We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go...!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unfortunately, I have very little positive to say about this hotel apart from its convenient location. Of the four members of staff that I interacted with, only one seemed to be really nice and willing to help (possibly the manager), while I had the impression that I was more of a nuisance than a guest to the other three. I did not feel welcome, and they hardly ever smiled; not even the loud TV at night seemed to be able to cheer them up. Which brings me to what bothered me most about this hotel: I was put in a single room which was more or less above the reception. So I was able to hear the TV all night long. Also, I was notified of each guest entering the gate by the pretty loud doorbell that announced his/her coming. On one day, maid service just didn't show up to swipe through my room. As far as breakfast is concerned, don't expect too much: it's rather mediocre, and do go early because the pieces of butter that are cut up waiting for you are lying around there uncovered, presumably all morning. What's more, please be advised that at certain times of the day, the "hot water" in the shower is not really hot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

we just stayed one night, thankfully. unhelpful staff, slow to open locked outside doors. minimally helpful with transportation. beds and bathrooms were fine. hotel itself is very pretty. pool was freezing. floors outside the rooms were filthy. kids walked downstairs and up again without shoes and bottoms of their feet were black. central location, very little kids friendly eating places around. don´t expect much. a good place to just spend the night before a flight out, not a home base.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights there. The first night we got there the clerck gave us the low floor room which was average, didn't have AC but the room was clean. We had a private parking for our ace. The second day there was another guy with dread locks which was just unpleasant and rude.he didn't help at all and barely took attention to us. We asked to move to another room after we sensed terrible smell coming from our room (perhaps it was economics) the girl gave us the up level room that was much better and had AC and costs the same. Breakfast was very poor. The hotel is in downtown , close to main attractions such as the national theatre. There's a great restaurant across the street.




  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007theshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rooms weren't a bad size with 2 small double beds. Our shower to the upper floor was very slow, but the kids faired better in this on the ground floor. Limited breakfast of rice and beans + scrambled egg, help yourself and very limited space to sit. Only stayed one night as part of a tour, arrived late and left early so can't comment of the surrounding area.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

it is a basic hotel, stayed here for 3 nights with a tour splitting the nights so had two different rooms. pool looks nice, not huge. rooms are clean but basic, dont come here expecting flat screen tvs or ones that work. breakfast is fine, stuck to the fruit and toast (toasters only did one side)but there were scrambled eggs and rice and beans. Area is ok for downtown san jose, great restaurants across the road and nearby. I think it might be 10 dollars per night dearer than it should be. Had the front room on 3rd floor first time and there was a bit of street noise (sat night) so if you are a light sleeper, try to get the back. had the 2nd floor equivalent the 2nd time but there is no window so it was quieter, but it was darker too. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking to stay in a safe hotel, its ok, dont expect any frills

Room Tip: rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Little to recommend this place. Shabby, basic, expensive for what it is, location is ugly. Feels more like a hotel, but not hostel prices. Room was clean, but really shabby. All expense spared.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Colonial is a nice hotel without pretention. The rooms are not very spacious, but clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is ok (at least if you like rice and beans ;)! Nice swimmingpool.
William, Senta and baby Ella from Belgium

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#49 of 78 in San Jose
195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 78 in San Jose
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $65 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing