We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Argentinian cuts”

La Esquina de Buenos Aires
Ranked #3 of 648 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Argentinian cuts”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the best steakhouse in the country! It is Argentinian style cuts, all are wonderful. The place gets crowded so it's better to make a reservation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mopebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    485
    111
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Congrats!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Extraordinary Argentine Cuisine!! I am from Argentina and I happened to enjoy the food and service of this cozy and classy place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarioNtaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crowdy but good at the end”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you want to go for a romantic dinner forget it : crowdy !
Otherwise iit ' s a pure argentino.
We took the argentina's plate to start : Might have been a little bit tasty we were a little bit disappointed. It could have been better.
Afterwhile we took two argentina's mealt :
- One was like there tasty, juicy and excellent :like there
- The other one was so so : : not tender enough for argentina's
We had a norton malbec with this : excellent as usual !
The service was good and carefull.
At the end a good meal but it could have more tasty for an argentina's one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_vinceParis_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a great find! The place has the right mix of ambience and flair to remind you of a real Buenos Aires restaurant. The place was buzzing when I went, and it was obvious the customers were enjoying the experience. Very friendly and accommodating staff. They have an extensive wine list and the food was probably the best I had in San Jose. Just one caution...when ordering "imported" beef, be aware it is from the USA and not Argentina! But nonetheless highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rivals food anywhere”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our meal and the incredibly friendly and helpful Walter were both superb. My boyfriend ordered 2 cuts of grilled beef, which Walter recommended and it was delicious. But, it was my pork tenderloin in a balsamic vinegar sauce with green apples, prunes and potatoes au gratin that stole the show.
Our only regret was that we couldn't eat everything and were unable to take it back to the hotel for dinner the next night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_NYC0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina de Buenos Aires also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Esquina de Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing