We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private room not worth the extra cost.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Yoses Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Yoses Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private room not worth the extra cost.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Being that it was off season and that Casa Yoses is a Hostel, I wasn't expecting too much. We were looking for a friendly place to stay for a couple of nights in San Jose before heading out to adventure. I liked the location of the hostel near the university district and figured there would be plenty of friendly young people looking to socialize and perhaps join up for travelling. Unfortunately the hostel was virtually empty the Saturday night we arrived. They did have some live music which pulled in a small crowd. They also have a full service bar and games like billiards to keep you occupied when it is raining, which is nice. The staff at the hostel were somewhat preoccupied most of the time. The main reason for the poor rating was that the cost of the private room was not justified. It offered no additional security (doors and windows did not lock) or privacy (folks in the kitchen and laundry area could see directly into our room) over the dormitory rooms. If you are a backpacker planning to carry most of your personal belongings with you as you explore the city this might work for you. Since there were no towels or soap in the private bath, we skipped the cold shower and the second night, heading for the mountains instead. I still have hope that this could be a cool place to meet travelling companions during the high season, but it didn't turn out to be what we needed this time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprdan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
6
25
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I spent 1 night at this property prior to traveling to Tortuguero. I made arrangements to be picked up at the airport through the hostel. The taxi driver, Israel, was very helpful, since I had several flight delays, but he was right on time to pick me up. The management and staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast was toast, jam and excellent coffee. The room was basic, but clean as were the several shared bathrooms. I believe it is a great place for solo travelers, just spending a night or two. I am a 58 year old male and felt very comfortable during my short stay. Also, the guests were quite pleasant and the grounds were rustic with several hammocks and lounge chairs, with adequate space for privacy. I remember having a good night's sleep and had no problems with noise at night. I am planning another trip to Costa Rica's Caribbean coast in the near future and I will definitely consider Casa Yoses for the 1st and last night of my trip and I will arrange airport transport through the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoreman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a good hostel to stay if your travelling solo or in a group, it's an easy place to meet people but also there's plenty of space if you just want to hang out with friends. The staff are mostly frindly and helpful though I feel the hostel is a little understaffed and at time it is difficult to find a staff member free to help. The only big criticism is with the internet connectiont, on repeated occasions I have visited this hostel and both the wifi and hostel computers have not been working; when we ask the staff about this they always seem to be supprised and apologetic but it never gets it fixed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Besides the horrible, caved in bed, we stayed in a room overlooking the street, which meant that we were subject to the roar of engines, honking horns, and blaring music.

Couple this with the staff, mostly young women with an air of superiority that looked at us in confusion or annoyance with every question.

They seemed to find it odd that we wanted to know what spots to visit, go out to, and eat at. They would look at us as if we were from another planet. Definitely awkward.

The only friendly staff was the young, shaggy-haired Tico. He gave good advice and was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BXNEWMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My fiance and I asked the folks at Casa Yoses for a quiet room, as we had to wake up early the next morning. We expect to have a bit of noise when we stay in a place with dorms, and thought the room and the location were all just find. But when we returned from dinner, we noticed that the bar and restaurant was blaring music. We didn't worry about it at first and figured...if you can't beat em, join em. So we went and had a drink and went up to our room at about 11. The music was blaring so loudly we had no chance at sleep and finally, a bit after midnight, we went to ask what was going on. The staff, which is totally too cool to care, explained that this was an art exhibition and the music would stop "like soon." By 1.30 in the morning, we had really had it, but there wasnt much we could do about it besides pull through with our promise to warn everybody that, unless you are in a group of high school students looking for your first night out at a party, this IS NOT A DECENT PLACE TO STAY. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

high recommended. this place is really cool. such a funky design, especially in the second part of the hostel. something like i would like my house to be like. location is a little far from city centre but there is a huge mall 5min walk where we went to the cinema and food court.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie_derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Casa Los Yoses was not a good experience. The hostel seems okay enough until you get to the rooms which are disgusting and dirty. We had made reservations and cancelled because it was so disgusting. The staff are very unfriendly and rude and one of the staff members," Fritz the german guy with dreds" makes you feel like you are interupting his leisure time by asking him questions and help. He seemed more interested in chatting up the backpacker girls, seemed to be a very seedy character who smelled bad. It is a definate party hostel and so if you don't want to get any sleep that's the place to go! There is no pool as noted in other reviews - there is a pool table. The breakfast is okay serving toast and ceral and fruit.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CWhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casayoses, Propietario at Casa Yoses Hostel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear customer:
first of all we want to apollogize, in the name of the hostel Casa Yoses, for all the inconveniences that you mentioned. We were shocked by this serious review and talked inmediatly with our staff (including Fritz, the german guy volunteering as well), about the facts and causes related to your unpleasant experience.
I would like to ask you if you remember the room number?
Just to see if we can improve it, besides taking real actions in the cleaning proceedure.
Casa Yoses has been open for almost six years and has grown with the messages and criticism of a large amount of customers, we hope this attempt of dialogue is considered as a good faith gesture.

Thanks & regards,
JC OR AF MEC LW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#3 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#24 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 79 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Yoses Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yoses Hostel

Property: Casa Yoses Hostel
Address: Avenida 8, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Yoses Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Yoses Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Yoses Hotel San Jose
Casa Yoses Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing