We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in San Jose, hands down!”
Review of Hostel Bekuo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Bekuo
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hostel in San Jose, hands down!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hostel was great from the moment I walked in. It reminds me more of a guest house than a hostel. There are computers available for use, a large TV/living room area, pool table, piano, guitar, Wii... anything you like! The employees are all incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome. The location is very central to some great parts of San Jose, and the neighbourhood seems very nice. Good beds, good people, and beautifully designed. It feels very secure and will be my preferred choice any time I am in San Jose. Don't bother going elsewhere, give Bekuo a shot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becauseiamhappy, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Mr. Z, I didn't realize where you were from...your kind energy is welcome at the hostel whenever you like. Thank you so much for taking the time to give transparency to our home/hostel.

Sincerely,
becauseiamhappy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    58
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
9
59
101
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The American or European woman (and notice that I did not say lady) attending at the reception on July 2,013 night about 10:00 pm is a very careless person with customers. I tried to book a bed, but she was in the phone, apparently talking with a friend, and I had to wait for about 10 minutes until she finished talking. When, I finally could ask if she had any bed available, she answer back with attitude, "For who?" I said, it was for me, of course. Then, immediately, she asked me for my ID without answering my question. I asked her to answer and she said there was one, so I went to get my bag from the car, but I was demanded to pay right away otherwise, she was not going to book it for me. Her posture and manner of talking was like she was the First Lady of the Unites States, or the Queen from England and I was just a little Indian, or a mouse. I don't know the others, but because that odious woman if she deserves to be called woman, I will never stay in this hostel, and I will never recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I used to stay here every few weeks in 2012 when I was volunteering in a more rural part of Costa Rica. It felt like a home away from home. The rooms are clean. The kitchen is nice If you want to cook something. Free pancakes, wifi, and a great common area with DVDs. The area is very safe with good restaurants and bars not too far away and supermarket right down the road. Everyone that I encountered there, both staff and other guests, was very friendly. I hope to return to CR soon and plan to stay here when I land :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becauseiamhappy, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you soooo much for the review of the hostel. I was trying to figure out who you are by your first initial and last name, but I did not succeed. However, we love all of the volunteers who come through here, and share their experiences and friendships.

Thank you,
becauseiamhappy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here three times in total whilst travelling around costa rica. It is in a fairly good location near san pedro mall, although quite far from the coca cola termibal where a lot of buses come into so you have to pay quite a bit on taxis.
The staff are really friendly and very helpful. We left a lot of excess luggage from our travels in their luggage from for about a month on total and they were fine about it and didnt charge us any fee which was great!
Bedrooms are good with bog bathrooms. Kitchen is big and there are lots of social areas with tv, films, nintendo wii. Lots of tourist info on the country. And there is the cutest rabbit which hops around the hostel and will come and sit with you if you want it to!!!
Wonderful hostel, i would recommend it to all!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becauseiamhappy, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You and your crew were the best!!! I'm glad you were able to come down South and sing to the entire country. There are few better gifts that can be given than love through music. You were a delight to have at the hostel, with always a smile on your face.

Thank you,
becauseiamhappy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Well, I have stayed here twice now for a total of 3 nights. It is very low-key and close to the San Pedro Mall. There is easy access to Barrio Chino for great food. The owner is a cool, nice fella. There were some mosquitos, but that is just Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl3309284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becauseiamhappy, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, man...We hope to see you again soon. Oh... and I haven't seen a mosquito here for about a month. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a great hostel! The staff are all extremely helpful with anything you need and they are very knowledgeable about traveling anywhere in costa rica. The beds are comfortable, breakfast is decent and free, and the common room is nice too with games, lots of DVDs, a great book exchange, and space to relax. My only (minor) complaint is that the bathrooms could be a bit cleaner and the private rooms near the kitchen/common area are really loud if their are people partying. The location is a bit far from the center of the city, but you can walk there in about 30 min or easily take a bus. The location is, however, very safe and in a quiet neighborhood near a few bars, a mall, and many restaurants. Overall-- I recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threetoemojo, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments and constructive criticism. We strive for cleanliness 100% of the time, but I realize, unfortunately, that it's not always "hostel" possible :) We are also strict on our kitchen quiet hours that begin at 11:00 pm, so I am extremely sorry if there any noise beyond that time. We hope to see you in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here both on arrival in San Jose and for the night before we departed at the end of our trip. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from Downtown San Jose and had a nearby supermarket and mall. The hostel is clean and comfortable and the breakfast is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXD515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threetoemojo, Owner at Hostel Bekuo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
You are soooooooooooo welcome. Thank you for coming back through on your way out, and we are glad that you enjoyed your Costa Rica trip :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 76 in San Jose
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#2 of 82 in San Jose
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#16 of 82 in San Jose
346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 82 in San Jose
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bekuo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bekuo

Property: Hostel Bekuo
Address: 325 Meters Oeste Spoon Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Bekuo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bekuo Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing