We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give this property higher than excellent?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can I give this property higher than excellent?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio are comparable to a Residence Inn ... in that they are designed to provide an apartment, rather than a basic hotel room. Having stayed in both the Escazu Residence Inn and Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio, there is no comparison! The Residence Inn in Escazu is good,,,but

The Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio property has two pools, a play area for children, bar-b-que facilities, and much more, The suites/apartments (and traveling alone, I stayed in one of the smaller units!) are very spacious and well equipped (down to the two wine glasses and bottle of wine on the table!). The breakfast, included with the room, is a typical continental breakfast - eggs/omelets cooked to order are also available. There are several good restaurants within a easy 10 minute walk - or plenty of delivery available.

Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio is located in a very upscale (i.e., safe) area, walking to and from shops and restaurants is safe and easy. Of course, a taxi is only 5 minutes away. Shopping at the Multiplaza, or medical care at CIMA Hospital are only a few minutes away by cab ...or about a pleasant 30 minute walk.

The staff of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio were extremely helpful and friendly - from the desk staff, to the breakfast buffet staff, cleaning staff, and gentlemen on the front gate. Rooms were very clean and neat, and if anything was needed a call to the front desk was all that was needed.

On my next trip, I'll be staying at Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
14
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was on a official trip to Costa Rica and the hotel i stayed in was Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio. Awesome place to stay with fantastic staff of hotel. They were always there for any help you are looking. You just need to tell them your concern or the help you are looking for and they have a solution with them for it. at last i would just say Fantastic and mindblowing people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imayank2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Free breakfast each morning with fruit, cheese, sausage croissants and toasts and cereal. 2 pools, both of which are nice. Plenty of chairs. Hot tub next to the upper pool. They went out of their way to get me anything I asked for. Even the door people were very friendly when I went and came back through the front gate they were always smiling. Room was VERY large. Had a bedroom, 2 bathrooms, separate shower and tub in one bathroom, kitchen stock with utensils and plates, glasses etc... Living room, desk... good location. A USA sports bar is right around the corner and there is a good mexican restaurant out the hotel to the right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We really enjoyed the one night we spent there.
Area around it is great with nice shopping and nice restaurants.
Breakfast is basic and no restaurant and only a bar. You can however order food from all restaurants around.
Large kitchen if you want to cook your on food.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment on ground floor or in front of Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrAbdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed here about 10 times now and love it. We have to go to San Jose at least every couple of months, if not more, and in the last year this has become "our spot". If you have young children, they couldn't be happier with the massive rooms to run around, the pool, the playground, etc.

The location is unbeatable, in the middle of all of the areas we tend to be: Santa Ana, LaSabana, Escazu...And right beside you can find CaffeTorrino, an amazing little Italian deli/restaurant.

The staff at Villas del rio is all very friendly and helpful. The gated parking lot is nice and secure, which is a huge bonus if you're doing a lot of shopping (as you do in SJ!) Wifi signal is nice and strong.

Rates are great (we mostly book on Hotels.com) for what you get. The only minor complaint would be the beds - they are not incredibly comfortable and need to be updated, but otherwise this place is about perfect for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for about a month for a work-related trip, but boy did I fill up my weekends with sightseeing. The staff at the hotel helped me book spots on tours and it was tremendous. I loved this place because of the size of the apartments. I had my own kitchen that I cooked in, wireless reception was good, there was even access to the foodnetwork on tv! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Large, clean, comfortable suites (i had separate bed and living rooms, with two baths). Quiet internal courtyard and parking, convenience item shop on premises, full kitchen, good internet, nice people. Good restaurants nearby, had great Philly cheesesteak at a pub up the hill, cold beer, cheap prices.

Room Tip: If you are senstive to noise at night ask for a room not overlooking the street, normal traffic soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
3.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
1.1 mi away
Casa Reflejos
Casa Reflejos
#2 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Property: Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Address: | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find that at Villas del Ro, your stay will definitely feel a lot closer to home.The furnished apartments and fully equipped kitchens provide everything necessary to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. With daily maid and laundry service, as well as a mini- market with a wide assortment of products.• Apartment-suites with one, two or three bedrooms• Cable TV, air conditioning, voice mail• Meeting room and a free 24 hour internet service• 2 swimming pools (1 heated), Jacuzzi and playground• Extensive gardens and designated pet areas• BarAt Villas del Río they take good care of the guest. The strict security measures and surveillance guarantee that your stay will be free of worries.• Spacious FREE private parking• 24 hours security• Electronic safe deposit boxesApartotel & Suites Villas del Río has an excellent strategic location for your next business or leisure trip. The elegant and ample apartments with all the modern amenities make you feel at home.• Friendly staff eager to help you 24 hours a day• Additional services and assistance upon request• Easy access to some of the most important shopping and entertainment centers, office buildings, restaurants and other services• Free shuttle service from and to the Airport (24 hours)The various lodging solutions, competitive rates as well as ideal facilities and outstanding services make Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ro one of your best choices in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel And Suites Villas Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Hotel San Rafael De Escazu
Apartotel Hotel Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing