We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in CR”
Review of Pizza Oliva

Pizza Oliva
Ranked #31 of 907 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Pizzeria. The main focus is pizza and some starters (antipasti) are available. The pizzas are neapolitan style and are baked in 90 seconds in 1000F\500C oven. The dough is made with Italian flour and fermented with beer yeast for at least 24 hours to ensure the neapolitan style is respected. Traditional neapolitan pizzas like Margarita and Marinara are available. They use true buffalo mozzarella and San Marzano tomato sauce from Naples region. Vegan and vegetarian options are available. The Drew Basford pizza made with cashew nuts cheese is very popular. Restaurant Hours: Tue-Sat Noon to 3PM and then 5PM to 9:30PM Sun-Mon Closed. Pizza Oliva has another small shop in San Pedro with NY style Pizza. The place is take out and delivery only.
Restaurant details
Description: Pizzeria. The main focus is pizza and some starters (antipasti) are available. The pizzas are neapolitan style and are baked in 90 seconds in 1000F\500C oven. The dough is made with Italian flour and fermented with beer yeast for at least 24 hours to ensure the neapolitan style is respected. Traditional neapolitan pizzas like Margarita and Marinara are available. They use true buffalo mozzarella and San Marzano tomato sauce from Naples region. Vegan and vegetarian options are available. The Drew Basford pizza made with cashew nuts cheese is very popular. Restaurant Hours: Tue-Sat Noon to 3PM and then 5PM to 9:30PM Sun-Mon Closed. Pizza Oliva has another small shop in San Pedro with NY style Pizza. The place is take out and delivery only.
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

The best pizza you can have in Costa Rica! Delicious ingredients, the best combinations and all baked to sweet perfection! It's a must! On top of that, always with the best service!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Diego R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 112 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Definitely the best pizza I had on my trip to Costa Rica! The owner Roberto really knows his stuff with plenty of different options to try! He also speaks English which helped in selecting the perfect pizza for me and my group.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

BEST pizza in Costa Rica! Fresh ingredients, thin and crispy crust, a whole variety of flavors! Just amazing!! And the best thing is that also have the Gluten free option, for me that is very important! Love Pizza Oliva

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Mela1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

I only eat pizza here.
As a food lover & somebody with gluten problems, I am always looking for new options. A very respected food connoisseur friend of mine recommended me this place as delicious, light & authentic. I respect his opinion, therefore, I tried.
I was deeply & pleasantly surprised.
Roberto, the owner & pizzaiolo, is a passionate artisan who's biggest joy & pride is to prepare & see you enjoy his pizzas.
And eating them is enjoying & loving them.
The toppings are meticulously chosen & used.
The crust is simply delicious, light & easy to digest (an enormous plus for me, due to my gluten issues).
He explained to me how he prepares the dough & why it is so light & easy to digest.
Like he explains everything else.
This man simply loves pizza and makes the best pizza I have ever eaten.
This is why this is the only pizza I eat.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miguelu777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

Stop looking. This is the best pizza in Costa Rica. Thin crust, fresh ingredients, baked to perfection right before your eyes.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank poxcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Oliva also viewed

 
San Jose Metro, Province of San Jose
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Pizza Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.