We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de las Tias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de las Tias
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A simply perfect escape found by chance! This gem is clean, original, authentic, classy and exquisitly tastefully decorated. Pilar and Xavier are very warm hosts to this lovely home. The impeccable yet homey feel of this B&B is smoothly topped with their attention, genuine frendliness and respect for privacy. We love this place and are already returning guests. Well worth treating yourself if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Every room has a unique theme worth discovering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    33
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this charming B&B for several days in August, 2012. It could well be called "The Oasis". That's what it felt like - Quiet and tranquil but just a 5-minute walk to the hustle and bustle (and noise) of downtown Escasu. Xavier, the owner, was very attentive without being intrusive and very knowledgeable about things local - and could give perspective helpful to "Norte Americanos". His breakfasts were also very good. We found Escasu to be a good base for the day trips we made in the Central Valley area. (Also, there are some very good restaurants in and near the town.) ... All in all, we had an excellent experience at this comfortable and beautifully decorated B&B and would highly recommend it.
Angelika and Harry Y

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Javier and Pilar are wonderful hosts. They seem to genuinely enjoy the hospitality business. They make a great effort to make sure your stay meets your expectations by providing everything from sightseeing and restaurant suggestions to calling (reliable) cabs when needed. Pilar has a very nice garden and I photographed butterflies every morning. The breakfasts were tasty. We met and had interesting conversations with other travelers and shared notes about traveling in CR. Very homey and comfortable. It's a great starting and stopping point for visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The house is nice and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and functional. Wifi works fine and at good speed. Beautiful tropical garden. Javier and Pilar are very friendly hosts.
Breakfast sitting in the garden is a great experience. Javier and Pilar and their staff will serve you abundant breakfast with fresh pressed juice, tropical fruits and eggs accompanied by good bread and good coffee. All in all a nice experinece.
Next time in San José I have no doubts on where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just a perfect little place. Xavier and Pilar are warm and wonderful and the house is quiet, comfortable, accessible and in a nice neighborhood. It's like staying with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

My stay at Casa de las Tias was my first bed and breakfast experience. My daughter and her boyfriend recommended this lovely place to me, after staying there thier first night in Costa Rica in January. Xavier and Pilar were the most lovely people, they made me feel so welcome, and so very helpful with all of my travel arrangements. The property was absouletly breathtaking with all of the beautiful flowers, each morning while eating breakfast on the backyard patio I would see multiple varieties of butterflies and birds. My room was very clean and my balcony view of the gardens and mountains was beautiful. Xavier and Pilar gladly arranged to have a van transport me to the airport at 4:45 am my departure day. My visit to Costa Rica was wonderful and my stay at Casa de las tias was part of the reason! I would highly recommend this beautiful home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

A home away from home! Casa de las Tias offers a welcoming country-like oasis in an urban setting. Xavier and Pilar are most accommodating and provide a friendly and comfortable environment to start or end your CR adventure. The house is simple and enchanting. The surrounding grounds are alive with flowering plants and numerous species of birds. We loved it here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Tias

Property: Casa de las Tias
Address: Apdo 295-1200, San Rafael de Escazu 33102, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de las Tias 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de las Tias is a sprawling Victorian-style house set on a 2,300m.Estate in the charming town of San Rafael de Escaza, just 10 minutes from San Jose. The airy cedar house is unique; each room decorated with original art from various Latin American countries, and featuring private bath and ceiling fan. Within a block, visitors can enjoy a wide choice of fine restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa de las Tias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Tias Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing