We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mundo

Cafe Mundo
Ranked #14 of 501 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $400
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Neat little place out of the way. Really good sea bass and desserts were outstanding. Get the triple mouse. Friendly staff

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olsonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    250
    94
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food - good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The cafe is tucked away in a little street away from the main road and is easy to miss.
The cafe has a great ambience, good food and good service. The outdoor seating deck/terrace is a nice place to hang out and eat dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cafe Mundo is an "old house / garden setting" restaurant, maybe a 10 minute walk from Parque Marazon. They bring delicious breads as you arrive, excellent wine is available by the glass, and main course meals include good pasta dishes, beef and seafood. I have enjoyed the personalities of the waitresses, and they know the food well. Desserts are definitely a high point. The managers are customer-oriented --- once I ordered a martini, it came tasting strangely, I spoke to the manager and he brought a good one and told me, "I tasted the first one after I took it back, and you were right, it was a mistake." This sort of service and honesty isn't common, I think. My wife and I eat here every time we visit San Jose. I haven't eaten the pizza, but it looked good. I was at this restaurant at lunch time, just to make a reservation, and the sunlight made it look really beautiful --- we plan to have lunch there in a few weeks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant a short walk from Hotel Don Carlos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Simple and safe at all hours to walk, just a couple blocks up Avenida 9 past embassies, from Hotel Don Carlos. Fantastic atmosphere, both in and out, spilling into the garden courtyard. Full of local academics and hipsters, bustling and fun every time we've come, but with room for us to be seated right away. Evening is especially nice. Inside is great, outside is maybe better. The big windows are usually wide open so, wherever you are, you get the general liveliness of the place. Good food and drinks. Reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This pizza and pasta joint is not full of traditional fare, but the food is plentiful and fairly priced, and the shady, outdoor seating makes for a very pleasant meal on a hot evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank candace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mundo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Cafe Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing