We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Neighborhood & Hostel”
Review of Casa Yoses Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Yoses Hostel
Panama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the Neighborhood & Hostel”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here in February 2012 twice, traveling with my boyfriend. We spent 5 days in San Jose as we were waiting to fly out of the city to Canada, and again 3 days on our way back from Canada to Costa Rica. Although most people don't like San Jose, I loved it and I think a lot of my affection has to do with Casa Yoses Hostel, which we chose based on reviews and the neighborhood. Originally we where only going to stay 2 nights and ended up extending our stay based on the staff's friendliness and our general appreciation of the neighborhood. As this was our first time in San Jose, we had a lot of questions about things to do and how to get there - the staff was more than willing to help us and answer all our questions, including making several calls to the Bus companies to inquire about schedules.

San Pedro is usually not considered within walking distance from the city center, although the staff helped guide us on how to get there. We decided to go for it and walked to the center one day (about 45 mn walk) and loved it- the transition from the Center to the San Pedro neighborhood is absolutely gorgeous, with lots of parks and attractions to see on the way. After that first walk, we walked almost everyday.

Within walking distance of Casa Yoses (10 mn), you will find San Pedro Mall and a great supermarket. My boyfriend and I love cooking, so we where happy to see that the Hostel's two kitchens where well stocked with supplies: spices, plates, utensils, pots and pans, etc.

We stayed on both sides of the property and enjoyed both. Rooms are basic but clean with everything you would expect from a Hostel. The free computers, pool table, well stocked kitchen and staff friendliness was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    23
    13
    16
See reviews for
6
25
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We didn't officially spend the night, but definitely appreciate the staff letting us crash here for a day while we waited for our flight. This is not in a super easy walking location to the city center, but it is safe (and gated), relatively clean (have seen cleaner hostels) and very, very friendly. Supposedly there are family rooms available; the dorm rooms are co-ed and can be a little loud if located close to the yard which had late night social activities. They also have a movie theater, game room, kitchen and laundry - worth it for those on a budget wanting a hostel experience and/or respite from crowds and high prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Love this place. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Great hostel in a safe neighborhood. They let us take over the television in the common area from 9PM to after midnight to watch CNN coverage of the US Presidential elections. Everything about this place is great.Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this hostel. We stayed here for one night both before and after our drive to Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly and there was easy internet access. We stayed in two different rooms, and they were both very comfortable, with big windows and comfy bedding (though some rooms have very small or no windows, so be sure to ask). The decor is very interesting--there are many intriguing art pieces throughout the property. This humble "artsy" look of the place was actually what I liked best about it. There are several common areas for hanging out and chatting, playing cards, or watching TV. The attached restaurant is also very enjoyable with wonderful servers. It's location is convenient to the San Jose airport. If you're flying into San Jose and traveling farther into the country, this is a great place to sleep over as you begin your Costa Rican journey!

Room Tip: If you stay in a room that has a window looking out into the garden, you may hear the restaurant lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySprouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Seated in a big house close the the center of san Jose this hostel has everything you need. Comfortable living room with sofas and television, billiard table in the games room, spacious dorms with own big bathroom (unfortunately not 100% clean), Wifi and computers (some are awefuly slow!!) with internet. The night includes a breakfast. I was travelling alone and hoped to meet some people but the hostel was nearly empty, what was a pitty for it's great terms and conditions. If you travel with a group you should definitely come here and enjoy the warm and welcoming atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed one night at this hostel. The reservation was easy, good location, the staff was nice, friendly and very helpful. I did not have high expectations. However I decided to pay a little extra for a single room, but it was very very small, with no windows. So this is not going to work for you if you are claustrophobic. One night at this hostel is ok, but no more than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tere_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a clean and secure hostel in a safe part of San Jose, althoug its dark, it's near Mall San Pedro and just two blocks from the main street with lots of buses. I arrived late but the staff at the desk was helpful. I had a reservation for a private room, but he informed me that most people didn't like it (as I see from reviews here) so he offered to give me a bunk room that was otherwise empty, so still a private room,. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and adequate, and the hostel has lots of clean, common area to hang out in, including kitchens. The unfortunate downside was the VERY LOUD music paying until at least 1am on a Tuesday night that kept me up. I'm not sure if it was the restaurant attached or what, but it was definatelty next door. I needed a cab at 5:30am and the staff at the desk called one for me and I got the special hostel rate of $27/ I would stay here again, but will bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs! There's a restaurant with loud music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNic253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 77 in San Jose
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#16 of 83 in San Jose
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 83 in San Jose
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Posada del Sol
Hotel la Posada del Sol
#16 of 66 in San Jose
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 109 in San Jose Metro
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
#33 of 66 in San Jose
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Yoses Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yoses Hostel

Property: Casa Yoses Hostel
Address: Avenida 8, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Yoses Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Yoses Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Yoses Hotel San Jose
Casa Yoses Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing