We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Jose's Charming Oasis: CASA 69!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San Jose's Charming Oasis: CASA 69!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with my choice of B & B's! I was impressed with the warmly welcoming staff, the charming comfortable immaculate rooms, the delectable breakfast with a variety of tropical fruits, French bread with exotic preserves and butter, freshly squeezed juices, and oh!!! steaming cups of that famous Costa Rican coffee!
The ambiance is so cozy, you feel as if you were visiting good friends in their artistically-decorated home, along with many other satisfied friends! An abundance of beautiful foliage and flowers, arched doorways, pleasant little nooks in which to chat or read or decide which tours to take! Located just minutes away from downtown, it makes for a pleasant stroll for sightseeing and shopping. I will definitely return to this charming oasis!!!

Room Tip: Maybe the third floor rooms with that spectacular view from its deck...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    162
    50
    18
    27
See reviews for
59
288
114
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I spent one week at Casa 69. My global view is that it is an excellent option. It is classified as a Bed & Breakfast, but you must see it as a hotel with a very good price, thus an excellent price/quality ratio. Nice basic continental breakfast, but you can add different complements for 5 USD. For going to the hotel, they have a taxi associated with the hotel; call them and the taxi picks you at the airport for 25 or 30 USD. Around the hotel you have several places to eat, and others to have a drink, less than 1 block distance. Strongest point: the quality of people working there, and their kindness. San José down-time is reached after 20min walking, very easy. Only negative point: nothing interesting around if you walk more than 1 block from the hotel, no animation, which means that nobody walks out at night. Use taxis instead, very affordable there. The room was ok, in the first floor, with WiFi working normally all the week. I will stay there again, for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building (there are two of them, on both sides of the street), at the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pros:
- Large room
- Sitting area
- Small fridge in room
- Front desk guys speak English and were extremely helpful with booking tours, calling taxis and giving directions (Thanks Ronald and the young guy Who worked the night shift!)
- Free breakfast! Included bread and 2 different jams, fruit, coffee and juice.
- Price
- Computer, printer and magic jack in the lobby available for guest use.


Cons:
- No ac in room (there is a calling fan)
- The safe in my room did not open. I asked multiple times for it to be looked at, but nothing ever came of it. Ended up having to take my passport with me everywhere.
- The hotel is down a little alley off the main road. Not sure how safe it is at night, but as a solo, female traveler, I was not comfortable walking alone after dark.
- That being said, the hotel is a little distance away from where you want to be - in terms of museums and the theatre.
- The owner has his dogs and many cats roaming freely. There is a bit of smell, likely from the animals. The animals are friendly though.
- There is a train track running right behind the hotel. Can be a bit loud at times.
- Wireless internet signal strength is not very good unless you're in the lobby.

Overall, I'd say it's a good deal. I would stay here again, if the safe would work. Definitely not comfortable walking around with my passport. Also, I probably wouldn't book my tours through the hotel since they were a bit more expensive than you could find elsewhere. Not a bad deal. Also, cab to and
from the airport was $30 each way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Casa 69. I wish we could have stayed longer and I definitely will make it my base for future San Jose trips.

Exceedingly friendly, generous, and helpful staff. Exceptionally clean and well-furnished rooms for the price (I'm very picky about these things and I run a guesthouse myself, so I was impressed!). Very cozy common areas with a delightful atmosphere! We had a wonderful room, and everyone there were fabulous. We are wild cat conservationists, so we were happy to see half a dozen cats lounging around the collective areas. Big comfortable living room cozy couches, TV and Wi-Fi, a desktop computer and printer that came in handy. It felt like hanging out at a friend's house. The staff and other guests were great. It was a proper bed and breakfast.

Tips: If you need a strong wi-fi signal, get a room closer to the ground floor, as the higher you get, the weaker the signal. We couldn't get a signal from our room on the top floor. Also, the city noise isn't bad, but there is a train that passes by a couple of times a day that makes a little "toot toot" noise from time to time, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the space.

All in all, we highly, highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: I would tell you to get a room on the top floor, but I'm not going to because I want it to be av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to many attractions in downtown San Jose, walking distance. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I took their advice on a whitewater trip and it was one of the highlights of my trip. I walked to most places and felt safe day or night, but the cab rides are inexpensive since the hotel is close to most everything you'll want to go to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was our first trip to Costa Rica. A buddy and I were there for the Central America travel experience, and initially landed in San Jose. We has a referral through a friend to stay at Casa 69, which is centrally located in San Jose. It was the only thing we booked next to the flight down. The plan was to travel without reservations. We were met at the airport by a very friendly associate of the hotel, who welcomed us and drove us to the hotel in a shuttle bus. The staff at the hotel were equally friendly, and provided us with a comfortable accommodations, and plenty of information on sites to visit, currency exchange, transportation information and different options to travel by. We further met and visited with the hotel owner Donna, who provided us with a very warm welcome and an insight to the local culture and to travel tips. The room accommodations were great, with all the amenities you need. There were all the options available for room sizes, number of beds per room, as well as staying in the main building or across the road at a secondary building. There was a friendly little pub down on the corner from the hotel, which provided a variety of drinks and food items. The hotel itself has a lobby computer and phone, that provided free international calling which was quite convenient.
Very flexible access to the international airport through the shuttle service, makes the stay in the City worthwhile, instead of having to stay in the industrial area around the airport. There is so much more to see and do locally downtown.
A high recommendation for this hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistolman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stay at Casa 69 going to and from my property in southern Costa Rica. It is a ten minute walk from everything in the city center, museums, parks, shopping, restaurants. I walk everywhere and always feel safe. At nine pm university students are leaving classes on Central Ave. near the hotel. The hotel arranges for Juan to meet me at the airport and he is cheaper than any taxi you might pick from the crowd. He will also take you to the airport at 4 in the morning if necessary. Donna and David are great hosts and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Free use of hotel computer, free phone calls and an ATM just around the corner add to the convenience. The free breakfast easily holds me till lunch. There's a great Peruvian restaurant around the corner and more on Central avenue with small two and three table "sodas" even in the center, offering large daily specials (casadas) for $5 or less. I won't stay anywhere else. I just ignore the train.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the Irish Pub can be noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Property: Casa 69
Address: 69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose
Casa 69 Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing