We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Laurin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Laurin B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We used Casa Laurin as our base while visiting Costa Rica and it was perfect in every respect. Ginette runs an efficient B&B that is warm, hospitable and very homely. She has all the contacts within the country and helped us out with ideas, recommendations and reservations. Our kids felt at home and enjoyed their time at home away from home....

Centrally located it makes moving around San Jose and getting to the airport or out sight seeing easy.

Will recommend this to all our friends and family in Kenya & the UK to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
142
57
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Been to Casa Laurin 5 times, feels like a second home. Close to Multiplaza and easy access to highway. Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
Ginette takes very good care of her B&B and her guests.
Breakfast is great with good choices on the menu.

Room Tip: Private bath is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a frequent business traveler and traditionally stay in hotels so when I had a recommendation to try this B&B, I was a little hesitant. I was so pleasantly surprised and happy I stayed there. Ginette was so engaging and inviting and her home so easy to be both social and private (a difficult combination to provide). I was gratefull for the knowledge, assistance and great friendship I found there and hope to go back soon. I enjoyed the neighborhood, the ease of getting around and being encouraged to ask any questions (and I sure did).

Room Tip: I stayed in the "shared bathroom" area (share with one other room) and still had privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I found Casa Laurin on the Internet when looking for a place to stay in Escazu at the end of my trip. The reviews on Tripadvisor were excellent and so was my experience. The landlord, Ginette, has been so helpful with everything, the mountain view was excellent and the company of Ginette and other guests does not make you feel lonely in big San Jose. Thanks for a wonderful stay! I will highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanga, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I are locals and had business in San Jose, Casa Laurin is very convenient to many things in the area and easy to get to from the hwy. Also within walking distance to food and shopping. Her neighborhood is clean and safe. Her place is just like home and she makes you feel at home, comfy beds, good food, spacious rooms and common areas, and even 2 nice dogs! We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at Casa Laurin, and hope to return again!! I can't possibly say enough good things about Casa Laurin and it"s owner Ginette. If you are Going to San Jose or the Escazu area, you can't find a better place to stay The B&B is wonderful, but without Ginette it would only be a very clean and comfortable house with a lovely pool, and a convinent location. Ginette will help you with anything you might need,tours transportation, food, the language barrier, the works!! Not only will see to your every need....she does it with a big heart and a beautiful smile!!
Like the title of this review,this was the second stay for my husband and I at Casa Laurin. I had dental work in Feb. and went back in July for the final treatment, and we would not have considered staying anywhere else. Not only that but we hope to return to Costa Rica some day just for fun, and our trip would not be complete without a stay at Casa Laurin.

We took a side trip to Manuel Antionio, that Ginette arranged for us, and had a great time. Traveling in a foreign country is easy when you have someone like Ginette making all the arrangements for you. Beautiful as that trip was, we were both happy to get back to Ginette!!!!

Looking forward to seeing Ginette and Casa Laurin again someday.

If you are a breakfast person Ginettte and her staff have that well in hand. Great coffee,omelets pancakes oatmeal smoothies anything you ask for made just for you. As you can tell from this review....we HIGHLY reccomend CASA LAURIN!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Laurin. My husband and I enjoyed Ginette's hospitality. She was very helpful, from planning our airport transportations, recommending wonderful restaurants, cooking us a wonderful breakfast, and even making us coffee and breakfast to go for our very early morning flight. The bed and breakfast was so peaceful, and very clean. We slept peacefully both nights. There is also plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Thank you so very much Ginette, we look forward to staying at Casa Laurin again when we are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feelingsappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael de Escazu
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laurin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laurin B&B

Property: Casa Laurin B&B
Address: # 132 Avenida Nogal | Trejos Montealegre, San Rafael de Escazu 10203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Rafael de Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael de Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA LAURIN, A NATURE OASIS IN THE CITY !!! A beautiful and cozy 5-bedroom Costarican home with large common areas, a swimming pool and a rancho with Bar-B-Q. You will enjoy life in this upscale suburb of San Jose, being within walking distance of public transportation and all conveniences which travelers are looking for. Our philosophy is simple: We care and we give more than is expected. Our commitment is to provide a worry-free and most enjoyable time in beautiful Costa Rica giving our guests the attention that they deserve and the privacy that they want. We are focused on personalized service, total comfort and the safety of our guests, who have selected us as #1 in San Rafael de Escazu on Trip Advisor. In 2015, for the third year in a row, we were honored to receive the Travelers' Choice Award as one of the Top 25 B&Bs and Inns in Central America. Many of our guests choose us because they can walk to the IMAX theater, CIMA hospital, Avenida Escazu with its famous restaurants, Plaza Itzkatzu, MultiPlaza, the largest shopping center in Costa Rica, and six top rated dental clinics. A short cab ride which we arrange for them will take them anywhere they need to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Laurin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Laurin B&B Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing