We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good French Food in a Lovely, Stately Hotel.”

Restaurante Grano de Oro
Ranked #2 of 620 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Latin, European, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Grano de Oro merges Costa Rican tropical with European cuisine under the expertise of our French chef Francis Canal. Once a simple cafe, this restaurant has evolved into one of San Jose’s finest dining establishments, frequented by locals and tourists alike.Specialty cocktails, classically presented dishes and delicious desserts are served in the charming ambiance of a magnificent period home with an elegant inner courtyard. The bilingual wait staff provides professional and friendly service. Service is offered throughout the day from 7 am to 10 pm. Restaurant, patio and bar are non-smoking
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good French Food in a Lovely, Stately Hotel.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel has an open courtyard right in the middle, but it rained so we could not sit outside. I went with four other folks from the tour bus. We all said the meal was excellent. Service was a little spotty. House wine was perfect. I had an appetizer of Porcini mushrooms and Roquefort Brulee. Ummm, delicious. My entre was Costa Rican sea bass encrusted in Macadamia nuts. That too was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertaG4708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    305
    72
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not excellent”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just come back from San Jose, where I took my family to Grano de Oro restaurant.
It was not my first visit: we stayed before in the hotel and had both breakfast and dinner at the restaurant.

Obviously, it is the restaurant for special occasions (when you want to impress somebody) with "New York" prices. Both the decor and atmosphere are beautiful; the courtyard is excellent to have breakfast when the weather is good.

On both occasions I was impressed by the level of service, which was of a very high standard.

I cannot say the same about the food. First, good things. Their small buns and trio of different butters are a pure delight - so fresh and tasty. Wine list is extensive with good selection. The winner is a duck breast , which was cooked to the perfection (duck is my favorite meat, I cook it myself, so can appreciate real quality). One person from our party had beef tenderloin, and apparently it was good as well.

However, we had two real disappointments. First one was a really expensive appetizer for what it was - Costa Rican snails in some strange green sauce. The portion was tiny, snails did not taste like snails at all (we know the taste of good snails). So, my advise - don't order this dish to avoid a real disappointment. Second huge disappointment was the leg of rabbit ordered by my son. I cook rabbit myself and very often, and the whole family loves this dish. Grano de Oro rabbit does not
taste like a rabbit, it taste like some sort of smoked pork. So, half of the portion was left untouched.

Forgot to mention champagne pâté as another appetizer we had - it was very ordinary.

We did not have any desert as we were too full (two helpings of these tasty buns contributed to it).
At the end, the bill was US$ 170.00 for two small appetizer, 3 main courses and a bottle of wine.

Will we come back? Most likely, not in the nearest future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank olga9139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
196 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but pricy”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved the food we ordered. It was a bit she she foo foo as far as style and quantity and certainly a bit spendy. To save $ we skipped alcohol but it was still expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lomunchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel in the Middle of San Jose”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been going here for years. I used to go here before they remodeled during the 90's and can say that it was always a good meal. The mushroom pastry appetizer was always a treat and the gorgonzola filet mignon was a favorite of my travel buddy. The atmosphere since they remodeled is second to none. They have stained glass (from local artist Silvia Laks) that melds into the dark hand carved wood decor. It is unpretentious but at the same time conveys an "old world" feeling as though you are in a formal 1920's dining room. The only reason that I did not give five stars as I feel that the food quality slipped (a bit) when they remodeled (I know...typical). That being said, the service is impeccable (one of the waiters still remembers me even though I would only dine there every year) and there are many things on the menu that taste the same (blackberry margaritas anyone???). I love eating here for breakfast as the courtyard, laden with bromeliads and ornate heliconia flower decorations, teems with birds and butterflies (perhaps seeking refuge from the concrete, spartan surrounding neighborhood). The eggs benedict goes down quite nicely with the fresh fruit juice that is complimentary to the meal. Check out the gift shop for tasteful local (slightly overpriced) fare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor we were led to try this restaurant one weekday evening while in Costa Rica. The dining room is beautiful and the service was very attentive. We all enjoyed three courses and found menu entrees for everyone from - rabbit to fresh fish and pasta entrees. The desserts were well worth the extra calories. I would definitely visit there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Grano de Oro also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Grano de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing