We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value, excellent service”
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Very courteous and helpful service. We had the lower priced, two double bed, room on second floor. Clean room. Good cleaning service. Better than average Super 8 room. Great free breakfast. They do not have a parking lot - just a place right in front of motel where they will watch the car for you 24 hours.

Other recommendations. Unless you are VERY familiar with San Jose do not rent a car, Take a taxi/bus/walk/bike.
1. even a tiny car is quite expensive (extra government mandated insurance added on top of regular quoted price)
2. Stay away from San Jose - plenty of very confusing one way streets, with no left turns 90% of places.
3. Even if you have a GPS, places do not have street addresses like in US/Canada/Europe. Their "addresses" are distance references from known landmarks such as government buildings, hospitals, etc. (like 50 meters north of bank building X - in Spanish)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abripl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    139
    82
    20
    19
See reviews for
54
103
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We booked one night at the Barcelo Palma Real since our flight to San Jose arrived late in the evening. I had read pretty decent reviews and the price was pretty good. They also said they offered a free shuttle from the airport so that was appealing as it could save us money on a rental car (and hassle on trying to navigate the city late at night). Well, be warned---their free shuttle only runs until 10:00 pm after which they charge you $26 for a ride. Of course this wasn't listed anywhere when I booked the hotel room and was pretty frustred when they told me I would have to pay. I did like, though, that the shuttle driver had a sign with our name and was waiting for us--made it really easy getting out of the airport.

Once we arrived at the hotel we were quite disappointed when they gave us a ground floor room with a parking lot just outside our window. We heard people literally all night long talking, yellling, starting up cars, smoking, etc. It made it very difficult to sleep. We also heard what sounded like four gun shots and needless to say had a hard time relaxing after that since our room was ground floor and would have been easy to break into. The bed was okay, but much too hard for our liking. Again--keep us up and uncomfortable all night long.

The next morning we did enjoy the breakfast. They had a nice selection of foods both hot and cold. It was probably the highlight of our stay. The free internet was also very nice to have though we had it at all our other hotels as well so wasn't something overly impressive.

When checking out they tried to pin another guests bar tab on us even though it clearly said on the ticket the different room number. After getting it all cleared up we were more than happy to say goodbye to the Barcelo and move onto much more comfortable and impressive hotels. Next time I would have stayed closer to the airport at the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amalcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soulmuzik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Palma Real Hotel during our honeymoon and I must say it was everything we expected and more. We struggled with our decision to stay here because we saw the phrasing "bed and breakfast" but it is not a typical American "bed and breakfast" establishment. As soon as we got out of our cab the hotel host was awaiting us and gave us RED CARPET hospitality. At the front desk prior to receiving our hotel key, we were greeted with a glass of the best punch we'd ever tasted. Mmmmm. I would definitely recommend. The next time were in Costa Rica this is where we'll stay! ;)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank soulmuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We stayed in this hotel three nights in total during our trip through Costa Rica (first night, somewhere in the middle and the last night). We found this hotel to be ideally situated for our purposes. You don't need to find your way in downtown San José in case you rented a car! Very easily accesible hotel. Breakfast is great and varied, and food in the in-house restaurant is very good and not all that expensive. Rooms were very clean, bathroom as well, nice big shower/bath which is nice after some days in the jungle! Absolutely liked it.

  • Liked — location (not downtown, easy access)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank damioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We recently spent two nights here. The hotel is a perfectly fine business-traveler-type hotel, with an in-house restaurant (we only had breakfast, so can't speak to the food). It's in a sort of odd location--not near anything really, but then there's not all that much to see in San Jose itself anyway. Our only complaint is that the bed was one of the worst we've ever slept on--extremely hard, with dips that were visible even when the bed was made. We both had a had time sleeping and woke up sore. It's sort of inexplicable, given that the rest of the place was fine. Tip: test the bed before you accept the room you've given (in case they're not all that bad).

  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeThereNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times this year and did also use the property for Business Partners since it is close our Offices.

In short it is a nice and clean City hotel with a good value for money, the standard rooms are on the small side, I would recommend the Suite room. Guest Services are as good as can be expected, food and beverage is well worth the price, I would rate this hotel in respect to its Infrastructure between 3 and 4 star.

The Employees Attitude and Guest Service are out standing, always helpful and very friendly almost like a Family managed hotel.

  • Liked — Employees Servcie
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetroterAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I stayed at the Barcelo Palma Real 9/13 - 9/17/07. I had a pleasant stay. The hotel is advertised as a 3 star, but I think that it rates at least 3 1/2 stars. I stayed in Room 409, a corner room, with 2 double beds. The furniture was modern and looked almost new. There was a 19 or 20 inch television in the room with access to plenty of channels (including English-speaking). The room was large compared to your standard hotel room with a beautiful wood floor. The bathroom was a little small, but nice. My only issue with it was the lighting was poor, but good enough for a vacationer. The room/hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. There is Free Wireless internet service throughout the hotel. For other internet use, there are 3 PC's that you can use for as little $1.50 US for 15 min, $3.00 for 30 min, etc. I payed $65/night on Hotwire...was a great deal which also included breakfast daily. The breakfast included, eggs, cold meat, sausage, beans & rice, etc. plus hot and cold drinks, including fresh juices and fresh fruit. There is a supermarket one block away and at least 3 restaurants within a 3 block walk. Beyond that, you need to take a cab since accessing San Jose means having to cross a very busy highway.

The front desk staff was a little standoffish at first, but once I approached and began talking to each of them, they quickly warmed up. Many of them only speak a little English and are afraid of embarassing themselves. They are very nice and helpful. The evening Consierge, Javiar, is very fluent in English and is also very helpful and willing to help you in any way.

Overall, I had a great stay. It is a lovely hotel. It is right on the edge of San Jose which was great since it was close enough where a cab to the city center was very cheap (approx $4USD), but out of the noisy, crowded area. After a long day of touring around and hanging out at night, I was glad to come back to the quiet, cozy accommodations there. They have live music in their small bar area Mon- Fri evenings until 11 p.m. which is good for light entertainment. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank somuchworldtosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#22 of 85 in San Jose
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
844 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Property: Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Palma Real Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing