We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All I can say is WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tobacco Caye Paradise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobacco Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobacco Caye Paradise
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
Certificate of Excellence
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All I can say is WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Myself and 4 other friends spent 3 days at Paradise, and it was WONDERFUL. The food is great, the manager is so personable, the "family meals" served at the dining table are an extra treat when you get to meet other guest. The veranda over the sea is also special, we even had a 2 bedroom cabana with lots of privacy. I got a one on one snorkeling instructor on one of the scenic boat outings. i suggest Paradise---IF you can get a reservation--they stay booked.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    31
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
75
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you need a place on Tobacco Caye, this is your place! My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night out of our 3 nights on Tobacco Caye and we should have stayed longer and perhaps for our entire trip! This great place offers cabanas over the water at an amazing price! I think we paid $84 (US) for 1 night with all meals included for 2 people! Doesn't get much better than this folks. We had our own deck w/hammocks over the water and the cleanest rooms around. The staff was amazing, and they cooked up some great food for us morning, noon and night! If you go to Tobacco Caye, you better stay at Tobacco Caye Paradise!!

Room Tip: Choosing a good room doesn't matter here, they are all amazing! p.s. If you don't have enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikethorn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent a few nights on Tobacco Caye while sea kayaking in the area. Stayed at several places on the island and though the price at Paradise was a few dollars a night more than the others, it was BY FAR the nicest room we had. Staff were pleasant and the food was fine. Although everything about the place was good, relative to local prices, it still seemed expensive for the value.

General notes on Tobacco:
1) Activities: A bit too quiet for our taste. Reef snorkelling was great, but apart from that not much else going on here.

2) Sand fleas: Not bad generally, but still might be an issue for some as none of the places on Tobacco put screens on the windows. Definitely better at Paradise due to the absence of mangroves and being built out over the water.

3) Rats/Mice: Had nocturnal visitors at Blue Dolphin(Gaviota) that chewed holes in our dry bags and left some souvenirs behind on the bed for us, so they are obviously on the island, but no issues at Paradise.

2) Vibe and Value: Prices in Belize are extremely high for the value these days, including Tobacco. In terms of accommodations, we found lots of very rustic options but definitely no great deals. (Lots of $100 rooms without hot water, decent beds, fans or privacy, for example). With a drop in tourism amid ongoing inflation, times are tough for the locals in Belize these days, which is a shame. However, the travel industry seems not to have adjusted to this reality and compared to other (similar) destinations, we often felt overcharged but under served.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I would really recommend Tobacco Caye to anyone! Paradise is the best accommodation on the island, with the cabana's hanging over the water! The food was ok, nothing special but enough for me. We did a snorkeling tour with AC Tours, good value for your money and he takes you to some of the best spots! I would love to go back some time!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I just returned from a stay on Tobacco Caye for 3 nights. It was wonderful! The caye is tiny -- only about 5 acres, and you'll walk around it in about 5 minutes. Don't go there expecting to be entertained all day. It's the kind of place where you kick back and relax and forget all your worries because that's pretty much all there is to do. (Well, there's also phenomenal snorkeling!) Paradise Lodge is on the best location on the island in my opinion. (Even though it's a tiny island, you might be surprise that there absolutely is a best location.) First, the bungalows are directly over the water, and the water in that location is crystal clear. There are no other bungalows directly over the water on the island. Each bungalow has its own over water deck with a super comfy hammock for swaying and at least one Adirondack chair. The bungalows are very simple -- a little wood bungalow with a bed in it (and a bathroom). No other furniture really. But everything was very neat and clean. And the sink basin and toilet in my bungalow looked pretty new, so it seems like they keep things updated when needed. The rainwater showers weren't too bad (and I hate cold showers), and you have electricity at night when you need it most. The second reason this is the best location on the island is because you get the strong breeze. The breeze keeps the bungalows nice and cool, even when it's super hot outside, and it keeps the bugs away. I've been traveling in Central America over 3 weeks now, and the mosquitoes and sand flies have eaten me alive! Paradise Lodge was a wonderful reprieve from the bugs! Sandra and the staff were super friendly and accommodating, and the meals were nicely prepared. I enjoyed the food and thought the portions were plenty large. If you get hungry at some random time and a meal time is far away, you can always stop at the snack shop near the bar at the main dock and get some nachos or something. This is a great little island in which to get away from it all, and I highly recommend Paradise Lodge. I hope to return there some day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Ahh, what is more perfect than a bungalow on the water on a tiny island where all your food is cooked for you and your choices all day are either to snorkle or sit in a hammock. Life is good here. Tobacco Caye Paradise is definitely the prettiest place on the island - we sat overlooking the water and could watch eagle rays swim by. The cabanas themselves are pretty bare. One night it rained and coconuts fell on the tin roof and drips of water came down on us - you are definitely 'exposed' to the elements. Another night a baby crocodile, that had washed up in Dangriga and then was released on the island, spent the whole night rustling under our cabana. But that made the trip more fun for us. The food was simple and delicious. We were two female travelers and were a bit spoiled by the few local island boys who brought us fresh coconuts ;) The phone number is 501-532-2101 in case you have trouble tracking it down. Also to get there, ask for Captain Munch in Dangriga, he seems to make daily trips around 12:30 but he can arrange a special time for you too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just got back from Tobacco Caye Paradisie. Be ready to take a small boat about 6 mles out. Besides, in my opinion, the best lodge on this tiny island, Paradise has the greatest view from your private over water balcony as well. Price is right with three meals a day. And you need them because there is not much else here. Dont expect ac and hot water. The owner Louise is wonderful and assured me they would have a web site and contact information soon. But while we were there three couples were just passing thru and able to get a sweet spot (there's only 6 huts). We were able to snorkel for hundreds of yards right off the deck, relax and I managed to find a game of sand three on three Bball to play with some of the local residents. Our absolute favorite site was the night time bioluminescent worms that cam out just after dark. It was like hundreds of swirling and zipping firefly worms underneath the ocean. I've come to learn that we were very lucky. The worms apparently come out three days or so after a full moon for about three days coming out very night 57 minutes after midnight (or so says the Internet).
I'de to come here again and get some extended r and r. If you are looking for mor than r and r, there a several captains On the island that will take you out snorkeling and fishing. There were no mosiquitos on this island. Didn't use spray once! Bring drinks and snacks if you want more than three a day. They did have a water cooler for drinking water. There is a thatch hut bar on the island if ya wanna get some adult drinks as well. Hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: I like the rooms near the office. They are a way from others on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psychosax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobacco Caye
0.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobacco Caye Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobacco Caye Paradise

Property: Tobacco Caye Paradise
Address: | North Point, Tobacco Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Tobacco Caye
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tobacco Caye
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobacco Caye Paradise Cabins is a small Belizean-own lodge with six private "over the water" beach cabanas. All cabanas face north to the Belize Barrier Reef and have wonderful decks perched over turquoise tropical waters. Each deck has a hammock and an amazing view of the Caribbean Sea. Accommodations are clean, comfortable and charmingly rustic. There are five 1 bedroom/1 bathroom cabanas, and one 2 bedroom/1 bathroom cabana. Each of the cabins have private bathrooms and rainwater-fed showers. While there is no electric or water utilities on the island, however, we collect our own rainwater and generate our own electricity from solar and generator (when necessary) power. We have wi-fi access on the island, as well. Delicious meals are available in the dining hall, where you can dine with fellow travelers and share the day's adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tobacco Caye Paradise Hotel Tobacco Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing