We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
323 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Located in the center if Escazu rooms are clean pet friendly easy access
Prices are very fair
Easy access to the multiplazza (big mall)
By the freeway or the old road San Rafael
De Escazu
Parking is free breakfast too
Excellent security

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
15
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Makes you feel at home. Facilities are ok. Not a modern style but well keeper. Service is outstanding. Starting at the chek in, service ladies, gate man, everyone has a greeting for you and are looking for help you.
GReat playground, just what children need.
They are able to solve whatever need you have during your stay.

Room Tip: You may choose apartments with just one bedroom, two or even three bedrooms. Every apartment has a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the villas del rio during our recent trip to Costa Rica. Excellent choice, real value for money. The rooms are spacious & comfortable. The front desk folks are very helpful with tour bookings and pleasant. There is a nice little pizza place called Pane e Vino just down the road towards the left. For vegetarians who don't speak Spanish get the "Livio". It is out of this world, delicious & loaded with veggie toppings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 365-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a two thumbs and one paw up review for the Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio in Escazu, Costa Rica. We have stayed here perhaps eight times in the past two years and everytime the hotel staff has been extremely friendly and attentive. (Birthday wishes were recently received via e-mail). The hotel specializes in apartments/suites and it is wonderful to have multiple bathrooms, a kitchen and separate living room in additon to the bedroom(s). The hotel is well maintained with two beautiful swimming pools - the tropical plants are amazing. A nice breakfast is included in the price of the apartment/suite and the hotel provides free transportation to and from the San Jose (Santamaria) International Airport.

Beyond having very nice facilities, this hotel is extremely well situated for shopping at the stores in Escazu which is a huge plus for guests who live at least part time in Costa Rica and are seeking some upscale stores. It is also located very near CIMA Hospital.

But as the title of this review suggests, the biggest plus for us is that Villas Del Rio is pet friendly. Our dog Neemo loves Villas Del Rio. During our next to last visit, the hotel staff arranged a pet sitter for Neemo while we went sight seeing (day one) and visited a dentist in downtown San Jose (day two). The pet sitter more than met our expectations.

So why not an excellent rating? The one downside to Villas is that it is located on a busy street and there is considerable street noise (e.g. motorcycles) in some, if not all, of the rooms. There are many upsides to the location (shopping, restaurants, located across the street from the Country Club of Costa Rica) but the street noise cannot be overlooked and prevents us giving the very highest rating.

Despite the noise, we plan to return to Villas on August 1st.

Bill, Linda and Neemo Gossard
Arenal, Costa Rica; Miami, FL

Room Tip: Unfortunately, it is our experience that all of the rooms have noise issues on account of the busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed twice, loved the amenities and the care provide by staff. Very accommodating, beautifully maintained suites and grounds, they really looked after all our needs from arranging airport transportation for us and for our guests, to booking tours, recommending private drivers, changing rooms for us mid-stay, arranging VIP lounge passes for the flight home. Location is excellent, close to beautiful scenery, hiking, excellent restaurants. Fully equipped gym more than adequate, always available. Pool area way above expectations, surrounded by hibiscus and bougaWide rnvillia blossoms. We plan to make this an annual visit.

Room Tip: Wide range of suites available to suit single, family, guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio are comparable to a Residence Inn ... in that they are designed to provide an apartment, rather than a basic hotel room. Having stayed in both the Escazu Residence Inn and Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, there is no comparison! The Residence Inn in Escazu is good,,,but

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio property has two pools, a play area for children, bar-b-que facilities, and much more, The suites/apartments (and traveling alone, I stayed in one of the smaller units!) are very spacious and well equipped (down to the two wine glasses and bottle of wine on the table!). The breakfast, included with the room, is a typical continental breakfast - eggs/omelets cooked to order are also available. There are several good restaurants within a easy 10 minute walk - or plenty of delivery available.

Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio is located in a very upscale (i.e., safe) area, walking to and from shops and restaurants is safe and easy. Of course, a taxi is only 5 minutes away. Shopping at the Multiplaza, or medical care at CIMA Hospital are only a few minutes away by cab ...or about a pleasant 30 minute walk.

The staff of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio were extremely helpful and friendly - from the desk staff, to the breakfast buffet staff, cleaning staff, and gentlemen on the front gate. Rooms were very clean and neat, and if anything was needed a call to the front desk was all that was needed.

On my next trip, I'll be staying at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was on a official trip to Costa Rica and the hotel i stayed in was Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio. Awesome place to stay with fantastic staff of hotel. They were always there for any help you are looking. You just need to tell them your concern or the help you are looking for and they have a solution with them for it. at last i would just say Fantastic and mindblowing people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imayank2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
3.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,132 reviews
117.3 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Property: Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Address: | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find that at Villas del Ro, your stay will definitely feel a lot closer to home.The furnished apartments and fully equipped kitchens provide everything necessary to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. With daily maid and laundry service, as well as a mini- market with a wide assortment of products.• Apartment-suites with one, two or three bedrooms• Cable TV, air conditioning, voice mail• Meeting room and a free 24 hour internet service• 2 swimming pools (1 heated), Jacuzzi and playground• Extensive gardens and designated pet areas• BarAt Villas del Río they take good care of the guest. The strict security measures and surveillance guarantee that your stay will be free of worries.• Spacious FREE private parking• 24 hours security• Electronic safe deposit boxesApartotel & Suites Villas del Río has an excellent strategic location for your next business or leisure trip. The elegant and ample apartments with all the modern amenities make you feel at home.• Friendly staff eager to help you 24 hours a day• Additional services and assistance upon request• Easy access to some of the most important shopping and entertainment centers, office buildings, restaurants and other services• Free shuttle service from and to the Airport (24 hours)The various lodging solutions, competitive rates as well as ideal facilities and outstanding services make Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ro one of your best choices in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel And Suites Villas Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Hotel San Rafael De Escazu
Apartotel Hotel Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing