We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food great...Service is slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tin Jo

Tin Jo
Ranked #7 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our mission is to serve delicious, healthy food in an environment that is conducive to sharing and caring. We believe that food should nourish us physically, emotionally and spiritually. Our dishes are inspired from Asian countries: China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Thailand. We have an extensive vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu. Our Asian themed rooms gather together all the art work we have collected as well as those created by closed friends and frequent diners. Tin Jo is our third child and we are very involved owners. We love to interact with you, our customers and it is our sincere wish that your visit to our restaurant satisfies not only your senses but also uplifts your spirit. With Gratitude,Maria Hon and Robert Faulstich
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food great...Service is slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a business luncheon arriving at 1:00pm. The menu is varied and the foods I ordered was excellent. The service is slow. We had to wait a while for our order to be taken and finally had to go find the waiter to get our check. Lunch for 3 was around $65.00

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Allen2,
Thank you so much for your review of the Tin Jo. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food. However, we are concerned that your service was slow that day at lunch time. Our apologies to you.
Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we can do a better job in staffing up for peak lunch hours. It is through constructive reviews like yours that we become aware of our shortcomings.
So, once again, thanks for your input and we hope that on your next visit, not only will the food be delicious but the service be impeccable as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    421
    138
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst meal of the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After reviewing choices on Trip Advisor we decided to eat here. Can't believe others had a good experience here.The service was slow even though the place wasn't very busy. We ordered two things that never arrived and yet they appeared on our final bill, though we quickly got them removed. We were originally given the wrong bill. All four of us were greatly disappointed with our food. My Thai green curry had no flavor and no spices to speak of, tasted like a bland, non-descript cream soup and unpleasant tasting as well. Stay away and wait to have a good Asian meal somewhere else. For the best food in town try the Argentine Steak House just up the street from this place...and yes they have other things than steak...as tje Argemtine restaurant has got all kinds of Old World atmosphere and the best meal in town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TravelMagnet,
Uh-oh… looks like we really messed up with you guys there. First off, my apologies for our shortcomings and for causing anguish. I know how it feels to go to a restaurant with high expectations – given all the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor - and then to be disappointed. It goes to show that we are not 100% perfect, pleasing all at all times. We certainly fail as well. So thanks for bringing this to our attention. Your constructive criticism helps us work on our shortcomings and be more mindful in continuing to provide the best Asian food we can as we have for the past 42 years.

And once again, sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got there bacause of the reviews here. It was a disappointment. Atmosphere is nice,service is good,decoration is inspiring....but the food is simply not good. It is mediocarr and nothing more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi pinniy,
Thank you for your feedback at trip advisor. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our service, atmosphere and thought that our decoration is inspiring. I am, of course concerned about your comment about our food.
If I may trouble you to let us know what you had, that would greatly help me to work with the kitchen staff to pay attention to and improve the dishes that you ordered. Our customers´comments are taken very seriously and with great appreciation.
Thank you in advance for your time and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A national treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Strange that I would call an Asian restaurant a national treasure in Costa Rica but Tin Jo is among the best restaurants I have ever seen anywhere...and the price is well below comparable restaurants in places like New York, San Francisco, and Los Angeles. The menu is many pages long and includes dishes from China, India, Japan, Indonesia, Thailand, and Korea. All of them are well prepared and delicious. If you want to know my favorites, after having been to Tin Jo about 40 times now, I would say that you can't beat the Thai Eggplant Curry. The Thai Fish Curry is also delicious. The Indian Vegetable Curry is a basic rather than exotic kind of dish and is good if you're really hungry and want something filling with a lot of potatoes in it. One drink I highly recommend is the Mint Ginger "with bubbles." (Not to be confused with the Ginger Lemongrass w/o carbonation.) I find this so refreshing and health giving that I love to sip it slowly and just savor it. Esp. great on a hot day when you need to cool down a bit. If you have any concerns at Tin Jo, ask for John, the maitre-de. He speaks English and is usually there...he can help you with menu recommendations too. Oh, one more thing: each dining area has a different theme so you can sit in the Japan room, the Indonesia room, the India room, and so on. The owners have traveled all over Asia and brought back various pieces of art and decorations to make each room very special. The India room is where I would go with a date...very warm and inviting decor; the Indonesia room is the most exotic, while the Japan room, fitting to its cultural traditions, is simple, uncluttered, and has a lot of natural light, so it's nice for lunch or if you want to clear your mind and reduce your sensory stimulation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bornwithluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Bornwithluggage,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You have put a smile on all our faces. We are so happy that you enjoy your time with us. Beautiful notes like yours motivates us to continue doing our best in serving our guests. We truly appreciate you as our client. And if you ever have suggestions or constructive criticism about our food, service or ambiance, by all means, we would greatly appreciate your feedback.
Please ask for me next time you come (most times, i am in the kitchen assuring the quality of the food). I would very much enjoy meeting you in person.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you soon again.
Yours truly,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Decent food, decent price, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the only restaurant that we tried (at the recommendation of a local Costa Rican friend) on our short layover in San Jose. We were a big group (10 people) and they accepted our last minute reservations. Also various individuals in our group had dietary restrictions (i.e. vegans) and the menu was accommodating. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and our waiter Jordan was very pleasant. All in all, our group was generally satisfied but nobody's dish in particular was a slam dunk. I had the pad thai, it was alright but much too salty. Other individuals in our group complained that their main dish was not warm enough by the time it was served. There is probably better out there in San Jose.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria H, Owner at Tin Jo, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Travelover007,
Thank you so much for your review of the Tin Jo. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate your last minute reservation and the dietary requirements of the vegan members of your party. We are also very happy that you liked the decoration of our Asian themed rooms and Jordan´s service. However, we are concerned that you did not find the food to your satisfaction. Our apologies to you.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we can be more mindful of the salt level and the temperature of the dishes that we serve. Your note is very helpful. It is through constructive reviews with specific details like yours that we become aware of our shortcomings and are able to maintain and even improve our clients ´dining experiences. Even with 42 years of serving, we continue to learn and grow with our customers´ input.

So, once again, thanks for your input and we hope that you give us another chance should you visit Costa Rica again. We hope that on your next visit, not only will the service be great but the food be served to your satisfaction. Thank you.
Yours truly,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Jo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tin Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing