We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the bare essential hotel for the location. Cheap, close to everything. Nothing to write home about. Noisy and dirty. I don't think anyone will confuse this place with the ritz carlton any time soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

I've stayed here many times beginning when it was the Hotel Amstel and had a really good restaurant. The casino has replaced the restaurant. The new bar / restaurant on the second floor is ok for coffee and breakfast. When the music is blasting Friday and Saturday night rooms on the second floor will be noisy. They seem to have some plumbing issues. I have had to change rooms twice because of a broken pipe (once in my room and once in an adjoining room). I would not let them book a tour for me again but I have not had a problem with the staff. I have witnessed a couple of guests verbally abusing the staff. The wireless bandwidth is not adequate when the hotel is full but there are coffee shops and bars nearby with free wireless.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are less noisy than the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was very dissappointed when after a 6 hour bus ride from El Coco I took a taxi to the Morazan that my friend booked for 2 day stay... I get to hotel at 7:00 PM they tell me that the hotel booked us both a different hotels.. that was the coldest day for me.. I always stay at Morazan .. but , this time they needed the rooms for short time for the hookers downtown.. U see there was a soccer match that night & the hotel was booked... So lets screw the Gringos.. & place them some where else.. Sad .Find a Different Hotel...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Unomas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've stayed in the Morazan at least 20 times. I've kind of put up with the old tv's, the remote control that doesn't work, the wet air coming out of the AC, the stains on the carpet, the burnt cigarette holes in the sheets, the tired red boring furniture, the annoying bell boy Ricky, the emotionless staff at the front desk, and last but not least the HORRIFIC internet service. But this time, i have had enough. In the 10 years i've been going to this hotel, they haven't changed a dang thing! Same TV's, same sheets, same carpet, same everything! THis hotel is stuck in the 80's. The bell boy Ricky was SUPER rude to me and my brother as we pulled up. He wouldn't let my brother park in front of the hotel to unload my bags. He said that space is for ambulance's only. In 10 years i've been going there, i have yet to see one ambulance in the city, let alone in front of this dang hotel!!! This hotel needs to upgrade big time. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: The only good room is the penthouse on the top floor. but be ready to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As its been said by others, its location is in the heart of the entertainment district so don't expect to turn in early for a good nights sleep till 3am. Rooms were dated but very clean and staff were very nice (tip, tip, tip) gets you top priority service. Doesn't matter what room location you get its a party street area whether you stay on the back side and listen to music from Key largo or the front and listen to the bars on that side as well as car horns, motorcycles and trucks down shifting there is no quite time. Breakfast was good, hot water plentiful, safe secure. Would be a nice hotel for open minded couples w/o children whom like to party as well. It has issues but won't stop me from staying again. One suggestion if you want to turn in early get loaded early and you will have a good nights sleep, or stay in a hotel out side of San Jose. I would say its a three star + hotel and a short walk to Delray. Price was right so go out and party, hit the casino, or take a tour during the day.

Room Tip: Room with two beds are larger rooms if you want space. There are no quite rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 428Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a nice little hotel in the heart of the "entertainment district ", it's not the Taj Mahal, so don't expect that when you go. I liked it and I would stay there again, the staff was nice, friendly and helpful, the rooms are small but comfortable, but Mr. Easy doesn't need much, there is free breakfast in the mornings and located just a couple of blocks, I believe, south on 7th street is a large promenade for shopping, and if you're homesick for Mickey D's or Burger king, they are located on the promenade along with other eateries. Note, this is a hotel more suited for single guys not families. It's not an area you want to wander around alone at night, but then where is nowadays? The hotel itself is very safe, there are safes in the rooms and there is security in the building at all times. One last thing, if you want to take a hot shower, just get up earlier than anyone else in the mornings or go to bed late at night, I easy. :-) The hotel is what it is, and for what it is, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrEasy724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Morazan twice and I'll be there again this Halloween. I always ask for a room on the third floor or higher. Usually they are very accommodating. Rooms are usually about fifty bucks, but this includes a very filling breakfast featuring 2 eggs to order, ham or bacon, toast, hash browns, fruit juice and coffee. That's easily a ten dollar saving. Also, all the rooms are reserved for two people, so that guest you bring up in the afternoon or evening is at no cost, a saving of fifteen to twenty five dollars. The Morazan is just a block away from the Del Rey Casino/Hotel which features some of the most beautiful women I've ever seen. If you have a problem with noise from the street or from the Key Largo Club next door, tune your TV to a non-broadcasting station and turn up the volume. The "white noise" will allow you to sleep restfully. See you in October; I'll be the Victorian Vampire.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#20 of 78 in San Jose
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
1.5 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morazan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morazan Hotel & Casino

Address: 1st Avenue & 7th Street | 75 meters South from the Morazán Park kiosc, San José, Costa Rica, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morazan Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jose, Costa Rica's capital city, is the ever–growing center of the country's urban lifestyle, and Morazan Hotel & Casino is right at the heart of it all. Whether you're looking to visit the city's landmarks, such as the National Theatre, learn about Costa Rican art, culture or history in one of our many museums, including the National and Jade Museums filled with wondrous pieces of aboriginal heritage, partake on business activities in one of the thousands of companies and institutions allocated in San Jose, enjoy the local and international gastronomy or simply have a good time making part of the city's nightlife, this is the place to be. At Morazan you don't stay with strangers, you visit friends, and we are always happy to do anything in our reach to make sure you have a wonderful time at our hotel. Whether you're here for a vacation, just spending one night or simply to enjoy a meal at Tropical Sport Bar & Restaurant, there will always be a smile waiting for you. 20 flat screen TVs and premium satellite cable let you enjoy all the major sports events at our Sport Bar & Restaurant, from the thrill of the Super Bowl to the adrenaline of a UFC fight, our delicious menu is the perfect companion for a perfect evening. Are you feeling lucky? Casino Tropical on our main floor is open 24/7 to let you test your luck in our variety of slot machines and card games, so you can win big without ever even leaving the building. With the friendliest staff in San Jose and one of the best menus for a casino of its class, the biggest risk you take is wanting to move in with us permanently. Contact us to learn more about our personalized services for groups or businesses, such as special meal plans, a fully equipped conference room, an upcoming business center and much more. We can't wait for you to visit us, so make your reservation now! Morazan. More than a client, a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Morazan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Morazan Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing