We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B Jewel in Costa Rica”
Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de las Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We just returned from a memorable trip to Costa Rica, celebrating my husband's 60th birthday, during which we stayed at a beautifully appointed and delightful Bed and Breakfast: Casa de las Tias. We highly recommend it to people visiting San Jose, as well as a home-base for other stops around Costa Rica. Located just outside of the busy capital of San Jose in Escazu, Casa de las Tias was just the right lovely, quiet, home away from home for my husband, two children (24 yrs. and 21 yrs.) and I. The owners, Pilar Saavedra-Vela and Xavier Vela, were very interesting people, and genuinely friendly and gracious hosts. No detail was over-looked in making sure that we and their other guests were happy and comfortable. The beautiful wood home is filled with lovely artwork and momentos from the Vela's many travels, and rooms were accented with fresh flowers throughout. The breakfasts were freshly made and exceptionally delicious each day, and we ate outside on a patio which allowed us to look out at their beautiful gardens, and to see and hear the local birds as well. Evenings might find the hosts and guests sitting on the lovely tiled front porch on comfortable wicker furniture, sharing the day's exciting activiities and a little happy hour. The Vela's were also very helpful in recommending restaurants for dinner, activities, (white water rafting, etc.), both in and around San Jose, as well as suggesting excursions to the beaches and mountains. Exceptional place to stay; we loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vacationerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2007

At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac - an enchanting home / inn- close to great restaurants and conveniently located. Perfect breakfast & attentive hosts .

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Infinart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim-Cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stuart, Florida
13
Reviewed April 22, 2006

Stayed: December 2004
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenwickRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
11
Reviewed January 15, 2006

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.6 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#7 of 13 in Escazu
200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#3 of 13 in Escazu
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Laurin B&B
Casa Laurin B&B
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
365 reviews
1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Residence Inn by Marriott San Jo...
#1 of 3 in San Rafael de Escazu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range: $86 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Tias 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Tias Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing