the reef from the island. Visibility was well over 100', and there was lots of sea life in 15' of water. However the wind changed next day and the visibility dropped so it was not nearly as good. We did the manatee tour but did not see them- others we spoke too on previous days got to swim so we were just unlucky. We also did one dive on the local reef- which was ok.

It was very nice, but we were definately ready to go to our next spot after three days of reading books and sitting in hammocks. We ended up chartering a boat from captain buck to go directly to our next stop in Hopkins- $120us for 6 of us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobacco Caye
0 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,035 reviews
0 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
193 reviews
0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
588 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
89 reviews
0 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 13 in Hopkins
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobacco Caye Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobacco Caye Lodge

Address: Tobacco Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tobacco Caye Hotel Tobacco Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing