We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Restaurant in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Grano de Oro

Restaurante Grano de Oro
Ranked #2 of 513 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Latin, European, Central American, Costa Rican, Gluten Free Options, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Grano de Oro merges Costa Rican tropical with European cuisine under the expertise of our French chef Francis Canal. Once a simple cafe, this restaurant has evolved into one of San Jose’s finest dining establishments, frequented by locals and tourists alike.Specialty cocktails, classically presented dishes and delicious desserts are served in the charming ambiance of a magnificent period home with an elegant inner courtyard. The bilingual wait staff provides professional and friendly service. Service is offered throughout the day from 7 am to 10 pm. Restaurant, patio and bar are non-smoking
New York NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were a group of 4, each of us ordered a different appetizer, main dish and dessert. EVERY single dish was flat out delicious. It was so good that we came back the next day.

The restaurant and hotel is very elegant and formal. The beautiful tropical fresh flowers, the decor and ambiance, and of course, the visual delight on the plate with its robust taste and delightful textures make this place worthy of a top notch restaurant in New York or Paris. It was a pleasure to find a place like this in Costa Rica (which is gastronomically pleasurable, surprisingly). Even though this was the most expensive place we ate, paying 30$ for perfectly cooked tenderloin is a bargain in New York, and anywhere else food of this quality is normally served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nytravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    256
    58
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a restaurant placed inside the Boutique Hotel with the same name, Grano de Oro, and it is located downtown San Jose, its restaurant. It has an internal patio, and the restaurant is around it. You can eat either in the patio, or inside. There is a section with tables for too looking to the patio, my favourite ones.

The décor is so nice, the hotel has the look of a hotel in the French Quarter in New Orleans. Chairs and fabrics are very classy. The chef is a French gentleman who flew around the world, but fell in love with a Tica, so he decided to stay. He grows all his veggies in his farm.

The menu is short, but very well assorted. It has from fancy main courses like rabbit with a reduction on red wine sauce, to veggie sandwich. All amazing!!! But for me the reason that made me keep going is their signature dessert Pie Grano de Oro. I am a chocoholic, if it is not chocolate hmmm I think it twice, but this creamy coffee crunchy crust dessert is one of the most delicate and tasty thing I have ever try in my life.

As expected being in a fancy boutique hotel, all frenched up, and good decoration, it is a little bit pricy for Costa Rica’s standard, but it is worthy all the way! You will not regret it, I promise.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bett76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurante Grano de Oro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was delicious! Eat in the garden or the formal dining room. It is not to be missed! You will not be disappointed! The atmosphere, ambiance, charm, and service are not to be ignored either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diving_Duo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Golden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was fantastic. Truly quality to any top world class restaurant. High class. Expensive but well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffreydcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unmatched Food, Atmosphere, and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Grano de Oro is simply THE place to eat in Costa Rica. My wife and I frequently travel to San Jose (multiple times a year) and each time we are there we make every effort possible to eat at this restaurant as many times as we can. The atmosphere is incredible. It is the perfect mix of regal elegance and comfort. The staff are wonderful, friendly, and always do a great job ensuring that our experience is flawless. Over the years, many of the staff have even started to feel like family to us. But that isn't the main reason we keep coming back. It's for the food. The food at Grano de Oro is unmatched. We have enjoyed nearly every dish on their remarkably diverse menu and almost always find ourselves telling each other "that was the best meal I've ever had!" For me, the standouts are the Pato con Higo Caramelizado (duck), the Cerdo en Salsa Tamarindo (pork) and the pastas. I don't know how they do it, but when you taste the pasta you would swear that you were in Italy. I am convinced they have a sweet, little old Italian grandmother hiding somewhere in the kitchen! My wife's favorite is the Cordero y Menta (lamb), and like me, she also loves the duck. The appetizers and desserts are all fantastic, with the Salmón a la Vainilla and the Crème Brûlée deserving special mention. As for cost, I have found the prices to be very reasonable. I am a big believer in "you get what you pay for", and when what you're getting is the best meal you've ever had time and time again, it is worth every penny. All in all, I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. If you are planning a trip to this beautiful country, make sure you make room in your plans for a night (or every night!) at Grano de Oro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Grano de Oro also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Restaurante Grano de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing