We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic atmosfere even for an Asian. Cute children menu, creative!”
Review of Tin Jo

Tin Jo
Ranked #7 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our mission is to serve delicious, healthy food in an environment that is conducive to sharing and caring. We believe that food should nourish us physically, emotionally and spiritually. Our dishes are inspired from Asian countries: China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Thailand. We have an extensive vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu. Our Asian themed rooms gather together all the art work we have collected as well as those created by closed friends and frequent diners. Tin Jo is our third child and we are very involved owners. We love to interact with you, our customers and it is our sincere wish that your visit to our restaurant satisfies not only your senses but also uplifts your spirit. With Gratitude,Maria Hon and Robert Faulstich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Exotic atmosfere even for an Asian. Cute children menu, creative!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It looks so ordinary from outside, but inside the atmosfere is surprisingly.... Latin Asian blend.... With special art and paintings..

There is a separate hall that has kids toy playard with day light ceiling, the kid menu was funny and creative, the food was not so salty so its ok for kids. My 1 year old baby and friends 4 and 6 year old kid played peacefully along other babies and kids, the toys dont seem very clean, but I see other parents let the babies play, so let mine go too.

They have special beverages with exotic blends, we tried jasmin tea with passion fruit and tamarindo with hierbabuena... A tropical food with herbs and mint leaf, exotic flavor.

WARNING: changing table need a fix, it almost fall down. Hope they have it fixed

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thanksworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Thanksworld,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our restaurant.
We are very grateful also for the note you left us regarding the baby changing table. My husband, Robert is the carpenter/wood worker of the Tin Jo and he intermediately fixed it. Thanks also for your comment about the cleanliness of the toys. We wash them weekly. However, they may need to be cleaned more frequently. I will personally be on top of this.
It is through thoughtful comments like yours that we find out what needs fixing. So we are very appreciative for this.

Thank you again for your note and your review at Trip Advisor.

In gratitude,
maria Hon
co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    427
    142
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis in a desert”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you don't now by now, Central America notorious for bland food. This brilliant Asian resturant serves very tasty dishes in a great atmosphere. The staff are all bi-lingual and the manager/owner will come around and greet you.

The menu itself is 'multi-asian' with dishes from mainly China, Thailand, and Japan; but unlike most places that serve 'asian' food; they do each area justice.

A 3 course meal, plus cocktail and desert wine set me back c21900; about $42. You could easily go for a main and drink, and be satisfied, for under c10000.

As an aside, a lot of nice restaurants in San Jose are not very solo friendly, forcing you to sit at the bar to eat, or simply denying you a table if you refuse. Tin Jo greeted me with a smile and gave me a table without question.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Symon-von-Vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find in Downtown San Jose”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great little restaurant. Best asian food we have had in Costa Rica. Good variety of foods on the menu, not just Chinese. They serve Japanese, Thai, a few recipes with curry. Small portions though. Ambiance was great! A family owned business with a very cool story. Check out all the dining rooms, each is different. There is even a large room for big parties.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TxParrothead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My boyfriend took me for a date to Tin Jo, he knows i love asian! Very occidental look, It certainly had a really nice feeling to it and the decorations were very Asian. The food was really good along with the quantity. The location was really nice and close from the heart of the city. The service was good and quick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielasuarez208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Asian food in downtown San José”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

San José counts with numerous sushi restaurants, but only a few which serve Asian food - their menu is a mixture of dishes from China, Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam and other countries. This place gets very crowded in weekends, so reservations are required.
Decent prices compared to other restaurants in San Jose. Although the location is not the best, the food & service make up for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Jo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tin Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing