We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“its quite ok, just dont expect too much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“its quite ok, just dont expect too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

it is a basic hotel, stayed here for 3 nights with a tour splitting the nights so had two different rooms. pool looks nice, not huge. rooms are clean but basic, dont come here expecting flat screen tvs or ones that work. breakfast is fine, stuck to the fruit and toast (toasters only did one side)but there were scrambled eggs and rice and beans. Area is ok for downtown san jose, great restaurants across the road and nearby. I think it might be 10 dollars per night dearer than it should be. Had the front room on 3rd floor first time and there was a bit of street noise (sat night) so if you are a light sleeper, try to get the back. had the 2nd floor equivalent the 2nd time but there is no window so it was quieter, but it was darker too. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking to stay in a safe hotel, its ok, dont expect any frills

Room Tip: rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    61
    20
    10
See reviews for
39
80
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Little to recommend this place. Shabby, basic, expensive for what it is, location is ugly. Feels more like a hotel, but not hostel prices. Room was clean, but really shabby. All expense spared.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "good" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Colonial is a nice hotel without pretention. The rooms are not very spacious, but clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is ok (at least if you like rice and beans ;)! Nice swimmingpool.
William, Senta and baby Ella from Belgium

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We thought clean basic rooms but ended up wit about 100 bug-bites! The staff is friendly and helpfull but please do something about the bugs!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 15 days. When I read the reviews I was very surprised...it is a nice hotel, clean and has a good location. They no longer charge for the use of the computer with internet. The tv in our rooms worked fine and had several english channels. The staff was professional. The only complaint I will make is that for the 15 days we were there, they served us the SAME breakfast every single day: rice and beans, eggs, toast and coffee. It got old after the third day. Anyway, I would recommend the hotel to people!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for the first two nights of our vacation to Costa Rica. With four people, the room was about a hundred US dollars, which seemed a little steep. On the plus side, the room was decently clean, had working hot water and cable TV, and was in a great location, within walking distance of many of San Jose's attractions. They also served a very nice breakfast and picked us up from the airport at no extra charge. However, the location, while convenient, was quite noisy. We were misled to believe that there was air conditioning in our room; it was a rather unpleasant surprise when we found that not only did it lack air conditioning, but the windows didn't open, either. There was no maid service - which meant no fresh towels - which I was a bit surprised by. All in all, it was not a bad place to stay, but I probably wouldn't choose the same hotel if I went back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed 9 nights Staff was great and the Hotel is very clean, it is small but nice, forget TV poor. Two great places to eat, one across the street and the other 1 block left out of the Hotel. Traffic can be a little loud. The price is hard to beat for the low season!! Barry Hyde Lawrence, Kansas

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyde53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing