We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Museo de los Ninos

Museo de los Ninos
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.00*
and up
San Jose City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #9 of 117 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Family oriented, pedagogical and educational, this is the place to go when the kids are getting bored of the big city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    130
    42
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A way to entertain the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Compared to some of the children's museums I've been to around the world, this one is just okay. Seems a bit dated, but the kids seemed to enjoy themselves regardless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank plavaseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great museum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My kids (ages 5 and 7) and I had a day to kill in San Jose, so we went by the children's museum. What a wonderful surprise! It is HUGE with an amazing variety of subjects and activities--40 rooms in all. It was super cheap, only about $7 for two kids and one adult. It was also very well staffed and easy to find guides to help show us how to work exhibits. (It helps to know some Spanish but certainly not necessary.) There is a small cafeteria with basic, inexpensive food.

My only complaints are that (1) a good number of the activities were broken, and (2) the lighting is so bad in spots that we couldn't see the exhibits. Even so, there were so many other exhibits to enjoy that I still give it five stars. We spent six hours there, and I had to drag my kids out. It is their favorite museum ever and have been asking when we can go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TeaSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun Musuem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I visited the Museum with some fellow college students who were studying abroad. The place made me feel like a kid again. Its a very large museum so you need to dedicate at least 3 hours to move through it fairly quickly. I went during a weekday so there were not large crowds but i've heard the weekend gets pretty crowded. I could imagine if I brought my kid here it would of turned into a 5 hour event because there are so many things for kids to do and get hands-on with here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for children, but try and avoid the weekend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our children had a great time here. They could have a look at a real plane, fire engine and helicopter. They dressed up as firemen and policemen. We learned a lot about Costa Rica, it's agriculture and political system. It was a great day out. Unfortunately we went on a Sunday and it was so busy that it was almost claustrophobic. I would recommend going on a weekday if you can manage it. Entrance fee was very reasonable too. About $10 for a family with three young children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5onthego2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de los Ninos also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Museo de los Ninos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing