We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Bad Location”
Review of Casa 69

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa 69
Ranked #1 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Casa 69 is a very nice hotel and the staff is friendly. However, its location was a bit disappointment for us as it is situated close to the Embassy of Nicaragua in San Jose where lots of Nicaraguans wait for their visa from very early in the morning. There were quite a few policemen around so it is a safe place... Moreover, I didn't like the street because there was a noisy bar and trains passing very close. Particularly, I do not recommend this hotel to those who suffer from allergy to cats as in the hotel there are lots of cats (very cute ones).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monikita_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing back from our guests and I would like to address your comments.

There is currently a process ongoing in Costa Rica that requires all citizens of Nicaragua currently living in Costa Rica to register. This program has been going on for several months and is almost complete.Due to our close proximity to the Embassy, the line ups of people sometimes extend towards our property. We have never had any type of incident with the groups waiting, and as you pointed out, it is very safe.

My understanding is that this program will end within the next few weeks, as will the line ups.

The train is a commuter that runs during the day. Our location downtown is excellent for restaurants, museums, shopping and other activities, but you need to take the good with the bad. There will be some noises you cannot avoid. As for the bar, closing the windows in your room will normally eliminate any noises from there. With the cooler nights in San Jose, this is not pose a problem.

I will agree with your comments that the Hotel is nice and the staff is friendly. We work very hard to make our guests stay enjoyable. We receive many comments on how beautiful the Hotel is and the friendliness of the staff.

We have two buildings across the street from each other. The rescue cats are in the main building and never go into the building across the street. Anyone with allergies can stay there and not worry. We will even bring breakfast to their room if they wish. As we now have a home outside the city, some will soon be transferred there.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we would invite you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Casa 69
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 637 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Casa 69 is a great place to stay in San Jose - we were able to walk everywhere from the B&B and we loved how quiet it was inside the property once you entered the property - it didn't feel like we were in a buzzing city anymore. Our room was on the very top floor - the downside was that the wifi signal didn't reach up there, but instead we were rewarded with fantastic views over San Jose and the mountains from the roof terrace (make sure to check it out even if you stay on the ground floor) - we would've definitely used the sun chairs had it not rained while we were there. The bed in our room was huge, which we really appreciated after a couple of nights in smaller beds. The owners were all super welcoming and helpful with everything - definitely a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent one night in the city on our way back from Puerto Viejo and on our way to the airport. We paid about $55 for the night-not bad!! It also included breakfast-which was coffee, juice, bread, and fruit. Nothing major but enough to hold you over. When we arrived at the hotel we weren't sure that it was the right place because there is only a lit up "69" ouside. Press the buzzer and the manager/owner(?) will let you in. He speaks english which is a relief! The hotel looks like an old house. You walk through a hallway, through a living room and to the kitchen where he will check you in. The room we stayed in reminded me of a bedroom with a small closet and bathroom. The bed is comfortable and there is a tv in the room (of course all the channels are in spanish). There is a safe in the wall with a code you use. The bathroom is tiny, and the one we had you stepped down into it. The shower isn't huge, but it is functional. There is a bar of soap provided, so if you don't like bar soap bring your own. The biggest downfall to the hotel is that it is right next to a bar. I woke up at about 2am to the sound of glass being thrown. Over and over and over. Made it a bit hard to fall asleep. The hotel seemed pretty safe as you need a code to get in and out of the hotel. There is barbed wire all around the hotel as well. The owner/manager (?) can arrange transportation to the airport for you if needed-this was $26USD. He can also give you a suggestion on where to eat at night. He suggested Limoncello which is walking distance from the hotel-it is right behind Pizza Hut. If you tell the waiter at the restaurant that you are from Casa 69 they should give you a discount (we got a 10% discount). We left the hotel after getting 2 steak dinners, dessert, and a bottle of wine for $60USD. We would stay at this hotel again, but hopefully the bar wouldn't be as noisy/I won't wake up in the middle of the night! This may just be part of staying at a hotel in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was right next to the bar. I woke up at 2am due to them throwing glass bot...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyandchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've stayed in casa 69 for 3 nights and it was great.
it's a good place to be in San Jose.
the rooms are clean and the breakefast is good.
the people are very helpful.
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything was great. Too bad it is only for one night. The breakfast was wonderful. The solarium was very well decorated and peaceful. The rooftop terrace looked out on the city. I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Such a great place to stay. The breakfast in the morning was amazing. Kurt helped us pick out tours and things to do thru out the city. We sat in the hot tub late at night and sat up on the roof top watching the sun set.

I highly suggest staying with Casa 69.
Don't let the outside looks scare u! The place is amazing.
Thanks so much!

We will be back.
Jamie

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I could not be happier with casa 69. We stayed three nights and will be coming back for sure. Walking distance from all the meusiums and down town as well as bus stations. Amazing spread for breakfast. Unbelievably friendly and helpfully staff. Super clean rooms. I would recommend this place to every one. There are Several small markets and places to eat right around the corner. If I could have rated this place more than 5 I would have.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicken-wing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 77 in San Jose
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa 69

Address: Calle 25bis 69 | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa 69 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic house built by one of San Jose's most prominent families in 1938 is now a B&B. Let this beautiful old house be your home away from home in San Jose. Located just four blocks east of the National Museum, Barrio California, just 10 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Enjoy our rooftop view deck and garden. You can walk to all museums and places of interest like National Theater, Jade Museum, Plaza de la Cultura, Simon Bolivar Zoo as well as many very good restaurants, bars of all kinds and casinos in minutes, city center and PreColumbian Gold Museum. Shopping, San Pedro mall, central market, and the Artisan Market are within a comfortable walking distance. We also have a rooftop patio where you can enjoy the sun, a coffee or drink with friends, while you look out at the sights and mountains around San Jose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Casa 69 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 69 Hotel San Jose
Casa 69 Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing