We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Fusion”
Review of Tin Jo

Tin Jo
Ranked #7 of 630 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our mission is to serve delicious, healthy food in an environment that is conducive to sharing and caring. We believe that food should nourish us physically, emotionally and spiritually. Our dishes are inspired from Asian countries: China, Japan, India, Indonesia, Thailand. We have an extensive vegetarian and vegan menu as well as a gluten free menu. Our Asian themed rooms gather together all the art work we have collected as well as those created by closed friends and frequent diners. Tin Jo is our third child and we are very involved owners. We love to interact with you, our customers and it is our sincere wish that your visit to our restaurant satisfies not only your senses but also uplifts your spirit. With Gratitude,Maria Hon and Robert Faulstich
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice place. Asian fusion, A little pricey, but nice. Service was very good, the pupu platter was in my opinion the best part.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    427
    142
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been in San Jose, Costa Rica early Sep 2012, I have been to this restaurant for continuous 3 days. As an Asian Canadian, I would rate this is one of the best Asian Restaurant among all the countries I have been to. The restaurant offers variety of different dishes; it is especially suitable for vegetarian, seafood lover. If you are uncertain what you want, simply tell the staff what is your taste, they will be more than happy to find the best match for you. The environment is perfect for Romantic, family and business people. And the price is very reasonable. Go and have a try, I promise that you will be back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POrto Alegre
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A good option in San José”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice place, nice food, very good service. We really loved this place so we went back there twice again. The salads chocolate and the coffee liquor mousse was just great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanjoTrypadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
207 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Variety good, flavors fresh, not great by any means”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We dined here because it was on a short list of restaurants recommended by our travel agent from costa rica. We ordered vegetarian hot and sour soup, moo shu pork, kung pao chicken and merg Marsala. The sauce on the king pao was thin and not exceptional and the dish was served in a fried noodle basket. The masala wasn't spicy at all but had good rich curry flavors and a nice hint of ginger. Soup and moo shu weren't worth ordering again but weren't bad by any means. The service was friendly and the atmosphere could have been bothersome if you aren't the type that likes hearing guests bang on hand drums and percussion over the weird jazz background music. I'd try the place again though in hopes of tasting their other dishes

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love to eat here”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a varied menu. I have read they don't use MSG in their cooking. I usually get the Tin Jo special because it is hard to make up my mind with the variety they offer. And the prices are reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevezimcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Jo also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Tin Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing