We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for location and friendly staff”
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Casa 69 on two separate occasions on our 2 week trip in Costa Rica. Each was for one night. Each time we found the staff very friendly and the rooms were basic, but clean. If you can upgrade from the basic room you should as it's only a few dollars difference but the upgraded rooms are more spacious. The road out front can be a little loud in the morning as there are trucks driving by honking consistently.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuldip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Casa 69
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 637 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I showed up with a fully paid reservation and after 6 hours of driving to get here and Donna had given my room away. Tired and confused I was told they had a sister hotel next door with a room for me. This place was horrible, dirty, smelly, super noisy, no toilet paper or towels in the bathroom, no wifi... I told them this was not ok because I paid for a room of much higher quality and with all these amenities and it took an hour for them to finally realize this wasn't fair and to decide to give me a refund. I then had to figure out where to go and it is already late and I am very tired and don't know where I am. I asked that they pay for my taxi to another hotel to make up for this mess up and because I had already paid a taxi to bring me here to begin with and Donna said no. All-in-all a horrible experience and I will be telling everyone I know that this is place is not a good choice and offers horrible service to their guests.

Room Tip: They sell you a room in a lesser hotel and tell you that you will be staying in a very nice room at...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sorrel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. I would like to add to your comments.

Firstly we do not sell off rooms to a lesser Hotel. In this case we had just come through several weeks of systems issues with the internet at the Hotel. Much of the time, the system was down. Our computer tech struggled with the problem and despite charging us a lot of money we finally had to fire him and bring in another. It is now working.

During that time of no internet access we missed a lot of emails. When we finally understood that we were overbooked for that day it was too late to notify people to make alternate arrangements.
We worked with several downtown Hotels to find alternate accommodations but most were fully booked. The Hotel we offered was the only one left available in the area. When you indicated that was not satisfactory, we issued you a refund but not until after we tried some of the Hotels again to see if they had any last minute cancellations since we had last talked to them.

Overbooking is stressful for both the guest and the Hotel. We have the cheapest rates in downtown San Jose. We are also very clean, comfortable, and offer very good customer service.
When we overbook, we lose money as we now have to find alternate accommodations at more expensive Hotels. Yes, even the one you found unsatisfactory has higher rates than us.

Your allegations that we sell rooms then send people to a cheaper Hotel is unfounded. There are no cheaper rooms to send you to. As such, running an establishment in the manner you describe would put us out of business very soon.

I am sorry for the way your booking turned out. It was an unfortunate set of circumstances that led to this happening.

The other hotel is not a sister Hotel and we cannot control how they choose to operate. We can only offer what is available, and if that is not suitable, a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here three nights at beginning of my trip to CR. Delightful place, clean, comfortable, secure. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. I recommend Casa 69 and will stay there again. Close to San Jose, (15 min. walk), shopping, and restaurants

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Casa 69 is a lovely little property within easy walking distance of downtown San Jose and just a few minutes walk from the National Museum and craft market. The rooms are comfortable, good TV, internet, and free calls to US and Canada which was a nice perk. Breakfast is unlimited fruit, juice, coffee and delicious bread. There are eggs etc for $5 extra, but we rarely felt we needed it. We booked through expedia and had no trouble with our reservation. Because I had read others had had trouble, I brought my receipt and asked the owner about it. She said sometimes the e-mail and/or name that people use on the booking sites is not the same as either how they pay or the name they give when arriving, or she has no response to confirmation e-mail. When we booked for another night at another point in our trip, we booked under my husband's name. On arrival, they looked for my name and didn't see it, but we cleared it up right away. I would suggest that however you book, send a confirmation e-mail to them with all details and they will respond. They are generally very helpful. Service is good and efficient, and our rooms were great. They got taxis for us which arrived within 5 minutes and all was well. We were especially delighted with Rafael who was managing when we were there. He was helpful, personable, efficient, and completely bilingual.

Room Tip: There is a train which goes by noisily, It never bothered us where we were, but you could mention...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

You may see all the great reviews on TripAdvisor and make a confirmed booking online through Booking.com or another site. Then, when you arrive after a long day of driving, Casa 69 may say they have no record of your reservation, and no rooms available. Worst of all, they may say it's your problem.

That's what happened to us. After much back and forth with the desk clerk, and then phone calls to the manager and owner - all of whom were puzzlingly unhelpful and unsympathetic - the desk clerk finally admitted to us that the hotel's policy is to overbook rooms, like the airlines do with seats.

The owner eventually called a nearby hotel and found us another room. We were happy to not be turned out into the night, but the new place was noisy and less than comfortable.

Such shady practices tend to make one wonder whether all the positive reviews of Casa 69 are legit. If you do book at this hotel, be sure to call ahead and verify that an actual room is waiting for you.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nevertoomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Firstly, we do not intentionally overbook. There are times when we are overbooked due to an error on our part, but as overbooking is an extremely stressful situation for us as well, we do not do it intentionally.

When that does happen we try our best to work with our guest to find them alternate accommodations.

You booked through Booking.com. Their system seems to confuse some people. They take the credit card number of people who book through them. I am not sure why, however, they do outline on the information that they send to the guest that they need to make payment directly to the Hotel. Booking.com does not collect money for our Hotel.

We also follow up all bookings through them with an email to the guest that explains our expectations. Guests must prepay their booking through our web site to be guaranteed a room.

Some people may not see this email, some may choose to ignore it, but most correspond with us and things go very well.

We have not been with Booking.com for that long, however I have sent them an email asking if they have other processes we may implement that may cause less confusion. This system is different from other third party booking agencies so people may not fully understand it.

I am sorry that we did not have a room for you on that date. We hate turning people away. We are a beautuful small hotel with some of the best rates in the city and excellent service. As such, we are sometimes very popular.

I hope this makes the situation clearer as I do not feel that your rating is truly reflective of the service we offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

While the area around the hotel seems less than savory, inside is a paradise of fresh breakfast and wonderful hosts in a beautiful two-building setting! Everyone is quick, eager, and available to help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked our room months in advance through paypal and upon arrival we were told that they had no record of us. The young man working the desk was very apologetic and arranged a room at a nearby hotel. The hotel they took us to was terrible. It was dirty noisy and uncomfortable. The staff in the morning was not interested in trying to compensate us in anyway and was very unhelpful. We were told that it was too bad our stay was so terrible because some guests had not shown up and there was a room available after all!

They asked if we needed a ride to the airport. We thought this was an attempt to make it up to us. When the cab arrived we were told we had to pay for it and the man at the desk didn't even remember ordering the cab.

When we got home we received an email from the owner insisting that it was our fault and that they had double checked their records. We have the paypal receipt and the statement on our credit card. It was a terrible last night to an otherwise lovely Costa Rica trip. I regret that I wasn't confident enough to demand my money back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sergei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

You booked a room for one night in January on Aug 27, 2013. At that time we responded, that for us to hold your room it needed to be prepaid.

On Sept 17 your husband sent through the payment for the booking under his name (totally different) and his email address.

Our files are based on names and email addresses. We can find anything with the right name or email address.

You booked and paid three weeks apart with two totally different names and two totally different email addresses.

We responded to the payment by sending an email to your husband asking him for the information needed to match it to the reservation. We never received a response.

We asked for your help, you did not provide any. How were we supposed match it up? Then when I contacted you to investigate what happened you were not very cooperative and didn't want to help unless I was offering compensation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 77 in San Jose
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Address: Calle 25bis 69 | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose
Casa 69 Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing