We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great looking place”

Restaurante Nuestra Tierra
Ranked #92 of 603 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great looking place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is nicely decorated. A good selection of dishes, the prices are the same as elsewhere.

The fish dishes are the best.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lubthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    161
    139
    80
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Make sure they do not overcharge you”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our hostel manager highly recommended this dive, so we tried it out. The decor was interesting, with the ceiling covered with hanging strings of chipped porcelain-covered mugs, and a couple bunches of overripe bananas.

After a look at the prices on the menu, we only had a fruit smoothie. The taste was fine but the bill showed a price higher than the menu. When I pointed this out, it took five minutes for the office manager to correct the bill. Oh, they also added 13% to the bill for service, so factor that in if you feel like tipping.

I would not return to this tourist trap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An overpriced and touristy restaurant shack in San Jose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Offers Costa Rican fare, but outright touristy and expensive. Food was average and overpriced. Ordered a Surf and Turf that cost over $30. Service was slacking and it wasn't even busy yet. The bill includes gratuity charges already so don't be fooled into tipping twice. After a dinner with poor service, the waiter had the nerve to ask for more tip!
Restaurant itself looks like a shack in the city. Could have done better somewhere else. Don't recommend at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatnlParkFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good, and nice enviornment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I always make my way to the Nuestra Tierra whenever i'm in the SJ area. Great food, great presentation and nice big picnic type tables to eat on.
Only thing i don't like about this place is that it's all male servers! What is up with that? Why not hire women to serve? I personally like to be served by women instead of men.

The location isn't bad. There is a nice place across the street to do some shopping for Costa Rican trinkets such as shot glasses and towels.

I once brought a group of me in here, 7 of them to be exact, and i received a commison from the restaurant for this. Keep that in mind!
Good food, good fish, descent service

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“My First Costa Rican Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

During our city tour in San Jose we were taken to Restaurante Nuestra Tierra on Calle 15 and Avenida 2. This was our first try at Costa Rican food, and we were not disappointed. The place was bustling at the height of the lunch hour with customers ordering various Casados, while live and loud marimba music played in the background. We ordered fruit drinks and fish Casado that included white fish, Gallo Pinto, fried plantains, curried potatoes and salad greens. While our guava drinks were too sweet, the fish was too dry and cold. The other items were passable. A dessert of rice milk was too sweet in taste and too loose in texture.

We found Nuestra Tierra a good and accommodating restaurant for our first try at Costa Rican food. We also noted a strange group of people at the table next to us that were using their backpacks and table for sleeping in the middle of all this action.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Nuestra Tierra also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Nuestra Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing