We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Surprise”
Review of Tin Jo

Tin Jo
Ranked #17 of 736 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our mission is to serve delicious, healthy food in an environment that is conducive to sharing and caring. We believe that food should nourish us physically, emotionally and spiritually. Our dishes are inspired from Asian countries: China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Thailand. We have an extensive vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu. Our Asian themed rooms gather together all the art work we have collected as well as those created by closed friends and frequent diners. Tin Jo is our third child and we are very involved owners. We love to interact with you, our customers and it is our sincere wish that your visit to our restaurant satisfies not only your senses but also uplifts your spirit. With Gratitude,Maria Hon and Robert Faulstich
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a surprise! You drive through a dark and shabby San Jose down town. You go through the narrow door of Tin Jo in Avenida 11 and you immediately step into another world. This is a huge all-Asian cuisines (plural) restaurant. Its five different salons are richly decorated and devide the huge place (max. Capacity 250 pax) into cosy different corners. Tin Jo has been here for the past 41 years, a real institution in San José! The menu (Spanish and English) offers specialties from China, Japan, Korea, Thailand, Philippines, India, with an interesting Vegetarian page. Children-friendly (high chairs, toys, childrens menu). At the same time elegant and professional, polite and quick service. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HolaSanJos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 581 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a business luncheon arriving at 1:00pm. The menu is varied and the foods I ordered was excellent. The service is slow. We had to wait a while for our order to be taken and finally had to go find the waiter to get our check. Lunch for 3 was around $65.00

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Allen2,
Thank you so much for your review of the Tin Jo. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food. However, we are concerned that your service was slow that day at lunch time. Our apologies to you.
Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we can do a better job in staffing up for peak lunch hours. It is through constructive reviews like yours that we become aware of our shortcomings.
So, once again, thanks for your input and we hope that on your next visit, not only will the food be delicious but the service be impeccable as it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After reviewing choices on Trip Advisor we decided to eat here. Can't believe others had a good experience here.The service was slow even though the place wasn't very busy. We ordered two things that never arrived and yet they appeared on our final bill, though we quickly got them removed. We were originally given the wrong bill. All four of us were greatly disappointed with our food. My Thai green curry had no flavor and no spices to speak of, tasted like a bland, non-descript cream soup and unpleasant tasting as well. Stay away and wait to have a good Asian meal somewhere else. For the best food in town try the Argentine Steak House just up the street from this place...and yes they have other things than steak...as tje Argemtine restaurant has got all kinds of Old World atmosphere and the best meal in town!

Thank Travelmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear TravelMagnet,
Uh-oh… looks like we really messed up with you guys there. First off, my apologies for our shortcomings and for causing anguish. I know how it feels to go to a restaurant with high expectations – given all the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor - and then to be disappointed. It goes to show that we are not 100% perfect, pleasing all at all times. We certainly fail as well. So thanks for bringing this to our attention. Your constructive criticism helps us work on our shortcomings and be more mindful in continuing to provide the best Asian food we can as we have for the past 42 years.

And once again, sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got there bacause of the reviews here. It was a disappointment. Atmosphere is nice,service is good,decoration is inspiring....but the food is simply not good. It is mediocarr and nothing more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pinniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi pinniy,
Thank you for your feedback at trip advisor. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our service, atmosphere and thought that our decoration is inspiring. I am, of course concerned about your comment about our food.
If I may trouble you to let us know what you had, that would greatly help me to work with the kitchen staff to pay attention to and improve the dishes that you ordered. Our customers´comments are taken very seriously and with great appreciation.
Thank you in advance for your time and attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Strange that I would call an Asian restaurant a national treasure in Costa Rica but Tin Jo is among the best restaurants I have ever seen anywhere...and the price is well below comparable restaurants in places like New York, San Francisco, and Los Angeles. The menu is many pages long and includes dishes from China, India, Japan, Indonesia, Thailand, and Korea. All of them are well prepared and delicious. If you want to know my favorites, after having been to Tin Jo about 40 times now, I would say that you can't beat the Thai Eggplant Curry. The Thai Fish Curry is also delicious. The Indian Vegetable Curry is a basic rather than exotic kind of dish and is good if you're really hungry and want something filling with a lot of potatoes in it. One drink I highly recommend is the Mint Ginger "with bubbles." (Not to be confused with the Ginger Lemongrass w/o carbonation.) I find this so refreshing and health giving that I love to sip it slowly and just savor it. Esp. great on a hot day when you need to cool down a bit. If you have any concerns at Tin Jo, ask for John, the maitre-de. He speaks English and is usually there...he can help you with menu recommendations too. Oh, one more thing: each dining area has a different theme so you can sit in the Japan room, the Indonesia room, the India room, and so on. The owners have traveled all over Asia and brought back various pieces of art and decorations to make each room very special. The India room is where I would go with a date...very warm and inviting decor; the Indonesia room is the most exotic, while the Japan room, fitting to its cultural traditions, is simple, uncluttered, and has a lot of natural light, so it's nice for lunch or if you want to clear your mind and reduce your sensory stimulation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bornwithluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Bornwithluggage,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You have put a smile on all our faces. We are so happy that you enjoy your time with us. Beautiful notes like yours motivates us to continue doing our best in serving our guests. We truly appreciate you as our client. And if you ever have suggestions or constructive criticism about our food, service or ambiance, by all means, we would greatly appreciate your feedback.
Please ask for me next time you come (most times, i am in the kitchen assuring the quality of the food). I would very much enjoy meeting you in person.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you soon again.
Yours truly,
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Jo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tin Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing