We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de las Tias
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos(San Rafael de Escazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel & Suites Villas del Rio(San Rafael de Escazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu(San Rafael de Escazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Escazu(San Rafael de Escazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
318
36
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
36
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchtucked awaywonderful hostsbeautiful gardencharming b bsan josecosta ricadelicious breakfastbusy citybalcony roomegg disheslovely homean oasishome away from homeother gueststwo nightspura vida
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 358 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I almost don't want to tell anyone about this place because I don't want it to get overbooked! Xavier is the worlds best host and the atmosphere and location are great. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast. You meet the most interesting people here.

Room Tip: The balcony room is heavenly
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Wow! My wife and I have travelled extensively and love to find places that are off the beaten path that provide high-quality rooms and service. Casa de Las Tias undoubtedly fits the bill. The house is an old, wooden house that reminds me of the Hemingway house in Key West. The shiplap walls are painted with bright, cheerful colors and are decorated with the many unique pieces of art that have been collected by the owners, Javier and Pilar, over the years. Upon our arrival, Javier greeted us with a smile, showed me where the serve-yourself fridge is that houses ice-cold Cokes and Imperials for a $1. Yes, a $1! Then he took us to our first-floor room complete with a wonderfully-comfortable King-size bed, large closet, and simple-but-efficient bathroom. After enjoying an ice-cold beverage on the cool, breezy, tranquil porch we enjoyed a delicious Italian meal within walking distance of the house, walked home, and then slept peacefully in our comfortable room until morning. Breakfast was provided, and we were treated with the company of Pilar and her sister, who was visiting from the US. We enjoyed a delicious, home-cooked breakfast in the butterfly garden while sharing stories and experiences with these cheerful and vivacious women.

We left Casa de Las Tias with 3 new friends, better than when we arrived, and we decided that we must return. Needless to say, this place is a no-brainer, and is to be enjoyed without small children due to the tranquil nature of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbaldwin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Casa de las Tias is an excellent bed and breakfast. Pilar and Xavier (the couple who owns it) are wonderful people, and the place has a very homely feel. The complementary breakfast was delicious, and when I had to leave early one morning they cooked much earlier than usual. They are very helpful and flexible in this and many other respects. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The look of the house make pleasure at the first view. The quietness of the surroundings allows a good relaxation. The rooms are in very good conditions although they are not to big. The "chiefs" Xavier and Pilar are corteous and are very anxious, that the guests feel well. The good breakfast can be taken on a little terrace in the garden.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and in good condition, although not very big. The best seems to be the
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was a last minute reservation - we were treated very well, the house is beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet, really enjoyed breakfast the next morning in the garden. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews