We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for an extended stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for an extended stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this great apartotel.My husband was getting dental work nearby, and we stayed here for Feb.3-17.The staff is so nice,they help in every way.Since my husband was having pain from the dental work, I know the area pretty well, there are so many good restaurants nearby,and the mall also.So this time I didnt get to see the rest of Costa Rica,but will be back in April.I highly recommend Villas del Rio.There is a nice pool, and a mini market.Breakfast is included.They have 1,2,and 3 bedroom suites.All are very large for familes.They have a nice kitchen, if you stay long to heat things up,keep things in the fridge,microwave,etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmmBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
19
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was my wife and I's first trip to Costa Rica (or any developing nation), and we didn't speak a lot of Spanish, so we were a little cautious about where to stay (for security and for ease of navigation).

The hotel was great - they helped us with booking tours, with navigating public transport, getting to and from the airport. Took a lot of the stress out of our visit.

My only critique would be that the breakfast is totally western - no traditional Costa Rican food!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A.Duckson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We love this place. The one bedroom apartments are a great deal. We used hotels.com to get a price under $100+taxes. It is 10 minutes walking to a grocery, pharmacy, beer, and several dining areas. It is within a block of the American Embassy. The hot tub and pool are great and never crowded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dub1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I just came back from Costa Rica.The first part of my trip-4 days, I stayed at Villas del Rio.The apartment had everything,including a kitchen.Theres a really nice heated pool,a mini market,& breakfast is included.The staff is reaally nice,Christina at the front desk especially.Mostly families there,and you can even bring your dog.I will come back again,and bring my dog Ziggy,I'm sure he'll like it too.The only reason I left was to tour the rest of the country

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank lmmBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

This place is highly recommendable for its very good service, friendly staff, good installations, big suites, warm pools, fresh croissants and fruits/juices of all different kinds

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NilsEmmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

After reading many bad things about staying in San Jose we decided to stay at the del Rio in the suburb of Escazu. A very good experience.

They provided a smooth airport pickup. Initially we were given a noisy suite too near a busy road. When we respectfully asked for a change we were given a quieter & upgraded suite. During our entire stay the service was friendly & more than we expected.

Our suite was very nicely decorated with solid wood trim, wood floors, & tile floors. It had many windows with a garden view. We used the fully equipped kitchen & free WIFI daily.
There is a laundry room were guests can wash clothes.

There was a good sized pool & jacuzzi which never seemed crowded. The workout room was a good size with wall mirrors & a good selection of free weights & machines.

Since city buses pass in front of the hotel we decided not to rent a car until we left the city.
We took buses to museums, the National Theater, & other city attractions. 1 day, with only 1 connection we took buses to Alajuela.

My favorite part of the filling buffet breakfast was choosing the gourmet coffee.

I speak fairly fluent Spanish & my wife speaks Spanish with a cute accent so this may have helped our stay be so smooth & nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

A wonderfull place to come for holidays or business.
The rooms are big with a lot of lights and all the facilities that you need.
I've passed 9 days in this place and it's really one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelzeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
2.7 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.1 mi away
Casa Reflejos
Casa Reflejos
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio

Property: Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio
Address: | P.O. Box 1188-1007, San Rafael de Escazu 1188-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find that at Villas del Ro, your stay will definitely feel a lot closer to home.The furnished apartments and fully equipped kitchens provide everything necessary to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable. With daily maid and laundry service, as well as a mini- market with a wide assortment of products.• Apartment-suites with one, two or three bedrooms• Cable TV, air conditioning, voice mail• Meeting room and a free 24 hour internet service• 2 swimming pools (1 heated), Jacuzzi and playground• Extensive gardens and designated pet areas• BarAt Villas del Río they take good care of the guest. The strict security measures and surveillance guarantee that your stay will be free of worries.• Spacious FREE private parking• 24 hours security• Electronic safe deposit boxesApartotel & Suites Villas del Río has an excellent strategic location for your next business or leisure trip. The elegant and ample apartments with all the modern amenities make you feel at home.• Friendly staff eager to help you 24 hours a day• Additional services and assistance upon request• Easy access to some of the most important shopping and entertainment centers, office buildings, restaurants and other services• Free shuttle service from and to the Airport (24 hours)The various lodging solutions, competitive rates as well as ideal facilities and outstanding services make Apartotel & Suites Villas del Ro one of your best choices in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Hotel San Rafael De Escazu
Apartotel And Suites Villas Del Rio
Apartotel Hotel Del Rio
Apartotel & Suites Villas Del Rio Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing