We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little corner of Buenos Aires in San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Esquina de Buenos Aires

La Esquina de Buenos Aires
Ranked #3 of 589 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little corner of Buenos Aires in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Very centrally located this is a great restaurant to go to with friends. Perhaps not for a romantic meal as it is quite small and can get noisy, particularly with Happy Birthday often ringing out in various languages. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. Food is a mix of typical Argentine and some pasta dishes. Don't come here if you are vegetarian! Steak was superb and the Empanadas very authentic.

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,234
    449
    107
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Argentinian Steak House in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here after going to the gold museum in the city square. It's just a couple of short blocks walk and very historic and quaint. Service was excellent and the food was interesting. I had the Lasagna and my friend had beef. The parilladas our neighbors had were especially wonderful looking. Extensive wine list, mainly south American.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow... Great place for meatlovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well, the reviews on tripadvisor are definitely not lying. This is the best place I have been to in San José. If you love lots of meat, this is the place to go. I had a 14oz steak with some salad and an excellent glass of wine. Don't go for any of the highbrow wines, the house wine will do: it's just great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent Argentine Parilla in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is just like a Parilla (steak house) in Buenos Aires, where we spend a lot of time. Everything about it is authentic from the Tango music in the background to wine list full of Argentine wines. The grilled meats are very good, although the beef is not from Argentina. You do need a reservation at this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
150 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Take a ride to buenos aires...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I always feel like im in Buenos Aires when i eat here. The food is incredible and atmosphere to match. Be careful on going days the Argentine soccer team losses. Besides that a must on your favorite list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vatsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina de Buenos Aires also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Esquina de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing